12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I used petit french green lentils 'cause that's what I had. It only took one hour (not two) to reach the texture I like. After it sat for an hour all the spices really kicked in. I am a happy dude.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlB February 09, 2004

This was a hearty meal that we really enjoyed. I served mashed sweet potatoes and mean chef's Lemon Butter Broccoli with this. I actually didn't let it cook down as much and it was still rather soupy, which suited us just fine! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock January 01, 2004

This was simply fabulous! I love lentils, especially made like this... so this made for a fabulous dish for us! I didnt make the whole recipe as 12 servings is just way too much for us. I halved it so that I would have leftovers. I used a bit more spices than required for 1/2 of the recipe as we really like the kick :-) The only thing I did do different was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, because it was all that I had on hand at the time...as its what I generally use in most of the dishes that I make. Thanks for this recipe! I will be making this again..soon :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary November 02, 2003

I halved this recipe and made it for our dinner tonight. We're celebrating Gandhi Jayanti(the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, the Father of India) today. This was a special part of the meal. I substituted the chicken broth with Maggi vegetable stock/broth with onions(prepared by dissolving 2 cubes of the same in 1 cup of water). I ground the corriander seeds in my grinder and then used the powder - this imparted ALOT of lovely corriander flavour to this dish(I'm trying to do this as a regular as it makes the dish very flavourful). I used an additional cup of water(because the lentils did require it to cook). I used a little over half a cup of yoghurt and a little over half a cup of tomato puree. This took about 40 minutes to cook. What I liked best about this recipe is that the spices were perfect - it was rightly spiced and not over-spiced! I garnished this with fresh corriander leaves(finely chopped) and served this with white cooked rice. Everyone had a hearty and splendid meal and I will definitely add this to my collection! Thank you very much for sharing this incredibly good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani October 03, 2003

This is a good lentil recipe. I added diced green and red bell peppers and some broccoli when I made it. I also used about 5 cloves of garlic and added red pepper flakes. I omitted the yogurt and added one can of diced tomatoes while it was simmering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda June 04, 2008

I was excited to try this because it would be considered Core for Weight Watchers (if you use ff chicken broth and plain nf yogurt). It was good, but not my favorite thing ever. The curry flavor in this is very strong and the spices just didn't taste rounded, I felt like it was missing something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BabyKEsq January 21, 2007

I served with the yogurt on the side as an option (the use of indian yogurt was nice) and subbed diced tomatoes for tomato puree. This was tasty and even my picky sis ate hers. I added some chili powder to make it spicier and another teaspoon of curry powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy December 28, 2006

I'd never had lentils before, but these were really good! I've made them several times. I omitted the coriander (I'm not much on cilantro flavor). Also, I never seem to have any plain yogurt, so I use 1/2 c. sour cream (bad I know) and it turns out great. I also sometimes top it with grated cheese. It almost tastes like a fajita filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hwin June 17, 2006

This hit the spot. I have never had lentils that tasted so good! I omitted the corriander and added ground red pepper flakes to give it extra kick. It took about 30 minutes to cook which could have been due to the fact that I used green lentils instead of red. Thanks for a wonderful meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WinnipegMom September 29, 2005

I loved this recipe. Very easy to follow. I didn't add the tomato puree or yogurt. And I added more broth. It was saucy and delicious and the house smelled wonderful. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DM5859 May 17, 2005
Spicy Lentils