Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Jamaican Meat Pies With Island Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Jamaican Meat Pies With Island Salsa

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2012

      Excellent!! I loved the spice combo! I didn't do the water and breadcrumbs, and I used rolled out Pillsbury Grands Biscuits. I also mixed mango chutney and salsa for the dipping sauce. Super awesome! Thanks for this naughty little pouch of goodness ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Very tasty and relatively easy to make. I have never made anything like this before but once I got going it was pretty straight forward. I followed the recipe exactly up to the point of baking. I decided to freeze them, which turned out to be a good idea for later use as an appetizer for Thanksgiving. All I did was fill each one and put them all on a freezer tray. Once frozen, I popped them into a freezer bag and took them out to thaw the morning I intended to cook them. They were very flavourful and served with salsa and sour cream were lovely ! Thank you so much for a recipe I can use over and over !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      This made for another great lunch Manami... We really loved it. I did cut recipe in half since we were just two. I only had the Progresso Italian breadcrumbs so I used that but I don't think that made a big difference. But I did find I needed to add a little more water than stated. The flavor of the meat mixture was so yummy !! And the taste of the salsa was absolutely delicious. These were very filling little things. I loved the Pillsbury Crescent rolls, they were just so flaky with this dish. Thanks for sharing a great recipe Manami....I will be having these again. We loved them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      These meat pies are tasty! I found Pillsbery refrigerated crescent roll dough without perforations so I was able to cut the dough into the desired shape and size. I served them with grilled pineapple. I will definately prepare these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Simply wonderful! I made (most of) these as directed and they were fantastic! I have to admit that I forgot to add the bread-crumb mixture until I had half of the rolls stuffed, but ALL of them were delicious. The goofs were just a little messier, but just as tasty! Great recipe, a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      5 Stars for the MEAT! I was looking for Jamaican Meat filling and read every recipe on here and kept coming back to this one because we like it hot. Glad I did! However, I wrapped my meat in a flour tortilla, brushed with EVVO and baked it. Mexican-Jamaican fusion if you will. I had leftover chicken broth and coconut milk so I used it in place of the water and added 2 tbs. of Sofrito. I also served mine with cucumber sauce. The recipe is awesome as posted. I only made additions to use little odds and ends I had in my fridge. It worked out perfectly. Great meat filling for all sorts of things...lettuce wraps come to mind as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I used to buy a brand of jamaican meat pie from BJ's (a local warehouse store). NEVER again. easy to make and I like that I can have beef,chicken,pork,ham, whatever. I have made these using chicken, pork, and beef so far. the beef are the best. I did not change anything else just the type of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Wow! Now this is what I'm talking about! I first had Jamaican meat pies when I lived in Toronto and the frozen ones seem impossible to get here in Nebraska. All the recipes look so complicated but I like that these are made with pre-made dough! I can't wait to try them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I served these at an appy party that I had a couple of wkends ago and everyone LOVED them! The flavor was fabulous, and they were SO easy to make!!! I made mini ones by cutting the squares in half. Thank you so much for posting this! I will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      wow wow wow I'm not sure if I goofed on the cayenne or not, these were good, but wow they were hot!!! I only had one can of crescent rolls, so I had half filling left, so to use it up I cut pita bread in half, put a layer of the meat and topped them off with tomato slices, cucumber and lettuce, kinda like a burger, the veggies cooled it down some. And what was left after that I hollowed out a couple of bunds and filled them to freeze, also froze some the crescent roll pies. We did like them, especially as a burger, but another time I will cut back some on the "hot" stuff. Thanks for posting. Forgot to say I used beef burger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      We loved these & Mike raved. I left out the jalapeno and used matzo meal for the breadcrumbs and had to use a little more water to get it to the right consistency. I made the meat hours b4 I needed it and refrigerated it. This makes it very easy for a weeknight meal or, like tonight, when DH has to work till 9pm. I tried different ways of rolling them to see what worked best. If you use a Tbsp of the meat and roll into one cresent roll (like you would pig in the blanket) it would be great for a cocktail party. I used exactly a pound of meat here and had exactly enough meat to make the 8 pieces. The salsa was great too and went well with the plantain chips I served on the side. All in all, a great easy dish. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      These were so delicious! My son loved them, too--said definitely 5 stars. ;) I love to keep crescent rolls on hand for quick appetizers, etc., and this recipe is definitely one to keep handy for making again. I used ground turkey, rather than beef; 1.2 pounds of meat actually filled 3 cans of rolls nicely. I was a bit confused since the yield didn't match the ingredient list or instructions for the crescent rolls, so I checked the Pillsbury site. Calls for 2 cans, as you did. But I agree with your serving size, as the meat (although I did have a bit extra) will fill 12 squares. The tropical salsa was quite nice, too, for a "quickie" (I did use a different brand of salsa). I think these will freeze well, too. Thanks for posting this easy, but so tasty, recipe, Diane!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Jamaican Meat Pies With Island Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (297 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 468.2
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    24%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 671.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes