Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Indian Dahl

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2003

      This was delicious, healthy, nutritious, easily digestible, awesome and just simply "wonderful"! I made it for our dinner tonight as I wanted to surprise mom and dad with a Zaar recipe!). I did cut down "tremendously" on the quantity of fat, though, in this. Instead of using 12 tbsps(6oz.) of ghee/butter, I used Just ONE Tbsp. of regular oil in it(Ghee and butter are both too fatening and I'm back to counting cals!). Trust me, 1 tbsp. was more than sufficient!!! Moreover, I did use fresh ginger(peeled and grated). Honestly, I felt this should NOT be an optional ingredient, but one that's required. I did use 2 medium tomatoes as well(Tomatoes again are necessary if you want authentic Indian masoor dal). I used 3 cups of masoor dal and 6+1/2+3/4 cups of water(divided). The first 6 cups I added as for step number 3. The remaining water I added when I reached step number 11. What I particularly liked was the slightly crispy taste of the onions as I did not over-fry them. They were just soft and light brown as per the recipe. This dal was RIGHTLY SPICED- Not too much, nor too less. It was just perfect! I think now that I have suggested how I cut down on the oil(fat), nobody who wants to try this recipe need worry about any extra cals:) I had this with white bread while mom and dad relished it with hot chappatis. I will try it with Anu's Tangy lemon rice next time(that's another one of my favourite recipes). Together with this recipe, the dal and lemon rice will make a marriage in food heaven - this I can GUARANTEE! This is a WONDERFUL recipe and I really hope it gets many splendid reviews and is well received by all who try it. This will be a regular on our table- and that's Charishma's promise! :) A THOUSAND thanks to you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      This is a very easy and good recipe! Both my husband and I loved it .. I only used 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter and it was quite enough .. I added the optional tomatoes .. thanks Daydream for another winner :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Great recipe and I did run into a glitch. I used cayenne pepper instead of chili powder and used 1 tsp as per a suggestion by another member. This was overly hot for me and it drowned out the other wonderful flavors. I had to add yogurt to turn the heat down. I take responsibility for this glitch as I should have added the cayenne a bit at a time. Will definitely make this again using a smaller amount of cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      Easy and tasty, this is a meal that I go to when I don't feel like cooking for a long time but want lots of flavours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This is a keeper! In fact I'm looking forward to cooking this again tomorrow. Lentils are such a comfort food to me and this recipe didn't fail to hit the spot. Good combination of spices even without the cilantro leaf which I didn't have. Comfort food at its guiltless,healthiest best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

    • on May 28, 2009

      This dal is good but I prefer it when someone else makes dal for me :) It seems that something is missing, and it's probably the tomatoes that Charishma suggested adding. Nevertheless, I will eat it and maybe add tomato to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      I've been trying out various Indian recipes lately and decided to give Lentils another shot (I've only ever had the brown ones and only ever in soup and I didn't care for them). This dish is amazing! The blend of spices is just perfect and the heat is not over powering. I will definitely be making this one over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      We loved the sophisticated spicyness of this dahl, but since we changed the method considerably, I don't think it would be fair to assign a star rating. We only used one onion, and since we were making it as part of a vegan dinner party, we substituted canola oil for the ghee. I also reduced the chili powder (we used cayenne) down to 1 teaspoon and it turned out plenty hot. We sauted the onions etc. along with the spices first. Then we added a cup of red lentils and 4 cups of water, brought it to a boil and simmered until done. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I'm really pleased to find this recipe because every other time I've tried to make dahl it's just turned into a flavourless lentil paste, but this worked out really well. It tastes really fresh and wholesome, which I suppose it is. I used a bit less butter to make it even more healthy, but I bet it would taste amazing with the whole lot. We had it with #17933 lemon rice as suggested and Jamie Oliver's spicy roast squash from his first book (The Naked Chef). 3 side dishes made a brilliant meal, and would be great if vegetarians were coming for dinner. Jen's Tip of the Day: if you're not sure what a particular dahl is do a google image search for it! I wasn't sure I definitely had the right kind, but that sorted me out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      My husband and I have made this just over a dozen times in the past 3 months. It is an excellent recipe that seems to get better and better the more we make it! We usually serve it with Cauliflower Pilaf (from a recipe book, I hope to put it on Recipezaar soon), mango chutne, and a mix of cucumber, mint, & natural yoghurt. The tomato should be added in after the spices have been fried off, this brings a more intense flavour. Yum. An outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Not what i expected. I guess the flavor is ok, but the consistency is not much like dahl i've had at restaurants. Modified the recipe a bit, used about half the onions and had to work with the local type of dahl (definitely not masoor, just standard brown lentils). I also added some garam masala at the end for that indian feel. I guess this dish requires tweaking and maybe more practice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Very tasty and easy to prepare. Cooked a double batch (I did overcook the lentils) and topped the dahl and steamed rice with fresh diced tomatoe and spinach (a health concession). Great recipe, I will be cooking this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      I made this last night and it tasted GREAT! I also cooked in just a tablespoon of Olive Oil and it worked fine. It was not too hot, in fact I may add a little more chili next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Delicious. It did take a while for my lentils to cook. I used a mixture of the red and the yellow lentils. I forgot the tomatoes and didn't have the cilantro. Unfortunately, I was out of fresh ginger and had to use powdered. My six-year old, husband and I still thought it was delicious. Next time I'd add more chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      I liked this recipe. My family was a little wimpy about the spice level, but did enjoy what they ate. I used cayenne instead of red chili powder, one large onion that diced up to about 2 cups, and found the lentils ready in just under ten minutes. Also ran out of ground coriander at 1 1/2 tablespoons, but was very satisfied with the taste. Thank you, Daydream, for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      This was fabulous. I skipped the tomatoes, but may try them another time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      Yum. This was quick and easy -- in fact, I got a little surprised at how quick it was and overcooked the lentils a bit. Next time I'll make sure to have everything prepped and ready to go before I start cooking. It was still very yummy, though. Spice mix is PERFECT -- the aroma when the spices hit the pan was just great. I made it without tomatoes and it was just fine. I also used olive oil and not ghee, and cut the ginger in matchsticks rather than mincing it. I might cut down the coriander a bit next time, but it wasn't totally over the top. I used cayenne for the red chili pepper, and it gave just the right amount of heat: enough to warm, but not enough to take away from any of the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Indian Dahl

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.1
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    24%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 606.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes