18 Reviews

This was delicious, healthy, nutritious, easily digestible, awesome and just simply "wonderful"! I made it for our dinner tonight as I wanted to surprise mom and dad with a Zaar recipe!). I did cut down "tremendously" on the quantity of fat, though, in this. Instead of using 12 tbsps(6oz.) of ghee/butter, I used Just ONE Tbsp. of regular oil in it(Ghee and butter are both too fatening and I'm back to counting cals!). Trust me, 1 tbsp. was more than sufficient!!! Moreover, I did use fresh ginger(peeled and grated). Honestly, I felt this should NOT be an optional ingredient, but one that's required. I did use 2 medium tomatoes as well(Tomatoes again are necessary if you want authentic Indian masoor dal). I used 3 cups of masoor dal and 6+1/2+3/4 cups of water(divided). The first 6 cups I added as for step number 3. The remaining water I added when I reached step number 11. What I particularly liked was the slightly crispy taste of the onions as I did not over-fry them. They were just soft and light brown as per the recipe. This dal was RIGHTLY SPICED- Not too much, nor too less. It was just perfect! I think now that I have suggested how I cut down on the oil(fat), nobody who wants to try this recipe need worry about any extra cals:) I had this with white bread while mom and dad relished it with hot chappatis. I will try it with Anu's Tangy lemon rice next time(that's another one of my favourite recipes). Together with this recipe, the dal and lemon rice will make a marriage in food heaven - this I can GUARANTEE! This is a WONDERFUL recipe and I really hope it gets many splendid reviews and is well received by all who try it. This will be a regular on our table- and that's Charishma's promise! :) A THOUSAND thanks to you for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani May 28, 2003

This is a very easy and good recipe! Both my husband and I loved it .. I only used 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter and it was quite enough .. I added the optional tomatoes .. thanks Daydream for another winner :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa July 13, 2003

Great recipe and I did run into a glitch. I used cayenne pepper instead of chili powder and used 1 tsp as per a suggestion by another member. This was overly hot for me and it drowned out the other wonderful flavors. I had to add yogurt to turn the heat down. I take responsibility for this glitch as I should have added the cayenne a bit at a time. Will definitely make this again using a smaller amount of cayenne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissytrue November 04, 2012

Easy and tasty, this is a meal that I go to when I don't feel like cooking for a long time but want lots of flavours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl March 16, 2011

This is a keeper! In fact I'm looking forward to cooking this again tomorrow. Lentils are such a comfort food to me and this recipe didn't fail to hit the spot. Good combination of spices even without the cilantro leaf which I didn't have. Comfort food at its guiltless,healthiest best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justinefoister June 12, 2010

This dal is good but I prefer it when someone else makes dal for me :) It seems that something is missing, and it's probably the tomatoes that Charishma suggested adding. Nevertheless, I will eat it and maybe add tomato to the leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominique353 May 28, 2009

I've been trying out various Indian recipes lately and decided to give Lentils another shot (I've only ever had the brown ones and only ever in soup and I didn't care for them). This dish is amazing! The blend of spices is just perfect and the heat is not over powering. I will definitely be making this one over and over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina*S March 08, 2009

We loved the sophisticated spicyness of this dahl, but since we changed the method considerably, I don't think it would be fair to assign a star rating. We only used one onion, and since we were making it as part of a vegan dinner party, we substituted canola oil for the ghee. I also reduced the chili powder (we used cayenne) down to 1 teaspoon and it turned out plenty hot. We sauted the onions etc. along with the spices first. Then we added a cup of red lentils and 4 cups of water, brought it to a boil and simmered until done. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K February 23, 2008

I'm really pleased to find this recipe because every other time I've tried to make dahl it's just turned into a flavourless lentil paste, but this worked out really well. It tastes really fresh and wholesome, which I suppose it is. I used a bit less butter to make it even more healthy, but I bet it would taste amazing with the whole lot. We had it with #17933 lemon rice as suggested and Jamie Oliver's spicy roast squash from his first book (The Naked Chef). 3 side dishes made a brilliant meal, and would be great if vegetarians were coming for dinner. Jen's Tip of the Day: if you're not sure what a particular dahl is do a google image search for it! I wasn't sure I definitely had the right kind, but that sorted me out

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samurai jen November 20, 2007
Spicy Indian Dahl