Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Hot Crackers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Hot Crackers

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2008

      Super easy and delicious! I made up two batched this morning. I did find that I liked drizzling the seasonings over the crackers and tossing them in a large bowl instead of using the ziplock because it seemed that the bag was as coated as the crackers were and I wanted all the seasoning to be on the crackers themselves. I also baked mine in the oven 250 for 20 minutes just because I like the toasty crunch that baking them gives. Wonderful recipe! Thanks Lilysmom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Very good! My Grandmother made them for a Christmas snack, but she doubled the amount of red pepper flakes to create an EXTRA spicy cracker, which all of us really enjoyed. I prefer them with the extra kick! I made a gift basket for my dad and put these in there with a summer sausage, block of sharp cheddar cheese, homemade canned pickles, and spicy mustard. He loved it! He even called last night asking how to make the crackers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Spicy Hot Crackers are wonderful, but here is an easier way to do them that I came up with.
      Instead of the plain Hidden Valley Dressing, use spicy ranch by Hidden Valley, plus either 1-2 tsps. of cayanne pepper or hot flakes, whatever the heat index is. On the oil, I use 1 and 1/3 cups, plus 2 tablespoons of cannola oil. I do not use a bowl, but rather a 2 quart zip lock bag, this way I can make sure each cracker is coated. The are the most addictive snack we have
      had and I make them at least once aweek. Have given the recipe to all my friends and now they make them constantly. Check on line at Hidden Valley where you can get the Spicy Ranch, not everyone carrys it yet, Target has been the best and at $1.49 compared to $2.19 other places, you can buy twice the amount. Hope you all enjoy my version.

      Pat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      Love It...sogood

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      Fantastic and so tasty, I am having these with a wine tasting I'm having tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Needed something for a party on short noticed and didn't have crackers or time to go shopping. I used ActII Butter Lovers Popcorn instead . . . I will be using popcorn from now on . . . It was a HUGH hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      love them!!! so glad to have found the recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      My family loves these crackers! I substitute Fiesta Ranch Dressing mix with the oil, crushed red pepper flakes and whole grain saltines. The Fiesta mix gives the crackers a bit more zip, and a beautiful red color. You can omit the red pepper flakes with this mix, or leave them in if you like the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      I soak the red pepper flakes in oil for about 30 minutes, helps to make the oil spicy. Plus I add 2tlbs of garlic powder to the dry mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      My sister make this and it always the hit. Love it. cheap and EZ to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Yummy! I didn't think this recipe would work out but I was pleased with it :-) So simple and really hits the spot with some cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I use a 1/4 c. of oil per sleeve of crackers. I also change 1 TBSP of pepper flakes to 1 TBSP of cayenne pepper. I use a hand blender or small food processer to mix oil and dry ingredients together before pouring over crackers. I have a large retangular tupperware container and I stack crackers in single layer on the edges...as they are in the sleeves. Let sit for 20-30 min, then rotate upside down for another 20-30.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I cut the oil down to 1 cup and just eyeballed the red pepper flakes but I am sure it was more than the recipe calls for. These crackers are DELICIOUS! my husband can't stay out of them! they are not at all oily in fact you can't even tell how they are made if you didn't know, they are just a super tasty, crisp cracker. I am going to serve with cream cheese and a mild pepper jelly. I would take these to parties for sure and I will make them again for New Year's Eve. Thank you for such a clever, easy and really delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This recipe is the bomb. Use all the pepper allowance. My daughter sat in the tub afterward, but will still eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This recipe is always a big hit at parties. I'd like to suggest serving the crackers with cream cheese. The combination of the hot from thye red pepper and coolness from the cream cheese is irresistable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I had these at aparty last night and they are DELISH!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I doubled the amount of crackers (and I used the mini premium saltines, they were so cute!!), found it was too much oil, also put 2 packages of hidden valley ranch mix and I did bake them at 250 for about 20 minutes, they were wonderful, everyone wanted the recipe!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Delicious, easy recipe. I was making this for a bunch of guys who thrive on heat, heat and more heat, so I added a tablespoon of cayenne pepper. It resulted in a nice spicy cracker that leaves an after-glow, but doesn't burn. DD and I even enjoyed them, and we're spice wimps! They were a big hit with the guys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      This recipe is as delicious as it is easy to make. I make a slightly different version. I use 1 C canola oil, 1 oz pkg ranch dressing mix, 1 T red pepper flakes, 1 t crushed red pepper, and 4 sleeves Premium crackers. Just a little difference. This version was passed on to me by a friend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Loved these! They are spicy jewels and not inexpensive to make. I worried that by not baking they would be soggy, but a day later the crackers are crisp. Thank you for sharing a recipe I will use again! Reviewed for PAC Fall '07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Hot Crackers

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.9
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    64%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 422.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes