38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was awesome. Easy to make, fast and delicious!<br/>The glaze was a a little too sweet but when i tasted it I decided to add more spice to it and it came out great! Thanks for the recipe, I will def make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claudiae00 January 16, 2015

Followed recipe, but doubled pepper flakes. It was perfectly spicy. A little on the sweet side for my taste, though. I will probably use a little less honey next time. My boyfriend thought it was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocoholic4ever March 11, 2012

This orange chicken was great. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I added a little bit of soy sauce and used a few splashes of sesame oil with the vegetable oil. My 3 kids and husband loved the chicken too. I'm happy to have a new go to recipe that pleases everyone, using ingredients that I pretty much have on hand. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlisonLovesFood January 24, 2012

Fabulous! had fun making this too. the only changes were due to availability. I used coconut oil vs veggie and whole wheat flour vs the everyday. I dbld the recipe w/o issue and hd a blast in the kitchen as well as @ the table! a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tallie in Pacific NW December 13, 2011

Based on the ease of making this, it should receive 5 stars! It got good, but not great reviews from the family - DS said it was a 7 (out of 10), and DH said to definitely make it again, and I will (what else am I going to to do with a half a container of frozen OJ concentrate?), but I will make some tweaks. I did not cut back on the honey, but I did double all the rest of the ingredients (except for the crushed red pepper) because I had double the chicken. I used chicken tenders, so didn't have to cut them up. I thought that there was a bitterness to the dish - maybe I should have used double the honey - I was not afraid of it being to sweet, DH loves sweet. But, the hot pepper was too hot for DH and DDs. I would cut back on that. Also, I added the zest of a whole orange - I'm not sure if it was 2tsp, but it was also probably too much. So, to sum up - great dish, easy and fast to prepare, very tasty, but does not double easily - double some ingredients, but not others for the proper balance. YTMV.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three December 01, 2010

I knew that we would love this dish and I was not disappointed. It was quick and easy to make, with ingredients that we enjoy. The chicken was fantastic, it was perfectly cooked, the spicy, honey orange glaze was wonderful. I used whole breasts and made exactly as written, it was incredible served with long grain rice. Thank you for this wonderful meal Crafty Lady, that we will enjoy again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 29, 2010

Tried this tonight and my husband LOVED it. I added chili powder to my flour mixture and extra chili flakes to my honey mixture, so it came out very spicy (to my liking) and still sweet. I also doubled the amount of orange juice. My husband said the sauce tastes exactly like take out orange chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hamlin April 02, 2010

My BF and I loved this. The only changes I would make is a little less honey and a little more orange concentrate. If you like things spicy also add a little more flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Mac November 04, 2009

I made this twice...as written, it was way too sweet and quite bland (which is why the three stars). The second time, I cut the honey in half, added 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1/2 tsp ground ginger, and 1 extra tbsp of frozen OJ. Also, I did not flour the meat...just did a quick saute in a Pammed skillet with about 1/2 tbsp of oil. It's a great "starter" recipe...you can tweak it easily. EDITED TO ADD - My review sounded like I didn't like the dish, but I do like it...I just needed to kick it up a bit for my own tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soleilbb September 15, 2009

My bf and I liked this. I used only 2 chicken breasts as there were only 2 of us but used the same amount of sauce. I used the other suggestions and used half the honey though. I also used a little more red pepper flakes since we like our food spicy. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
8-BALL GIRL July 22, 2009
Spicy Honey-Orange Chicken