Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Honey-Orange Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Honey-Orange Chicken

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2012

      Followed recipe, but doubled pepper flakes. It was perfectly spicy. A little on the sweet side for my taste, though. I will probably use a little less honey next time. My boyfriend thought it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This orange chicken was great. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I added a little bit of soy sauce and used a few splashes of sesame oil with the vegetable oil. My 3 kids and husband loved the chicken too. I'm happy to have a new go to recipe that pleases everyone, using ingredients that I pretty much have on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Fabulous! had fun making this too. the only changes were due to availability. I used coconut oil vs veggie and whole wheat flour vs the everyday. I dbld the recipe w/o issue and hd a blast in the kitchen as well as @ the table! a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Based on the ease of making this, it should receive 5 stars! It got good, but not great reviews from the family - DS said it was a 7 (out of 10), and DH said to definitely make it again, and I will (what else am I going to to do with a half a container of frozen OJ concentrate?), but I will make some tweaks. I did not cut back on the honey, but I did double all the rest of the ingredients (except for the crushed red pepper) because I had double the chicken. I used chicken tenders, so didn't have to cut them up. I thought that there was a bitterness to the dish - maybe I should have used double the honey - I was not afraid of it being to sweet, DH loves sweet. But, the hot pepper was too hot for DH and DDs. I would cut back on that. Also, I added the zest of a whole orange - I'm not sure if it was 2tsp, but it was also probably too much. So, to sum up - great dish, easy and fast to prepare, very tasty, but does not double easily - double some ingredients, but not others for the proper balance. YTMV.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I knew that we would love this dish and I was not disappointed. It was quick and easy to make, with ingredients that we enjoy. The chicken was fantastic, it was perfectly cooked, the spicy, honey orange glaze was wonderful. I used whole breasts and made exactly as written, it was incredible served with long grain rice. Thank you for this wonderful meal Crafty Lady, that we will enjoy again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Tried this tonight and my husband LOVED it. I added chili powder to my flour mixture and extra chili flakes to my honey mixture, so it came out very spicy (to my liking) and still sweet. I also doubled the amount of orange juice. My husband said the sauce tastes exactly like take out orange chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      My BF and I loved this. The only changes I would make is a little less honey and a little more orange concentrate. If you like things spicy also add a little more flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I made this twice...as written, it was way too sweet and quite bland (which is why the three stars). The second time, I cut the honey in half, added 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1/2 tsp ground ginger, and 1 extra tbsp of frozen OJ. Also, I did not flour the meat...just did a quick saute in a Pammed skillet with about 1/2 tbsp of oil. It's a great "starter" recipe...you can tweak it easily. EDITED TO ADD - My review sounded like I didn't like the dish, but I do like it...I just needed to kick it up a bit for my own tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      My bf and I liked this. I used only 2 chicken breasts as there were only 2 of us but used the same amount of sauce. I used the other suggestions and used half the honey though. I also used a little more red pepper flakes since we like our food spicy. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      My husband and I liked this. Next time I aill add some soy and ginger I think. I love sauces with honey for glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      This was so tasty and so easy to make it. I'm about to make it for the fourth time... Following another reviewer's suggestion, I also cut the honey in half. I have added a splash of sesame oil and a dash of ginger to the sauce because I can't seem to resist cooking without them. I serve it with rice and broccoli, as another reviewer did. I first steam the broccoli and then add it to the pan at the same time that I add the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      This is a very tasty recipe. I used whole chicken breasts, and topped them with the sauce. I mixed a little arrowroot into the sauce and heated it in the microwave, and the sauce turned out really nice. Other than that I followed the recipe and ingredients exactly. This turned out for a really sweet yet spicy sauce which this family loved. Ohh.... I also heated some cashews and served them on top of the breasts at the end, these went so well with thie wonderful sauce. Thanks for a great recipe Crafty Lady 13, this family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Delish! My husband & I both loved it, the boys did not. That does not surprise me since the dish is sweet. The chicken turned out very tender and the sauce is fantastic. I served it with rice and broccoli. We used a little soy sauce as a balance for the sweetness of the dish. Here what I changed. Used a lot less honey, cut it at least by half. I did not used butter, just a little olive oil in the bottom of the pan. Skipped the parsley since I didn't have any and will try chopped cilantro on top next time. And there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This is very, very good. I'm going to share it with my friends. We will have it many more times. I would not change a thing except make more of it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This is a quick, easy recipe with ingredients I usually have on hand. It was very sweet, but was enjoyed by most of the family. I will likely make it again but with less honey. I served the chicken with rice, steamed broccoli and carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Made as written. When I tasted,it seemed too sweet and lacked something. I put soy sauce on it and it was perfect!!! Kids didn't like it at first but after they saw me put soy sauce on they did too and loved it also. By the time DH got home I had treated his accordingly and he really enjoyed it too. Great recipe other than that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Delicious! I left out the orange zest, green onions and parsley as i didnt have any.. and it was still GREAT! I'll be making this again and again:) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      way too sweet for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      I really liked this chicken. I only used two sliced up chicken breasts but made the whole amount of sauce so I had some to spoon over rice. Amount was just right. I cut down on the red pepper, by about 1/2, and it was spicy enough for my taste. I also added some ground ginger to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Really good and really easy to make! From start to finish this meal took me only a half hour or so - perfect for a midweek meal. I pounded the chicken and cut into bite sized pieces then ate over rice with a side of veggies. This is will be made again and again in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Honey-Orange Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.7
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    23%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 90.7 mg
    30%
    Sodium 338.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 41.4 g
    165%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites