Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Hoisin Marinade for Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Hoisin Marinade for Chicken

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2011

      My aunt, uncle, cousin, cousin-in-law, grandmother and I loved it. It was simple but still fun, although I admit I toyed around with it and added some green onions which really gave it a lovely flavor! I also cut on some of the red pepper flakes as I wasn't certain how my extended family dealt with spicy things, although I like it nice and spicy. It was really an amazing marinade, and my first time using marinades it was a huge success with my family and I. The chicken was excellent, juicy and tender, just perfect!! I'm making it again, this time I hope to provide a picture! Thanks again for a wonderful marinade recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I am giving this 4 stars because although I didn't care for it, my husband thought it was good. The taste of the hoisin sauce is quite pronounced, so if you don't like it that much (I prefer it with other ingredients dominating), don't try this dish. Thanks anyway for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Very good. I used it as a stir-fry sauce for chicken and veggies. I cooked diced chicken coated in 1 Tbs. cornstarch, removed from the skillet, cooked the veggies, threw the chicken back in and added the hoisin marinade. Simmered for about 3 min to let it thicken and then served over rice. It was delicious. The only changes I made to the marinade was I added 2 more Tbs of soy sauce, used only 1 Tbs of garlic, 1 Tbs of ginger, and 1 tsp hot pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This was an excellent, perfectly spicy marinade. I cut the recipe in half as I was only making 3 chicken breasts. I did not have fresh ginger so I used ground (DH not overly fond of ginger anyway), other than that I did it exactly the same! I baked the chicken in the marinade at 400 degreese, for 30 minutes, turning after 15 and then put it on the grill for about 4 minutes on each side. It was awesome. I served with Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Grilled Corn with a Chipolte Maple Glaze and Grilled Cabbage. DH said this is his new favorite chicken, bet leftovers, if there are any would be good on a salad. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I think we'd give this 10 stars if we could! What a fabulous marinade! I mixed up the marinade the night before and added the chicken in the morning. I let the chicken marinade all day - WOW, was it good! The chicken was juicy, tender, and so favorful - we absolutely loved it! We talked all through dinner about how we could use this marinade again. BF is craving some spicy hoisin pork chops next! :) It's worth a shot! Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      One of the best marinates I have ever made. I cut the recipe in half and marinated 1.5 pounds of chicken tenders for about 6 hours. I then skewered the chicken with red, yellow and green peppers, walla walla sweet onion, and crimini mushrooms. Barbecued them on the gas grill and basted with some reserved marinade. OUT OF THIS WORLD! Moist, tender, and so flavorful. I used my micro-plane to grate the ginger and garlic, had to sub white wine vinegar w/ tarragon for the rice which was fine, the tarragon didn't have a chance to stand out. Can't wait to try this on a flat iron steak. Delicious! Thanks Kitten...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was very good. I used a whole chicken, cut into pieces, 1/2 Tablespoon of ground ginger, olive oil, and didn't add any red pepper flakes. The chicken was oven baked and very tasty. I served it with white rice with 1 chopped scallion, 1 minced clove of garlic, about a tablespoon of sesame seeds, salt, and olive oil made in the rice cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      This is really yummy!! I used the marinade on 4 thick cut pork chops and threw them in the freezer. After thawing, I grilled them on the George Foreman last night. The outside got a little dark (b/c of the sugar content?) but they were wonderful! Very moist and full of flavor. I served them with some sesame green beans and fried rice. YUM. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      Great Marinade. I marinated the chicken for about 6 hours and then grilled it on the George Forman. I briefly boiled and then simmered the remaining marinade and poured some over the finished chicken. Made an excellent Asian Style salad! Thanks Kitz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      A good marinade. I marinated 6 chicken breast for several hours. If you like ginger, you'll like this marinade. Leftovers will be used for an oriental chicken salad. Thanks Kitz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      great tasting marinade! i use it to marinade some tofus and bake them.. Yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      Very nice combination of flavors, but it was not as spicy as I had hoped. Next time I will definitely use more than the 1 t of red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Hoisin Marinade for Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.8
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    14%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2388.5 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 49.9 g
    199%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites