12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My aunt, uncle, cousin, cousin-in-law, grandmother and I loved it. It was simple but still fun, although I admit I toyed around with it and added some green onions which really gave it a lovely flavor! I also cut on some of the red pepper flakes as I wasn't certain how my extended family dealt with spicy things, although I like it nice and spicy. It was really an amazing marinade, and my first time using marinades it was a huge success with my family and I. The chicken was excellent, juicy and tender, just perfect!! I'm making it again, this time I hope to provide a picture! Thanks again for a wonderful marinade recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amarilloampharos July 20, 2011

I am giving this 4 stars because although I didn't care for it, my husband thought it was good. The taste of the hoisin sauce is quite pronounced, so if you don't like it that much (I prefer it with other ingredients dominating), don't try this dish. Thanks anyway for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC May 25, 2009

Very good. I used it as a stir-fry sauce for chicken and veggies. I cooked diced chicken coated in 1 Tbs. cornstarch, removed from the skillet, cooked the veggies, threw the chicken back in and added the hoisin marinade. Simmered for about 3 min to let it thicken and then served over rice. It was delicious. The only changes I made to the marinade was I added 2 more Tbs of soy sauce, used only 1 Tbs of garlic, 1 Tbs of ginger, and 1 tsp hot pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AG0508 March 28, 2009

This was an excellent, perfectly spicy marinade. I cut the recipe in half as I was only making 3 chicken breasts. I did not have fresh ginger so I used ground (DH not overly fond of ginger anyway), other than that I did it exactly the same! I baked the chicken in the marinade at 400 degreese, for 30 minutes, turning after 15 and then put it on the grill for about 4 minutes on each side. It was awesome. I served with Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Grilled Corn with a Chipolte Maple Glaze and Grilled Cabbage. DH said this is his new favorite chicken, bet leftovers, if there are any would be good on a salad. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nane March 08, 2009

I think we'd give this 10 stars if we could! What a fabulous marinade! I mixed up the marinade the night before and added the chicken in the morning. I let the chicken marinade all day - WOW, was it good! The chicken was juicy, tender, and so favorful - we absolutely loved it! We talked all through dinner about how we could use this marinade again. BF is craving some spicy hoisin pork chops next! :) It's worth a shot! Thanks, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne January 13, 2009

One of the best marinates I have ever made. I cut the recipe in half and marinated 1.5 pounds of chicken tenders for about 6 hours. I then skewered the chicken with red, yellow and green peppers, walla walla sweet onion, and crimini mushrooms. Barbecued them on the gas grill and basted with some reserved marinade. OUT OF THIS WORLD! Moist, tender, and so flavorful. I used my micro-plane to grate the ginger and garlic, had to sub white wine vinegar w/ tarragon for the rice which was fine, the tarragon didn't have a chance to stand out. Can't wait to try this on a flat iron steak. Delicious! Thanks Kitten...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom June 30, 2008

This was very good. I used a whole chicken, cut into pieces, 1/2 Tablespoon of ground ginger, olive oil, and didn't add any red pepper flakes. The chicken was oven baked and very tasty. I served it with white rice with 1 chopped scallion, 1 minced clove of garlic, about a tablespoon of sesame seeds, salt, and olive oil made in the rice cooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mle234 May 31, 2008

This is really yummy!! I used the marinade on 4 thick cut pork chops and threw them in the freezer. After thawing, I grilled them on the George Foreman last night. The outside got a little dark (b/c of the sugar content?) but they were wonderful! Very moist and full of flavor. I served them with some sesame green beans and fried rice. YUM. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra September 23, 2006

Great Marinade. I marinated the chicken for about 6 hours and then grilled it on the George Forman. I briefly boiled and then simmered the remaining marinade and poured some over the finished chicken. Made an excellent Asian Style salad! Thanks Kitz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper August 04, 2006

A good marinade. I marinated 6 chicken breast for several hours. If you like ginger, you'll like this marinade. Leftovers will be used for an oriental chicken salad. Thanks Kitz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel July 12, 2006
Spicy Hoisin Marinade for Chicken