Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Hasselback Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Hasselback Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-97 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2005

    • on May 26, 2005

      Very nice potatoes thanks Kooka. I used to make these, but haven't in a long time. I often sprinkled them with parmesan, but loved the spice mix (especially the cumin) on these for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Love making fanned potatoes, it's a very appealing way to serve baked potatoes. Makes for great presentation! Adding those wonderful seasonings of yours added a terrific touch and dazzled the taste buds. I will be making these again and again, will be experimenting with other seasonings as well. Thank you kookaburra for sharing a really good tasting potato recipe,love the photo Junebug.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      This was good. Made for a lovely presentation. I used garlic butter to baste. Next time I will tweek the seasonings a bit. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      Excellent way to prepare potatoes, Kookaburra! They make such a great presentation out of otherwise basic roasted potatoes. Would love to try this with garlic-infused butter. Great suggestion to use the spoon to stop the knife from cutting all the way through. I used really large russets (about 1 lb / 455 g) apiece!), so it took about an hour and a half for them to cook thoroughly. It was certainly worth the wait. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      Yum! This technique is so much fun and makes the flavor just pop. I made these on the grill used my own seasonings, but believe me, I will be making this often, and will certainly try your spice combo soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      I prepared these potatoes exactly as written but I was short on time so I put 3 large, bonless chicken breasts in the bottom of my crockpot and placed the prepared potatoes on the top. I cooked it on low for 8 hrs and it turned out delicious. The chicken was absloutely delicous from the spices melting down and the potatoes were tender instead of crispy and still delish. The chiken was fork tender and melted in your mouth. I made this for my Mom and Dad's anniversay/Dad's birthday. They just loved it, too. Thanks Kooka!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      Wonderful recipe, Kooka! It was so simple, but lended such a lovely presentation. It had never occurred to me to use a wooden spoon in this type of application--great idea! This is a very versatile recipe, since you can vary the oven temperature, as well as the spices, to correspond with the rest of your meal. Thanks for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      Great taters Kookaburra! a nice addition to my grilled steaks tonight. I made these inside my barbecue, wrapped in foil and then poked holes in the top of the foil. I used a pastry brush to make sure that each slice was buttered. The spice combination was great! I'll make these again, we loved them... Thanks for sharing!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      Great way with potatoes. I used garlic instead of the cumin but only because I was using garlic in my roast lamb. Another keeper. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Excellent recipe Kooka! The only change I made was for personal taste as I used garlic salt, cumin and cayenne for Dave and myself and normal salt, cumin and paprika for my girls. Thanks Kooka!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      These are sooo yummy and really make a different presentation! I, also used Kosher salt, along with rest of the seasonings. I wanted to cut the potatoes down as low as I could without cutting through so instead of using your wooden spoon method, I placed wooden chopsticks on each side of the potato for cutting and sprayed some small mounds of foil with oil, placed on baking sheet and laid the raw potato over the mounds. When finished baking, they were fanned out more and looked very pretty. Thanks for sharing a neat and tasty idea!Happy Harry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      What a great recipe! Easy to follow- I love the wooden spoon step- it worked perfectly. I did omit the cumin, personal preference. They look so pretty when done, fancy to look at easy to make, will make again often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      This are going to be a standard in our home - how simple they were to make compared to the presentation! Everyone wanted to know what sort of special kitchen appliance I used to create these - I had to laugh to myself while thinking... a wooden spoon and knife people! With the Easter dinner I held off with the cumin and cayenne pepper and instead just used a bit of garlic, and freshly ground black pepper - but be sure when I make them again I will put the spice back in these spicy potatoes! Great recipe... glad I found it... glad you posted it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Oh, wow, are these good! And so incredibly easy to make. The technique is very clever and really allows the flavors to permeate the whole potato. I'll be making these often; delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      Very easy and delicious. Kookaburra has given excellent directions! I loved the spice mixture on mine but made some for the kids with just butter and Kosher salt. Was very kid-friendly, they loved the presentation. Also fancy enough for a special dinner. I've made these also with fresh herbs, garlic and butter, a very versatile recipe that can be tweaked to suit any taste. Thanks, Kookaburra!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      This is an easy and quick recipe to prepare. (Even if it doesn't look like by the number of steps. Kookaburra is just very precise, which is a good thing!) I did use more butter on mine, which is just a personal preference. But it resulted in a nice crunch to the bottom of the potato that went well with the spiciness of the tops of the potatoes. It's an attractive and delicious side dish that would be good to serve to company. I might use a bit of garlic next time. This is a good recipe and Kookaburra I thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Hasselback Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.2
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    18%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 192.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites