97 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these last night. Absolutely the most delicious baked potato I have had. I made a compound butter with roasted garlic to brush on the potatoes as I was cooking. These turned out moist and tender on the inside and crispy on the outer edges. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny_Toodles August 27, 2009

My potatoes were huge and consequently were cooked just right in the top halve but the bottom part was still a little on the firm side. Loved the flavour and will be making again but with smaller potatoes. I peeled two and left two with skin on as the DH and DM don't like the skin left of the potatoes and they still enjoyed the flavours of the spices and the crispness on the potatoes. I did find it easier to drizzle the butter down between the slices rather than brush and as they cooked and opened up it was easy to drizzle some extra on. Thank you Kookaburra for a potato keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 16, 2009

I hate to be negative but we did not care for these at all. The cumin was extremely overpowering in the recipe and you could not taste anything else but that. I do like hasselback potatoes and your method but the spices will need to be changed to fit our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp July 07, 2009

These were delicious. I made exactly as posted, using 5 medium thin skin white potatoes. I made my slices very close together and roasted at 425F for about 50 minutes total. I did add a few shakes of garlic powder, onion powder, and black pepper in with the spice mixture. I served with grilled tequila lime marinated flank steak and topped potatoes with a dollop of sour cream and fresh chives. The spices can be changed up to compliment the flavors of your main entree. I will be using this recipe a lot. Thanks for posting, Kookaburra!! I'm happy to have found such a wonderful new way to prepare potatoes! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom June 22, 2009

My DD made these to go with Linda's Mexican Meatloaf, and it was a delightful meal and so delicious! Even the grandchildren ate without complaints! I let them get nice and crispy on the edges and they were so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyjacobs54 March 06, 2009

Defiantly use medium to small potatoes, the bigger ones the middle doesn't get as crispy and tasty. I didn't use cumin, used sweet paprika, and added some salt and garlic to the butter mixture and I must say - even my dbf who doesn't prefer baked potatoes really liked this - he said it was almost like a home fry. I cooked them at 350 for 45 then had them on the bottom rack while I broiled on top at 525 for the last few minutes. It was a little tedious, making sure the butter got down into it but I also used a thick knife blade instead of a wooden spoon because thats just what I had right there. Next time ill try to cut further down but there will be plenty of time to perfect it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle January 03, 2009

Sorry. But we didn't find this to be special. Taste like baked potates with spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes August 18, 2008

I have made these many times but this weekend I decided to do on the grill! EXCELLENT! (I put pats of butter that was softened and seasoned with the spice topping) I wrapped the potatoes in foil and used indirect heat. And as I was having steaks, I took them off and added crumbled blue cheese on top.. rewrapped and put back on the grill for a few minutes. (for my daughter, I put some shredded cheddar.) YUMMY~~~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tessa22 July 02, 2008

I think next time I'll use my favourite seasoning ~ "Steakhouse Pepper" ~ on here instead of the paprika and cumin, but I LOVE this method of baking the potatoes! Will definitely be doing this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Swan Valley Tammi June 27, 2008

I made these for our guests and got rave reviews. DH grilled steaks and I made these. They looked so fancy on the plate that they were the main topic for a bit. Thank you for posting this recipe and making me look good....lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 25, 2008
Spicy Hasselback Potatoes