Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Habanero Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Habanero Jelly

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2010

      This really is a great recipe! I followed everyones warning, and wore gloves and a bandana over my face. I'm so glad I did! I also added a small container of raspberries to this and slightly less habanero. Its really beautiful in color, and the berries added another layer to the sweet spice combo. Canned it up in 12 4oz jars for gifts and ended up with half of a half pint leftover for myself! I'm enjoying a piece of toast with goat cheese and my RaspBanero jam right now, and its so good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      Made this earlier today, came out great, Didn't use any food coloring, the color already looked great. Had some on a piece of toast and it was delicious. I also just uploaded another photo of how mine turned out. This recipe is perfect, It was my first time making jam and it came out nice, texture is like store bought jam and the taste is wonderul. Will be making again as soon as I get through these 9 jars. ( I'll give a few to friends for sure )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Great Recipe, only one thing to remember wear gloves when washing utencils too, My hands are on fire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This stuff is fantastic! I made a batch of both Jalapeno and Habanero jellies. The jalapeno has a fairly mild great flavor and the habanero is also great flavor and hotter than heck. The fumes while blending and cooking the habaneros is no joke. I am still coughing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      So...even though I was properly warned about the fumes from making these, I didn't get the hint. These fumes are VERY strong. Almost ran me out of the room even with the windows opened. I had to put the collar of my shirt over my nose and mouth! BUT - in the end it was SO worth it! I made jars of this for my Christmas gift baskets and while everyone raved over it, I didn't save a jar for myself so I hadn't tasted it. This weekend I finally got to taste it and this stuff is delicious! My friend didn't have any more cream cheese, so she just spread it on crackers and for me, it was really spicy, but not overly so. Talk about raising endorphin levels! This stuff will make you absolutely giddy. Thanks so much Rita for helping make my gift baskets a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      This was not difficult at all expect for the fumes from the peppers. I wore the gloves during the jelly process really glad I did otherwise the jelly making process went very quickly according to the recipe. I made one batch without colouring and one with red colouring really did not see that much of a difference. I added the whole pepper's with seeds also some re hydrated ones that I soaked in vinegar. I will use the jelly for sauces and making my DH's BBQ sauce. I made this Spicy Habanero Jelly as part of a Christmas present to some dear friends who love spicy, sweet & hot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      Wow! I am a canning virgin no longer!! I cannot believe that this was a success. I halved the recipe because I didn't want to sacrifice all of my husband's peppers in case of an utter failure. I used 8 habenaro peppers with the seeds (yikes) and 1 orange pepper and one yellow. I realize that this was not acurate in halving the recipe but it did work out just fine. I didn't have to use any coloring as the color was a brilliant orange just as it was. I got 7 of those tiny little cute canning jars full and I look forward to giving some out as gifts. We have already sampled one jar and the taste, texture, and smell makes me think that I couldn't have possibly made this myself! Personally, I found it a little too hot even with the cream cheese to soften to heat, however since I made this with my husband's tastes in mind it was sure a treat for him. Thanks for the canning lesson, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      My Dad, brothers, sister-in-law, daughters and friends LOVED the jelly. It is the best "wake-me-up" in the morning! The one jar I saved for myself is empty. My husband is shopping for vinegar so I can make a new batch; this time I will add some raspberries! Thank you for tips!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      Combined this recipe with another. Used a Red Bell pepper, and a handful of Jalapenos for color. I know it probably seemed like an overkill but it worked out beautifully. Heed the advice of making sure that you are doing this in a well ventilated area and wear gloves. I gassed myself just doing the boil down. The flavor was GREAT, and color was a beautiful beautiful orange. I made 36 half pint jars and had none left by the end of the week before i made another batch of 12 jars. Goes great over cream cheese and is a good marinade if you want to do habanero chicken

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      So, the Habanero and Jalapeno jellies both set overnight...they look and taste wonderful...first success I have had making the two....thank you for the recipe..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      This recipe really was so easy and tasty. Makes great holiday gifts!! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Nice different way to use up those peppers! I used a green pepper and no food coloring. It still came out a pretty color. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2014

      This recipe ROCKS!!! Please note, this recipe is for those on the upper level of heat love. <br/><br/>I LOVE spicy hot foods, especially when combined with sweetness. "More Snax" nailed it when she added raspberries. I did the same, and it came out AWESOME!!!<br/><br/>Please remember, even with 6 cups of sugar, AND raspberries, this recipe rocked the upper arena of my heat zone! Personally, this jelly on Artisan crackers with cream cheese, it doesn't get any better. Recommendations: I would reduce the pectin by 3 oz. or 1 packet, remove some from the saucepan and let set for a minute, checking it for thickness. I used 1/2 lb of orange and red habaneros (homegrown) with one bell pepper, plus 1 pint raspberries, with 2 packets (6 oz.) of liquid pectin and my jelly came out quite firm. Even so, this recipe is AWESOME, and HOT--WOW!!! ...a jelly that you come to appreciate and respect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Wear gloves!! Awesome jelly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      This recipe is missing 2 cups of cold water. I made it according to what was posted and it only yielded 5 half pints an it was ultra concentrated. Adding the two cups water to the mixture in the saucepan yielded exactly 7 half pint jars of deliciousness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      This is my favorite canning recipe. I can't get enough heat from any other jelly, Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      After reading the reviews I decided to wear a face mask! It helped... Cannot wait to serve this to my friends who brag that there is nothing too hot for them! The challenge will be met. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Habanero Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (2189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 696.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    19%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 176.1 g
    58%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 173.4 g
    693%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes