Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2013

      This gumbo is delicious. I make it and freeze several portions. Each time I defrost a portion, I know I'm in for a soul food treat. I don't care whether it's Cajun or not--what matters is that it's yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This is probably delicious, but very misleading to call it Cajun. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Great recipe! This had made the final list for our annual soup party. It has a spicy, complex flavor. Don't cheat on making the roux! The only changes I made were to substitute some fish stock for some of the chicken stock. We are on the Gulf Coast, so fresh fish is plentiful. I also don't add sausage- just a personal preference. Thanks a lot, Miss Christine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      I'm 100% Cajun and tomatoes, mussels, clam, NEVER go into a real Cajun gumbo. Also, okra never goes into a roux gumbo. Okra only goes into a seafood gumbo after the okra has been smothered down with onions for at least 2 hours. Now that is a good gumbo and almost as good as a roux gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Absolutely outstanding. The perfect recipe that gets even better with time to meld. I used half oil/half butter for the roux, used 4 serrano's, 4 bay leaves, 6 celery stalks, the Spicy V-8, full pound of scallops, 2 cans of canned oysters instead of the mussels (terrific), 3 cans of crab,and 2 full smoked sausages and simmered for 2 hours not 1. I think it would be even better using the fresh crab and boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts and will use homemade stock next time too. Already looking forward to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      I made this once - lost the recipe and FINALLY found it again on line. I've had people asking for the recipe because they loved this dish. It made a lot and was fun to make. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      This was so yummy! Spicy & rich with flavor. I only used shrimp & sausage for the meat but it still came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      I made a batch for 20 people for a Superbowl party and it was a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      wow - only change i made was replacing the catfish with smoked salmon steaks, cut into 1 inch pieces (i'm in the good old UK and catfish is available but only frozen and not too good) - awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (1046 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 880.1
     
    Calories from Fat 372
    42%
    Total Fat 41.3 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 105.3 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2655.2 mg
    110%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.4 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Season-All salt

    fresh scallops

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites