Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Guacamole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Guacamole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2011

      I am anxious to try this recipe,thank you, love guacamole! I usually add salsa, as I don't always have peppers on hand. Here's a tip I got from a relative. If by some chance you have leftovers, if you leave the avacado pit in the guac, it will stay fresh for a couple days. I tried it, and it was the third day before it started turning brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Not a review but tips regarding avocados. Buy them green and ripen in a brown paper lunch sack. It takes about three days but you never have brown over ripe avocados again. Also lemon juice works as well as lime. One last tip, if you want to make your guac ahead, go ahead! Seal the top with plastic wrap directly on the dip making sure to get all the air out. Works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Yum! Can't go too wrong with guac, though! I think the cilantro is a must, but just eye-balled it b/c 1/2 cup seems like a LOT! I used 1/2 a jalapeno instead of serrano, but should've used more to make it spicy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This guacamole came out great. I didn't use quite as much cilantro simply because I didn't have enough. The taste was very good with lots of flavor. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Pretty good recipe. I thought it had too much cilantro (and I like cilantro). I also added diced roma tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      My family doesn't usually eat guacamole and they gobbled this up. I only used one of the sereno peppers because I was afraid it would be too spicy, and I made the right call - just spicy enough. I did use the cilantro because I love it, and it added a nice balance to the flavors and spice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I made this in 5 mins and it was gone in 5 mins. It was FABULOUS! My husband & I inhaled it and he asked me to make more. I had to sub the serrano chilies with jalapeno and I left out the cilantro (can't stand the stuff) and it was perfect - so much better than the guac we usually buy or get out and it cost me under $2.00 to make. It had just the right amount of spice for us. We eat Mexican a lot and I'll probably be making this once a week or more. Thanks spatchcock - excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      YUM! This was SO good my guests cleared the bowl before I had my fill. Good thing I have extra avocados waiting for me... I was really worried about about browning, so I prepared the other ingredients ahead of time & mashed the avocados (I used 2 small ones) when the guests arrived. I saw the slightest tint on the sides of the bowl when cleaning up four hours later, but really we ate the stuff too quickly to tell!! I think the lime juice helped it stay so fresh & green! I left seeds in from one of the peppers and included a hefty dose of cilantro. Nice, spicy, fresh guacamole!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This was so good, the two of us ate almost the whole batch in one sitting. :) Very fresh tasting and quick to make. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      This was a hit! I took a large bowl of this to a party and the guests ohhhed and ahhhhed. So many people try to make guacamole a complicated dish and it's really best when it's simple and clean like this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Excellent! Point to note with my first time using Avacados..if they're turning brown - don't use them!! You can tell the difference! Purchase more than one so you have that option...use only the freshest ingredients! I made two batches..one with habaneros and lots of chillis, hot sauce and onions. The other exactly as above. I find the cilantro really authenticates the mexican flare!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      I love this stuff. I also omitted the cilantro. Love the pure flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      Love this! I've made it several times now and it's perfect every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      Thanks for this recipe. I love fresh guacamole and this recipe was so simple. I didn't need to add any hot sauce as it was plenty hot enough for me. I left the avocado a little on the chunky side which is the way we prefer it. Good, good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      No question that this is by far the very best guacamole recipe........I have been making mine this way for 25 years, only difference is that I add fresh ground pepper and if fresh serranos are not on hand, I used jarred pickled jalapenos. Fresh cilantro is a must! Awesome post for those looking for a top notch guacamole recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      To spice up my gaucamole, I add chipotle powder. Then to bring out more of the smoke flavor of the chipotle, I had a few dashes of liquid hickory smoke.

      Avocado Ripening Tip: Place a banana into a paper bag with your avocados. Bananas release ethylene gas as they ripen and this gas will trigger the avocados to ripen as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Great stuff..it's an extension (chilli, cilantro, garlic) on my Peruvian wife's recipe and she loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      Fresh, tasty, simple and oh so good. I enjoyed this dip with a cold Corona & salty Tortilla chips~~Yummy! Thanks Meow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      This is a great, fresh-tasting guacamole. I double the recipe, but left out the cilantro also. I only used 2 peppers. This is tangy and yum - served with homemade chips and enchiladas :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Excellent guac! I usually add finely diced tomatoes to mine, but didn't miss them a bit in this recipe. I didn't have a serrano chile on hand, and subbed a yellow jalapeño (at least that is what it looked like...don't know if that is the correct name for the pepper or not...LOL). It had the perfect spicy flavor. This was great as a topping for a Frito Chili Pie and alone with chips. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Guacamole

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.0
     
    Calories from Fat 319
    76%
    Total Fat 35.5 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 606.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    71%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites