24 Reviews

the marinade really made these great. i added quite a bit more hot sauce, just because we like hot and spicy. otherwise, i did them exactly as the recipe said, and they turned out super. great flavor, and really juicy. can't wait to try this marinade on some some chicken kebobs, or just reagular chicken breasts. definately a keeper!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty June 24, 2002

Loved it! I just took the recipe, added a bit more garlic, used it to marinate some chicken strips for 3 days...and they were fantastic when we grilled them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TravelingJ September 25, 2003

This one is a keeper! I've tried it two ways, so far. The first I followed the recipe. The hot sauce I used was Tabasco smoked Chipotle. These I grilled. They were fantastic Sunday I had some that had been marinating for almost 2 days.I rolled them in finely crushed Cheerios and deep fried them. I think I'll have to repeat this experiment 40 or 50 times to determine which I like best. I also think I'm going to have to get a bigger deep fryer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance October 28, 2003

I actually added additional fresh chilli into the marination and marinated it for 12 hours. Turn out great as we liked it more spicy. We also dipped in our family recipe dip which I will add in later on. Try out on seabass and it turn out superb as well. Definitely a keeper. THanx lots

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodcrazee July 02, 2003

Great wings! I marinated for 24 hours and did add a bit more hot sauce. They were not too spicy--just right! Thanks Mirj!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC July 01, 2003

This recipe was so good that I created an account to review it. I doubled the amount of garlic and added about 6 times the amount of hot sauce (I like it spicy) and these were the best wings I've ever had, period. Thank for sharing this jewel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ansiman October 05, 2013

These wings are awesome!!! They are so tasty, and yet so much healthier than fried wings. We ended up marinating them for 24 hours and they were perfect! They browned up nicely on the BBQ, but you definitely need to watch them. Served them with Buffalo sauce and Ranch dressing on the side, along with celery sticks. The only change we'll make in the future is to add more hot sauce - but that's just to accomodate our taste. This recipe is a keeper! Made for "Recipes Without Photos" Spring 2013. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori March 15, 2013

Have been cooking these for a few years and lost the recipe, so when I found it again today, I knew I should write a review. My family loves these wings! Follow the recipe the first time, then like all great recipes, change to suit your taste and/or provisions. I have used different oils, hot sauces and acidic fruits, dependent upon what I have on hand. The results have all been wonderful. My favorite is with lime juice and olive oil. When wings are on sale, I mix up the marinade and freeze them in it. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perry's Chef December 22, 2012

Great flavor, we cooked them on the green egg and they were very good. Next time I will marinate over night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 boys mom September 25, 2011

Another winner from Mirj. When I saw that the recipe was from Mirj, I had no doubt it would be great ... and we were not disappointed. We had a 'meat fest' cookout today and everyone loved the wings. I let them marinate for about 24 hours and the flavor was just outstanding. Great job, Mirj, and thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary K. W. June 20, 2010
Spicy Grilled Chicken Wings