7 Reviews

These are very good and the spices really come forward. I think a splash of vinegar might put these over the top for me. Thanks, VeggieCook98, for a green bean side dish I will reach for again! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap 42.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 21, 2012

Finally, a way to cook fresh green beans that I like! I liked the spice combo here, but I cut way back on the tumeric for personal preference. Will definitely keep this recipe handy as bean season isn't far away!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook June 09, 2012

Spicy is right! These almost knock you over with flavor. I really like the cooking technique as well; I'm going to try it with other seasoning combinations. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl March 31, 2012

Please see my review scale. These tasted divine, yet I was appalled by the sesame seeds to go down the drain. My salad plate was filled with sesame seeds! This recipe showed disregard for any budget sense. Rarely do I make this comment. Made for August 2011 Veggie Swap

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL May 24, 2012

Our house was split on these. One son liked them, one didn't, my husband loved them, and I liked them. So that's a pretty good result for our house. Very easy to put together, though my beans must have been harder, as they took a bit longer to cook (I covered them to help them soften, as well). The flavor was nice. Hubby would like me to make them again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl May 04, 2012

Delicious! I added a bit of a cornstarch slurry to thicken it up near the end. Loved the flavours and spices. Thanks!javascript:postComment();

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu February 22, 2012

Yummy beans, lots of flavor, and definitely spicy. I liked the amount of the spices, but some might want 1/2 to 3/4 of the turmeric - I think it would still probably be just as flavorful and taste as good. I used oil, less salt and followed other reviewers in skipping the sesame seeds and adding a squeeze of lemon at the end. I ended up adding more water a couple of times since it evaporated quickly and was sticking, and like another reviewer, cooked them longer (12 minutes was just slightly softer than crisp tender). We made this as an entrée with one side dish, so it served half as many as stated. It was a really enjoyable dish and packed quite a punch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito May 16, 2014
Spicy Green Beans