Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2012

      These are very good and the spices really come forward. I think a splash of vinegar might put these over the top for me. Thanks, VeggieCook98, for a green bean side dish I will reach for again! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap 42.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      Finally, a way to cook fresh green beans that I like! I liked the spice combo here, but I cut way back on the tumeric for personal preference. Will definitely keep this recipe handy as bean season isn't far away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      Spicy is right! These almost knock you over with flavor. I really like the cooking technique as well; I'm going to try it with other seasoning combinations. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      Please see my review scale. These tasted divine, yet I was appalled by the sesame seeds to go down the drain. My salad plate was filled with sesame seeds! This recipe showed disregard for any budget sense. Rarely do I make this comment. Made for August 2011 Veggie Swap

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Our house was split on these. One son liked them, one didn't, my husband loved them, and I liked them. So that's a pretty good result for our house. Very easy to put together, though my beans must have been harder, as they took a bit longer to cook (I covered them to help them soften, as well). The flavor was nice. Hubby would like me to make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      Delicious! I added a bit of a cornstarch slurry to thicken it up near the end. Loved the flavours and spices. Thanks!javascript:postComment();

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      Yummy beans, lots of flavor, and definitely spicy. I liked the amount of the spices, but some might want 1/2 to 3/4 of the turmeric - I think it would still probably be just as flavorful and taste as good. I used oil, less salt and followed other reviewers in skipping the sesame seeds and adding a squeeze of lemon at the end. I ended up adding more water a couple of times since it evaporated quickly and was sticking, and like another reviewer, cooked them longer (12 minutes was just slightly softer than crisp tender). We made this as an entrée with one side dish, so it served half as many as stated. It was a really enjoyable dish and packed quite a punch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.0
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    65%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 13.1 mg
    4%
    Sodium 473.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes