8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good. The only thing I changed was the 1/2 cup orange juice. I added 4 Tbs orange juice concentrate instead. I think this intensified the flavour. The sauce was terrific. I lightly thickened it before serving it on the side. Excellent dish again Bergy!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo April 30, 2002

Excellent!! 25 mins wasnt enough though .. i broiled it for an extra 10 minutes ...

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa November 20, 2001

This made lovely tasting soft tender chicken. It didn't really brown the way I was expecting it too but that didn't matter. Smelt great and tasted fantastic! I think this chicken would be wonderful sliced on a salad, but I served mine with potatoes and broccoli.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! August 02, 2002

Once again Bergy, a wonderfull taste treat!! I cut the recipe in half,(should have made the whole recipe, it was soo good!!), didn't have any orange juice around so I used a fresh orange, juiced it and put it in pulp and all, the one orange made exactly 1/4 cup juice! Doubled the ginger and the mustard. Served it with plain brown rice and Miller's Lemon green beans. (Had a citrus night). DH loved it and wants it again soon!! He took some of the extra sauce and put it over his rice and suggested next time a rice casserole with bite size chicken and the sauce doubled mixed in with it all. We both really love the sauce!! Thanks for a great keeper!! Back again, I used this as a marinade and glaze for a roast chicken, put some inside the cavity with some orange pieces too and of course covered the chicken with it. We loved it, very falvourful, especially the combination of orange and giner, mine was nice and thick and stuck well, maybe my marmalade was thicker. I did add more hot sauce and it had a nice little bite. Worked very well for a whole roast chicken, thanks again Bergy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 08, 2006

I'm sorry to say, this was very, very disappointing. The glaze/sauce was much too sweet and one-dimensional, despite the fact that I added lots of fresh garlic, chicken broth, and dry white wine before baking. When the chicken was done, I added extra mustard and lots of fresh lemon and lime juice to the sauce to try to cut the sweetness even more. It did cut the sweetness considerably, but the taste still just didn't make it. It was lacking in roundness and depth. Unfortunately, I have to give this a one-star rating.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meryl July 15, 2003

It was good. I wish I could keep the sauce on the meat coz it kept on melting off the side of the chicken. So I had make more sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#39568 October 09, 2002

Loved this recipe, this was so easy tasted GREAT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammi Dongieux December 16, 2009

Very good recipe! I used 1 tsp. Frank's red hot sauce instead of the Tabasco. The chicken had a nice kick & the orange flavour was perfect! Very moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb August 20, 2006
Spicy Ginger / Orange Chicken