Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Garlic Kale With Sauteed Red Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Garlic Kale With Sauteed Red Peppers

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2014

      Our family loves kale and so we are always looking for new ways to prepare it. This was easy enough -- but the flavor was missing something. We drizzled balsamic vinegar over it at the end which enhanced the flavor some. Disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Loved this. I didn't use the red pepper flakes but made the rest of the recipe as stated and it was so good. Lots of flavor even without the heat of the pepper flakes. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      I'm not a fan of kale, but this was really good. The onions sweetened it, and the peppers made for such pretty contrast. I'll be making this often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      This was amazing - I made exactly as recipe but with NO OIL - Instead I put the onions and leek into a hot pan and browned, then added cooking wine to deglaze - I did this a few times, then sauteed in water. I follow Dr. Fuhrmans - Eat to Live - and he advises against added oil because of the amount of calories/fat it can add to a dish. In addition, I am fairly new to Kale and this was truly an amazing combination - and made the Kale so yummy. I will be making more tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I too cut back on the amount of oil but substituted grape seed oil. After cleaning the kale, cut it in about 1" segments, drizzle a small amount of olive oil and sea salt on it, then put it in the oven in a grill pan to let it get crisp. After veggies are cooked, the baked kale is stirred in lightly. We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe alteration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      What a beautiful side dish - it exudes health with every bite! I loved the fresh, bright color of the steamed kale. I also used a little less oil to saute the onions and bell peppers, substituting water when needed during the cooking process. I'd probably add a bit less of the red pepper flakes (1/4 tsp. vs. 1/2 tsp.), but for someone who enjoys a spicey, vitamin-packed treat, this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Excellent flavor. Also tossed in a small amount of left-over rice I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This is delicious and by reducing the amount of oil I made a healthy recipe much healthier. I used just a touch of oil and then added a little water toward the end of the cooking time. The kale was tender in the 10 minutes indicated and a beautiful green. The red pepper flakes added just a touch of heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      Really liked this and thoroughly enjoyed using kale and leeks from the garden. Perfect as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Garlic Kale With Sauteed Red Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.0
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    67%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 33.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes