Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Garlic Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Garlic Hummus

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2010

      Wonderful! The only change I made was to use the water off of the garbanzo beans insteat of tap water. I used a jalepeno for the pepper. Next time I may mince a red pepper too for more color. I may try pepper flakes also. Thank you for submitting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Really good hummus. I used a chipotle chili pepper in adobo sauce and, man, did it come out hot! Whew. There was steam coming out of my ears! But it was very yummy. My husband like it too. Didn't miss the olive oil usually found in hummus at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Yumm! A great hummus recipe - but you do need to know how hot your one chili pepper is! ;-) My hummus turned out very hot indeed, but fortunately my friends and I like it hot! Will use less chili the next time, but will definitely stick with this recipe, this is excellent stuff! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This is an excellent hummus recipe! The only change I made was to use 3 tablespoons water to give the hummus a more creamy texture. I think my chili pepper may have been a bit large because my hummus came out VERY spicy. I love the spicy-ness, but will likely use less of the chili pepper next time. This recipe is a great 'base' recipe... I definitely look forward to adding bell peppers and other variations in the future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      This is superb hummus. The recipe is easy to follow and make and the hummus much lower in fat than many of the other hummus recipes I've found without sacrificing any of the flavor. I've made it many times and my family just loves the spicy, garlicky flavor. Since my family was so impressed with this recipe I used it as a basis for my very own Roasted Red Pepper Hummus recipe soon to appear right here at Recipezaar. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe kburie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      Great, tasty hummus! Very addicting. This will be my go-to recipe, as I love to add spiciness to everything I eat. I didn't have frest peppers on hand, so I used some extra chili powder. Can't wait to try it on my veggie wrap tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I am not rating this, as I had made some significant changes to the recipe. I would have given it 4 stars though!!! I used this recipe for the base of Lorac's Layered Hummus Dip...and we really enjoyed it! I had cut the garlic down to 2....added about 1 tsp of cumin....left out the chili pepper and cayenne (due to allergy). I added about 3 T of water to get the right consistency. I would definately do this one again!!! Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      This was delicious. I'm a real garlic lover so I added a little extra. This is a great recipe that I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      Outstanding hummus. Only thing I changed was to add about 3T water because I like my hummus really smooth and creamy. We enjoyed it on whole wheat tortillas. I thought the balance of flavors and the color were just perfect, kburie. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Garlic Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.7
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    22%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 273.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites