10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! The only change I made was to use the water off of the garbanzo beans insteat of tap water. I used a jalepeno for the pepper. Next time I may mince a red pepper too for more color. I may try pepper flakes also. Thank you for submitting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurnal November 29, 2010

Really good hummus. I used a chipotle chili pepper in adobo sauce and, man, did it come out hot! Whew. There was steam coming out of my ears! But it was very yummy. My husband like it too. Didn't miss the olive oil usually found in hummus at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz August 18, 2009

Yumm! A great hummus recipe - but you do need to know how hot your one chili pepper is! ;-) My hummus turned out very hot indeed, but fortunately my friends and I like it hot! Will use less chili the next time, but will definitely stick with this recipe, this is excellent stuff! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee June 21, 2009

This is an excellent hummus recipe! The only change I made was to use 3 tablespoons water to give the hummus a more creamy texture. I think my chili pepper may have been a bit large because my hummus came out VERY spicy. I love the spicy-ness, but will likely use less of the chili pepper next time. This recipe is a great 'base' recipe... I definitely look forward to adding bell peppers and other variations in the future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erimeli February 18, 2008

This is superb hummus. The recipe is easy to follow and make and the hummus much lower in fat than many of the other hummus recipes I've found without sacrificing any of the flavor. I've made it many times and my family just loves the spicy, garlicky flavor. Since my family was so impressed with this recipe I used it as a basis for my very own Roasted Red Pepper Hummus recipe soon to appear right here at Recipezaar. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe kburie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moogliwoogli August 22, 2006

I love this recipe! I add extra everything, plus olive oil, sun dried tomatoes, a lot of paprika. I never used canned beans; rather, I buy a large bag of dried garbanzo beans from Amazon, cook them, and freeze them in smaller pkgs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bartonian November 19, 2014

Great, tasty hummus! Very addicting. This will be my go-to recipe, as I love to add spiciness to everything I eat. I didn't have frest peppers on hand, so I used some extra chili powder. Can't wait to try it on my veggie wrap tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JujuDoodles June 24, 2013

I am not rating this, as I had made some significant changes to the recipe. I would have given it 4 stars though!!! I used this recipe for the base of Lorac's Layered Hummus Dip...and we really enjoyed it! I had cut the garlic down to 2....added about 1 tsp of cumin....left out the chili pepper and cayenne (due to allergy). I added about 3 T of water to get the right consistency. I would definately do this one again!!! Thanks for the posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl June 06, 2010

This was delicious. I'm a real garlic lover so I added a little extra. This is a great recipe that I will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twinkle May 04, 2005

Outstanding hummus. Only thing I changed was to add about 3T water because I like my hummus really smooth and creamy. We enjoyed it on whole wheat tortillas. I thought the balance of flavors and the color were just perfect, kburie. Thanks for a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea November 19, 2004
Spicy Garlic Hummus