Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Cucumbers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Cucumbers

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2004

      In Korea, this is called OY Kimchi. I spent 4 years in Korea and this was my favorite next to cabbage kimchi. This is very authentic tasting and easy to make! No more going to the Asian market for my fix of OY Kimchi! For a variation, Koreans add finely sliced onions or chopped green onions to it. YUMMMMMMY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Awesome! After reading the other reviews I decided to salt and then drain the cucumbers before adding the marinade. They turned out perfectly and our Korean homestay student practically inhaled them! I will definitely be making these again (and often)! Edited to add: I have found that using Kochujang Sauce gives a great taste. Since starting to host Korean students, I usually have Kochujang Sauce in my fridge, so using it cuts down a little in the preparation of this delicious pickle/relish (whatever you'd like to call it).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      I kind of peeled these and left stripes of peel around the cukes. This was so easy to make and I made it with three other of your recipes, Jelisa. :) What I really enjoyed about this dish was that with the other dishes, this (even though spicy) was a nice 'cool to the palate' contrast to the other dishes. The rest of the meal was Spicy Pepper Steak #33347, Sesame Spinach #30471, Spicy Korean Chicken #29615, and rice. Tastebud heaven! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      Wow! These were great! Could barely stay out of them long enough to let them marinate. Didn't think I have enough marinade but once you toss it's plenty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      I used 6 Kirby cucumbers because they're crunchier. I also did not have kochujang so used a Chinese hot sauce instead. It turned out pretty good! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Great side dish! Super refreshing and I love the little kick that it has..... an awesome way to use up extra cukes in my garden. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Great side dish, spicy and crisp. I served it with Korean Salad, Korean Roast Chicken Thighs and appetizer Korean Green Onion & Shrimp Pancakes With Vinegar Dipping Sa. Great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      This was exceptional!!! Thanks for sharing! This was authentic and delicious. I served this along with a bunch of other ban chan (Korean side dishes) at dinner and this was a big hit! Crisp & cool! I could eat this by itself it was so good! Thanks, Jelisa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I loved this unusual flavour. Next time I'll salt the cucumbers, let them stand awhile and drain before adding the marinade, since I made double to have leftovers and it got a bit watery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      These little devils are great and sooooo easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      This is excellent. We followed the recipe exactly and didn't find it overly spicy or garlicky. It was a nice addition to some grilled meats and rice. A great light addition! At the end of the meal, the bowl was empty and I didn't have but a little taste. We'll be making this often! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      These are spicy, crisp, cool, and wonderful, all at once. I found it perfect with only 1/2 teaspoon of the sesame oil, but used all of the red pepper flakes! Definately going into heavy summer rotation for my 'dim sum' nights. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Another winner - authentic Korean and really good when freshly made, according to DH, he ate these instead of the cucumber kimchee he got at the Asian market.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Cucumbers

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 57.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    30%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 234.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red pepper paste

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes