Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Crock Pot Queso (Cheese Dip) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Crock Pot Queso (Cheese Dip)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2003

      Excellent dip! I first had this about 10 years ago and had forgotten about it. We've been having this on Saturday nights as my DH usually works late and it goes great with cold beer with lime! Yes, DH loves it! It keeps well in the crockpot and is a perfect Saturday night appetizer. I tried the new thicker Tostitos with this last Saturday night and everyone loved it. Thanks, Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      I make this recipe too. It was a favorite at our yacht club when I was growing up. The only difference was that ours had 1/2 pkg Good Seasons Italian Herb dry salad dressing mix. I used Jimmy Dean hot sausage too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      This is the one have been making every year for superbowl for as long as I can remember.(Must be a Texas thing) I always buy the hot sausage and sometimes if I have it throw in some green chilies or chipolte as well. Good Stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      I too have been making this recipe for years. It is sooo good. Sometimes we add a can of refried beans to it and use it as burrito filling too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      I added hot sausage so that it would be even hotter. LOVE IT. It must be a Texas thing. Of all the fancy smancy stuff I might take to someone's house this is always requested. We women must make sure that this is at every get together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      I love making this dip - it has been a family and friends favorite for years. I won't make it unless I can use Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage with it! I also like to add homemade salsa (I'm spoiled and won't eat store-bought salsas!) or, if I don't have any salsa made up, a crushed clove of garlic. Gives it a little extra zing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2001

      Add richness and flavor by adding 1 can of cream of mushroom soup to this recipe. This is a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      Loved this queso! Due to a tomato allergy, I only used 1 can of Rotel and it was perfect. The choirizo added a great flavor to the dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      I cut this recipe in half since there were only 3 of us eating. Since we like it spicy, I added 1.5 jalapeno peppers, 2 table spoons of chopped cilantro, 2 tablespoons chopped onion, 2 tablespoons of Texas Pete, and a dash of chili powder. AWESOME if you like it hot. Thanks Mark H for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I make this for poker night and it is gone right away. I add ground beef or turkey instead of the sausage and it turns out every time. Fast and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      It was good- and I used chorizo (2-10oz logs). The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that is was too runny. It was time for the party, and the dip was too much like a sauce. I added a few handfulls of shredded cheddar and it turned out fine. How about 1-28 oz and then 1 of the smaller cans? There was some leftover, so I put it in the freezer for New Years. I guess I'll find out if it freezes well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I have made this a few times now, and it is always a hit. I use the mild rotel tomatoes and it adds just enough zing. I once used a spicy sausage and it was just a bit to much zing for some of the guests....but I loved it that way. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This was really good and I will make this for company. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This is a WONDERFUL dip and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe for a Super Bowl get-together and used Jimmy Dean hot sausage and 2 cans of Rotel Hot and 2 cans of Rotel Original.Be sure and serve this with a sturdy tortilla chip, as the thin ones tend to break, leaving you without much dip on your chip!:( Thanks for posting this, Mark- it's a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Yummy! Next time I might drain some of the liquid from the canned tomatoes because my dip was pretty thin. Either way it was delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      I've searched far and wide for a good queso dip recipe and I've found it! I use chorizo sausage, mexican velveeta, and 1 can of Rotel regular tomatoes and 1 can of Rotel Extra Hot tomatoes. The spice is just right! Thanks for this recipe, Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      I use spicy Chorizo and add 1 Sweet Vidlaia Onion and a Jalapeno. Both chopped and saute'd before adding to the crockpot. Adding 8oz of Cream Cheese works well too. In some places you can buy a white process cheese, that makes for a great taste too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      A friend in high school used to make this and called it 'Hog Wild Dip.' :) I made this for a family holiday get-together; I did halve the recipe easily, and used hot sausage. No leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      This was my first attempt at a dip. It turned out great but i couldn't find rotel around my way. So i used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with jalapeno. Sadly it didn't make the dip hot. I was gonna add some cayenne pepper to the leftovers to see if that "kicks it up a notch". but there was none left.... I will make this again but maybe with some fresh jalapenos. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Fantastic dip! I made this using a mild sausage, but will try the hot sausage next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Crock Pot Queso (Cheese Dip)

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.7
     
    Calories from Fat 369
    67%
    Total Fat 41.1 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 21.6 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 122.5 mg
    40%
    Sodium 2991.7 mg
    124%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites