16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After I shredded the meat, it was 59 minutes and 45 seconds later and I headed for the crockpot to taste this dish. Sure enough, as promised, our eyes watered and our tongues were stinging-but we were in heaven, it's just how we LIKE it! On fire, it's the only way to be....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn November 01, 2002

Awesome recipe. The heat level is perfect! I don't think you need to peel the tomatillos though, as I didn't and the dish turned out fine. I'm thinking next time that I might skip boiling them, as I like my salsa verde to have a bit of a sour flavor. Thanks for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer August 06, 2012

I have made this in the past and forgot to review it. The base is good for whatever is your taste in meat be it chicken, pork, or beef.

Now, let me help you a little with the whole peeling the tomatillos, toss that step out the window. The skin is not tough or bad tasting. Leave it on, your hands will thank you and the flavor will remain the same. If you like the heat use serrano peppers instead of jalapenos they're usually a bit more potent. Depends on whether you like a more tart taste you can also leave the tomatillos uncooked before putting them in the blender but keep in mind that it does change the flavor a bit to a more tart flavor. When you put it in the blender, add some cilantro for that fresh flavor. My came out delicious and I'm making it again, so I decided to review the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabby B June 16, 2012

OH MY GOD!!!! Tummy and taste bud gasms all around. Next time I make it, the only thing I would change is to double it! TY so much for what will be a constant favorite in my home!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mini_1 September 23, 2006

Yum! Easy to put together, good flavor, nice kick! I served the first round as taco filling, and look forward to trying the leftovers in another dish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews November 12, 2012

I used this as the base for my chicken enchiladas. They turned out awesome with a simple sour cream sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rtm2007 July 17, 2012

we really enjoyed this! I only had boneless, skinless chicken breasts, so I used 2.5 lbs of those, the individually quick frozen ones, and cooked it on low for about 8 hours on low. I used only 2 jalapeƱos and removed the seeds-next time I will up to 4 and remove the seeds again. Really yummy and gr5eat recipe for my first try at cooking with tomatillos. Thanks for sharing Miss Diggy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC July 25, 2010

Very good but I didn't have any jalapeno peppers and that is disappointing since I love foods hot and spicy. I added 3 chicken boullion cubes and 2 roasted, diced poblano peppers. I also melted a couple of tablespoons of butter into the mixture. I will make this again. This would be good over rice or shredded and made into a burrito/enchilada. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaJoy! February 01, 2010

this was great! sooo easy, we omitted the cayenne but was still very tastey! will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Momof2 January 06, 2010

awesome! so easy and delicious!!! my house smells great and I am high on the heat. mmmm. I used 1 lb of pork instead of chicken (personal preference) and i think next time I'll use a bit more. i also threw an anehiem in with the jalenpenos and tomatillas. thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sillyalicia April 18, 2009
Spicy Crock Pot Chicken Chile Verde (Low Fat)