Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Crock Pot Chicken Chile Verde (Low Fat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Crock Pot Chicken Chile Verde (Low Fat)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2002

      After I shredded the meat, it was 59 minutes and 45 seconds later and I headed for the crockpot to taste this dish. Sure enough, as promised, our eyes watered and our tongues were stinging-but we were in heaven, it's just how we LIKE it! On fire, it's the only way to be....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Awesome recipe. The heat level is perfect! I don't think you need to peel the tomatillos though, as I didn't and the dish turned out fine. I'm thinking next time that I might skip boiling them, as I like my salsa verde to have a bit of a sour flavor. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      I have made this in the past and forgot to review it. The base is good for whatever is your taste in meat be it chicken, pork, or beef.

      Now, let me help you a little with the whole peeling the tomatillos, toss that step out the window. The skin is not tough or bad tasting. Leave it on, your hands will thank you and the flavor will remain the same. If you like the heat use serrano peppers instead of jalapenos they're usually a bit more potent. Depends on whether you like a more tart taste you can also leave the tomatillos uncooked before putting them in the blender but keep in mind that it does change the flavor a bit to a more tart flavor. When you put it in the blender, add some cilantro for that fresh flavor. My came out delicious and I'm making it again, so I decided to review the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      OH MY GOD!!!! Tummy and taste bud gasms all around. Next time I make it, the only thing I would change is to double it! TY so much for what will be a constant favorite in my home!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      Yum! Easy to put together, good flavor, nice kick! I served the first round as taco filling, and look forward to trying the leftovers in another dish. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      I used this as the base for my chicken enchiladas. They turned out awesome with a simple sour cream sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      we really enjoyed this! I only had boneless, skinless chicken breasts, so I used 2.5 lbs of those, the individually quick frozen ones, and cooked it on low for about 8 hours on low. I used only 2 jalapeƱos and removed the seeds-next time I will up to 4 and remove the seeds again. Really yummy and gr5eat recipe for my first try at cooking with tomatillos. Thanks for sharing Miss Diggy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Very good but I didn't have any jalapeno peppers and that is disappointing since I love foods hot and spicy. I added 3 chicken boullion cubes and 2 roasted, diced poblano peppers. I also melted a couple of tablespoons of butter into the mixture. I will make this again. This would be good over rice or shredded and made into a burrito/enchilada. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      this was great! sooo easy, we omitted the cayenne but was still very tastey! will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      awesome! so easy and delicious!!! my house smells great and I am high on the heat. mmmm. I used 1 lb of pork instead of chicken (personal preference) and i think next time I'll use a bit more. i also threw an anehiem in with the jalenpenos and tomatillas. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Easy, easy and very tasty!!!!! I did scrape the Jalapeno and left out the cayenne--to suit my taste for spicy hot. Made Chicken Enchiladas with this. YUM. Am planning to use the rest for Mexican Chicken Salad sandwiches...can't wait! Thank you for posting this fabulously tasty dish. Made for the Low-fat/Lite event in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Yum! I wouldn't call it super-spicy, more like zesty at best, but for those not used to firey foods, I'd cut down on the jalapenos, by opening them up and scraping out some/all of the seeds before blending them up. I used my immersion blender to make the liquid, which was much less messy. Also works with skinless chicken breast, it's fork tender. Way to go! My Mexican roommates like the heat, and think the smoky flavor is really neat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This recipe is delicious! We loved it - just the right amount of spicy. Sadly no leftovers so next time I'm making a double batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Have made more than a dozen times, each time playing around with the spice. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Loved this recipe. Mine turned out extra spicy, but I used freshly ground cayenne from peppers grown & dried this summer. Served with totillas and sour cream. Definite repeat and was such an easy recipe to prepare. Thank you Miss Diggy for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      5 stars. So moist and flavorful, but it was not "very spicy" for us. It gave a mild-medium spice that could be made hotter by adding extra hot sauce to the plates. The tomatillos are a bit of a pain to peel, first yoou have to remove the sticky papery skin, then after boiling the regular skin which took a little time since you have to let them cool to the touch. Used the chicken to make soft shell tacos. Easy to make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Crock Pot Chicken Chile Verde (Low Fat)

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 35.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    23%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 549.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken tenders

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes