8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great dish! We loved the crust on the fish and the sauce was awesome too! I used some fresh catfish, and it can't be beat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids June 13, 2010

I just made the fish, not the tartar sauce. It is a good way to get a "mock" fried fish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 02, 2009

This is delicious fish! I used some tilapia that I had on hand and it was outstanding prepared this way. I used 3/4 tsp of cayenne and it had a great little kick. I did make the tartar sauce and it was a great accompaniment. This made a wonderful quick and easy fish dish with ingredients I always have on hand - thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof December 28, 2008

We love catfish and found this to be an excellent recipe for it. Penko gives it a little more crunch and substituting the milk with buttermilk gives the breading more flavor and fullness. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mewmew August 04, 2006

Yes!! A healthy way to make a healthy food without a lot of silliness. (I'm only reviewing the fish here, I didn't make the sauce...yet.) I didn't have fresh parsely so I used some dried; I'm looking forward to doing it with fresh when I have the chance. I used a coarsely ground cornmeal from Bob's Red Mill which made a very crunchy crust, which contrasted so wonderfully with the tender fish. This one's a catch! ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kris H. January 10, 2005

Wonderful catfish that was complemented perfectly by the tangy tartar sauce. I used dried parsley and part masa harina for some of the yellow cornmeal in the coating, and reduced fat mayo worked well in the sauce. I ate a half pound of catfish all by myself for cryin' out loud! Thanks very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. December 29, 2004

This fish was the best! I used Tilapia fillets and I couldn't believe the way they puffed up after soaking in the milk. What a great tip! The coating stayed on great and turned out golden and crispy. I ate them three nights in a row and they were even better the second and third nights when I put them under the broiler to heat and crisp them. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas September 03, 2004

"Fried" catfish without the guilt would be an excellent title. This is very good. I used fresh cilantro, omited the capers and chopped a sweet pickle instead of the relish. The fish was done and lightly brown at 12 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 23, 2004
Spicy Cornmeal-Crusted Catfish