Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Cornmeal-Crusted Catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Cornmeal-Crusted Catfish

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      Great dish! We loved the crust on the fish and the sauce was awesome too! I used some fresh catfish, and it can't be beat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I just made the fish, not the tartar sauce. It is a good way to get a "mock" fried fish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This is delicious fish! I used some tilapia that I had on hand and it was outstanding prepared this way. I used 3/4 tsp of cayenne and it had a great little kick. I did make the tartar sauce and it was a great accompaniment. This made a wonderful quick and easy fish dish with ingredients I always have on hand - thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      We love catfish and found this to be an excellent recipe for it. Penko gives it a little more crunch and substituting the milk with buttermilk gives the breading more flavor and fullness. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      Yes!! A healthy way to make a healthy food without a lot of silliness. (I'm only reviewing the fish here, I didn't make the sauce...yet.) I didn't have fresh parsely so I used some dried; I'm looking forward to doing it with fresh when I have the chance. I used a coarsely ground cornmeal from Bob's Red Mill which made a very crunchy crust, which contrasted so wonderfully with the tender fish. This one's a catch! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      Wonderful catfish that was complemented perfectly by the tangy tartar sauce. I used dried parsley and part masa harina for some of the yellow cornmeal in the coating, and reduced fat mayo worked well in the sauce. I ate a half pound of catfish all by myself for cryin' out loud! Thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2004

      This fish was the best! I used Tilapia fillets and I couldn't believe the way they puffed up after soaking in the milk. What a great tip! The coating stayed on great and turned out golden and crispy. I ate them three nights in a row and they were even better the second and third nights when I put them under the broiler to heat and crisp them. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      "Fried" catfish without the guilt would be an excellent title. This is very good. I used fresh cilantro, omited the capers and chopped a sweet pickle instead of the relish. The fish was done and lightly brown at 12 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Cornmeal-Crusted Catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.9
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    46%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 67.5 mg
    22%
    Sodium 395.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tartar sauce

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites