11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Me and my son enjoyed them. But DH didn't. I used a dark cocoa powder. I added more ketchup. So I didn't have to add water. The cocoa powder added a different taste. I was curious to try this recipe. Thanks flower :) Made for PAC Spring 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 10, 2012

These were surprisingly good. The addition of the cocoa added an interesting dimension. As other reviewers have mentioned, the mixture was way too thick when made as written. I added half a can of tomato sauce and it was just right. This yummy recipe will be going in our supper rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 December 03, 2011

These turned out just OK for us. We also found the mixture to be extremely thick and needed thinning with a bit of water before serving. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe July 07, 2011

Made this recipe pretty much as given, although I did reduce the chili powder to 1 1/2 teaspoons, & that was plenty for the 2 of us! I'd intended to have sloppy joes for lunch & freeze the rest for another time, but neglected to bag the leftovers for freezing, & by the time I got around to it we decided to finish 'em off completely! Loved the taste & will make them again before long! Thanks for sharing! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 29, 2011

Boy did these vanish QUICKLY !!! The addition of cocca made this quite unique.. Got 2 -5 stars,and 2-4 1/2 stars, from everyone. They were spicy, but not overbearing. Wanted 2nd's for lunch tommorow, but I am out of luck.. They vanished quite quickly. Made in I Recommend,.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker May 08, 2011

These were great sloppy joes. I really liked the addition of cocoa! The only change I made was to use chopped celery instead of green pepper. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 27, 2011

This was gone so fast that I couldn't even take a photo... great way for making Sloppy Joes! Thanks for sharing, flower7! Made for Comfort Cafe Snowqueen's Round Potluck 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany January 18, 2010

I love the flavor of these Sloppy Joes, wonderful. Sort of spicy, but no too spicy. If you love a little spice, you'll love these. Thanks........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas February 22, 2008

Usually The Cookgirl bypasses the meat and heads straight for the salads, (or at least the vegetarian entrees.) This recipe, however was a winner! Not too sweet or spicy; thick, not watery mixture! I added a few twists of my own as follows: subbed Mexican chocolate for cocoa powder, subbed brown sugar for white, and added a clove of garlic as suggested by another reviewer. Served the mixture on whole wheat buns. The chocolate added a subtle richness. This would make an interesting chili with the addition of kidney beans. A very delicious recipe and I'm glad you posted it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 14, 2008

Sloppy Joes have long been a comfort food for me, but this version took me out of my comfort zone & was quite a nice surprise. I had not read the other review when I made these for our dinner tonite & had already added garlic which I saw as a must. Richness is a good word to use here. The 1st bite makes you wonder if you are gonna like this, the 2nd makes you think you are & the 3rd convinces you the 2nd bite was right! When I make these again (& add garlic again), I will use brown sugar which I think will add another subtle dimension. I served these on *GIANT* hamburger buns w/fried potatoes. Thx for sharing this unique recipe w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 05, 2007
Spicy Cocoa Sloppy Joes