9 Reviews

My family was seriously surprised by this cake. However it did taste lovely! I was very optimistic when I cut up the chili, thinking it would disintegrate...but it didn't, so its important to make sure its cut in very small pieces otherwise you can get some very spicy mouthfuls of cake;-)! Thanks for this unusual recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose April 25, 2008

This is an amazing cake. It's just the right texture-light and fluffy, yet moist. The cinnamon/jalapeno combination with the chocolate is genius! It's not an overpowering spicy, but I could definitely tell it was there. I used 1 fresh minced jalapeno, which ended up being about a tablespoon and a half. I used the chocolate buttercream frosting Chocolate Buttercream Frosting instead of this frosting. That one was less sweet, I think. I really liked the almonds on the cake, too. I wouldn't hesitate to make this again for company or just any time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wistaria May 11, 2007

Oh wow is this good cake!!! But there was no discernible jalapeno flavor. I think I'll use a cream cheese icing next time because this was just so sweet. It is still the best cake I ever made! Oh, I used 2tsp baking soda. The recipe says baking SODA but other reviewers are using baking POWDER? I used soda. It worked very nicely. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo October 03, 2005

The cake rose beautifully but after it cooled it flopped. It`s more like a brownie! I did make the frosting but didn`t frost it! I suggest making it in a 9x13 pan and serving it like rich dense brownies. Now for the flavor.... so good and rich! You get chocolate at first then some warmth that is addictive. So be careful or you`ll eat the whole thing! This is really good and tasty 5 stars but I`m giving it 4 stars for eye appeal! I will make again and of course I will change the review if results are different! sept 29,05 Today I decided to use the frosting and topped each layer with canned fruit. I did enjoy it without the frosting more. Not that the frosting was bad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 01, 2005

Wooohooo what a cake!! I did make the cake to the directions...using 1 tablespoon of finely chopped jalepenos (with seeds).Seeing Rita's review I did talk with the chef and used two teaspoons of baking powder. The cake turned out a treat....wonderfully light and fluffy. I did use the frosting...though I didn't need the full 1/3 cup of milk...perhaps half. I spread the frosting on the side of the cake and then rolled it in the flaked almonds. I then spread the top with the frosting and grated chocolate over the top...mmm...delicious. There is really no noticable chilli flavour...just a lovely after taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff October 01, 2005

I tried this recipe for Vday this year...coz I was kinda bored of the regular choc.cake....the only sad bit was the jalapeno flavour was'nt very strong-i used 1 1/2 tbsp of canned jalapenos...mebbe i'd step it up a notch the next time. loved the almonds n decorated the top with a few v-day sprinkles to customize it for the occassion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seeprats February 24, 2009

Just a bit on the dry side. I used baking powder so maybe I'll try the baking soda next time. There will definitely be a next time!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetieDarling May 12, 2006

I had my 5th&6th graders make this cake yesterday for Cinco De Mayo. They had a blast and it turned out nice! The frosting is great, the cake was a little dry... but then again I had kids baking so they may have made a boo boo or two. They took the sliced almonds to create a design on the top of the cake - it was pretty. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P May 06, 2006
Spicy Chocolate Jalapeno Cake