Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Chocolate Jalapeno Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Chocolate Jalapeno Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2008

      My family was seriously surprised by this cake. However it did taste lovely! I was very optimistic when I cut up the chili, thinking it would disintegrate...but it didn't, so its important to make sure its cut in very small pieces otherwise you can get some very spicy mouthfuls of cake;-)! Thanks for this unusual recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      This is an amazing cake. It's just the right texture-light and fluffy, yet moist. The cinnamon/jalapeno combination with the chocolate is genius! It's not an overpowering spicy, but I could definitely tell it was there. I used 1 fresh minced jalapeno, which ended up being about a tablespoon and a half. I used the chocolate buttercream frosting Chocolate Buttercream Frosting instead of this frosting. That one was less sweet, I think. I really liked the almonds on the cake, too. I wouldn't hesitate to make this again for company or just any time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      Oh wow is this good cake!!! But there was no discernible jalapeno flavor. I think I'll use a cream cheese icing next time because this was just so sweet. It is still the best cake I ever made! Oh, I used 2tsp baking soda. The recipe says baking SODA but other reviewers are using baking POWDER? I used soda. It worked very nicely. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      The cake rose beautifully but after it cooled it flopped. It`s more like a brownie! I did make the frosting but didn`t frost it! I suggest making it in a 9x13 pan and serving it like rich dense brownies. Now for the flavor.... so good and rich! You get chocolate at first then some warmth that is addictive. So be careful or you`ll eat the whole thing! This is really good and tasty 5 stars but I`m giving it 4 stars for eye appeal! I will make again and of course I will change the review if results are different! sept 29,05 Today I decided to use the frosting and topped each layer with canned fruit. I did enjoy it without the frosting more. Not that the frosting was bad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Wooohooo what a cake!! I did make the cake to the directions...using 1 tablespoon of finely chopped jalepenos (with seeds).Seeing Rita's review I did talk with the chef and used two teaspoons of baking powder. The cake turned out a treat....wonderfully light and fluffy. I did use the frosting...though I didn't need the full 1/3 cup of milk...perhaps half. I spread the frosting on the side of the cake and then rolled it in the flaked almonds. I then spread the top with the frosting and grated chocolate over the top...mmm...delicious. There is really no noticable chilli flavour...just a lovely after taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

    • on February 24, 2009

      I tried this recipe for Vday this year...coz I was kinda bored of the regular choc.cake....the only sad bit was the jalapeno flavour was'nt very strong-i used 1 1/2 tbsp of canned jalapenos...mebbe i'd step it up a notch the next time. loved the almonds n decorated the top with a few v-day sprinkles to customize it for the occassion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      Just a bit on the dry side. I used baking powder so maybe I'll try the baking soda next time. There will definitely be a next time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      I had my 5th&6th graders make this cake yesterday for Cinco De Mayo. They had a blast and it turned out nice! The frosting is great, the cake was a little dry... but then again I had kids baking so they may have made a boo boo or two. They took the sliced almonds to create a design on the top of the cake - it was pretty. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Chocolate Jalapeno Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 741.1
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    46%
    Total Fat 38.1 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 129.0 mg
    43%
    Sodium 629.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.9 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 70.4 g
    281%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites