Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Chickpeas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Chickpeas

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      Had these for dinner tonight, so quick to cook, and so good. Served with steamed jasmine rice. A couple of my favourite foods together, chick peas and rice, thought I'd died and gone to heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2002

      I had this for dinner last night. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2001

      Yum! you have been busy...222 recipes! about 30 of your recipes just popped up in my recomended recipe page!!! along with 4 of my own (??? *LOL*) So I thought Id load your page and check out some more of you'r great great recipes!!!! I make spicy chickpeas also, but I use dry (soaked) and deep fry them and then add garam-masala or just cumin, corriander and turmeric...plus salt...great snack and also addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      Wel I saw this recipe and knew that it would be perfect for my vegetarin Atkins dieting friend. Of course, I didn't read it through until the end until I was in the process of making it. Even though it said to serve immediately, I sampled it (it was great) and put it in a container to reheat later. This was excellent. The flavors were even better heated up. I planned to serve the leftovers cold at lunch the next day, but there were not any leftovers! This will be one of my regulars from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      I like the mix of spices in this! The cumin, chili, and lemon are fantastic together. Nice and easy to put together, too. I only used one can of chickpeas but used the full amount of remaining ingredients to get a dish that was really flavorful... I absolutley loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Used an can of diced tomatoes instead and it was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Very tasty. I ate it cold the next day and thought it was even better. Wonderful way to eat chickpeas when you're trying to cut back on meat/add beans to your diet. Definite keeper :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      Very simple to make and VERY ADDICTING!!! I love this recipe! We really enjoyed this for dinner last night, and cant wait to dive into the leftovers. THe lemon pepper really adds quite a kick to the flavor, and goes VERY well with the chili powder. Thanks for this recipe! It's definitely one we'll make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      Very easy and delicious. I took it to a potluck and had several requests for the recipe. Thanks for another great recipe, Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      I actually made this recipe for my husband, he loves hot food. I dont like hot food, but I did taste it and it was very tasty. It actually reminded me of a topping that would be added to a dish called maftoul(small rolled bread balls). I would make this dish again but probably not spicy. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      Delicious! I cut the recipe in 1/2 and used 1 small onion, 1 1/2 tomatoes and a clove of garlic. Super tasty! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      Addicting, YES! Reheats very well for lunches/leftovers, if any. Thanks for this delightful, easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      Easy to make but not much flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Looking for a meatless alternative, this was great. I used olive oil and canned diced tomatoes but followed the recipe for the rest. I served this with wild/brown rice and a Greek salad and it was a very good week night dinner for DH and I. It was even better the next day, cold and reheated. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Tasty. DD (toddler) and I had this for lunch. I wouldn't call this spicy but flavourful. Served over perfectly cooked white Basmati rice, garnished with chopped flat leaf parsley. I used canola oil to be soy free, sea salt, finely grated lemon peel and freshly ground black pepper in place of the lemon pepper, canned plum tomatoes, chopped, freshly squeezed lemon juice, plus the rest of the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Love love love this recipe!! So quick, easy, and inexpensive. Also very healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

    • on December 22, 2009

      I needed to add extra spice. It was a simple side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      This was amazing. I was a little worried that the chickpeas wouldn't be soft enough but I left it on low heat with the pan covered and it turned out great. I also didn't have cumin so I substituted coriander and it still came out delicious. I had some with puris (fried naan) and my bf loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. I usually don't like garbanzo beans, but this recipe was great. We'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Chickpeas

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.1
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    25%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 749.6 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites