Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2005

      A new favorite! I love this chicken recipe! I made it with boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Then I cut it into bite size pieces and added halved, black seedless grapes and served on whole wheat toasted bread. This recipe made a perfect curry chicken salad sandwich. Thank you for a great addition to my collection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      Mmmmm, very yummy chicken. I used breasts as I didn't have any thighs. The yoghurt made the chicken very tender but separated during cooking which gave the saucy a bit of a grainy appearance but it still tasted great! Thanks for a tasty and low-fat meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

    • on September 08, 2011

      I love this recipe. Unfortunately by the time I made it my husband was sick of chicken dishes so he couldn't thoroughly enjoy it =( Really yummy though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Family liked it a lot! Instead of yogurt I used sour cream and I also used a peach salsa. I think I should have added salt since my salsa was sweet. It was very nice. Thanks! Just updating- added salt, garlic and make it with sour cream and ordinary salsa so also added some cayenne pepper- marinated chicken breasts that I cubed for shish kabobs. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      They were tasty. Added salt to the marinade too. Think that next time I may cut up chicken breasts (not a fan of meat on the bone) and let them marinate then cook them on the stove in a skillet. Thanks for sharing the seasoning amounts they're a good jumping off point for future meals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      These were very good, but I have to admit they did not quite meet the expectations I had from reading other reviews. I used 1/3 c salsa instead of 1/4 c, and I'm glad I did as my only complaint with the recipe is that it needs more "kick". I used medium salsa; next time I will use hot or I will add 1/4-1/2 t cayenne to the marinade. As it is I sprinkled some on my serving and it made all the difference, adding that subtle warmth I expect from a curry dish. Otherwise this was good; the texture of the meat was nice and you can't beat the ease of prep. Thanks for posting, this will be a fun one to play with! I served this with couscous pilaf and steamed veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      YUM! We've made this both with skinless/boneless and with whole leg quarters. Really lovely. You can adjust spiciness with both the salsa and the particular curry powder used. Since we are low carbing as well, we are matching this up with Frizzled Cabbage recipe 83524. Huge success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Excellent! The whole family loved this flavourful and very easy dish. I used 6 smallish bone-in thighs, removed the skin and marinated them overnight. I may experiment with adding more salsa next time but only for the sake of experimenting. This recipe is fantastic as is. Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Barb, these were so yummy! We had them on a cozy Sunday night! The house smelled great while I cooked them, and they tasted just as good. These are such a good easy way to get a "curry" fix, without having to do all the work of making curry pastes, and spice mixtures! A couple of notes: if you double the recipe and the chicken is crowded in the pan (like I did), they will need to cook about 1/2 hour more. And, I added about 1 tbsp of sugar to the marinade because I like how it cuts the sort of sourness of the yogurt. I also added about 2 tsp of red pepper flakes (to the doubled recipe), cuz my salsa was only medium. SO, thank you again, this was lovely and I will be passing this on to my friends and family. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      wow this was great curried chicken!! We loved it and will be making it again. Easy and wonderful flavour! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      These were good! Since I didn't have skinless thighs, I opted to leave the skin on for baking and then remove it before serving. I had six thighs, so I made fifty percent more sauce, and it was exactly the right amount. There was enough sauce to cover and keep them moist, so I'm sure they would have done just fine at the listed time and temperature, but I decided to bake them at a lower temperature for a longer period of time anyway (in my oven, at 350 F, they took about 70 minutes). Such a quick and easy curry sauce, with great flavor payoff for very little work! It took just a few minutes to put the sauce together, and all I did after that was turn the thighs during marinating/resting time. I used green (jalapeno) salsa, and just loved the flavor; the only thing required for taste was a bit of salt. I served this over rice, and we both gobbled it down to the last bite. I'll definitely be making this again (next time, I think I'll add some chopped onions). Thanks for the recipe, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      This was just super, I made it for dinner last nght and it was devoured by DH and 2 hungry teens, I just love that it is so healthy but tastes delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      You couldn't ask for an easier recipe--which I love. Also, the chicken turned out extremely moist and tender with an excellent spicy flavor. I also love that it is low in fat, too. This went over well with my family, so--what more could a busy mom want?? Thanks for sharing this recipe, Barb. You've got some really great ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      I made this for my husband and I (trying hard to drop the fat content in our meals) We found this dish very tasty and looked great too. I used a medium salsa. Will make this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      I loved the flavor and the presentation when I served it. Yogurt is so nice to work with as a base for a sauce or coating this is an excellent example. The spices blended and added flavor but did not overwhelm the chicken. Thanks Barb for another tasty recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      Enjoyed this even though I'm not a fan of chicken thighs. Has a nice flavor and heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.5
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    27%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 72.1 mg
    24%
    Sodium 209.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    skinless chicken thighs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes