17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good, but I have to admit they did not quite meet the expectations I had from reading other reviews. I used 1/3 c salsa instead of 1/4 c, and I'm glad I did as my only complaint with the recipe is that it needs more "kick". I used medium salsa; next time I will use hot or I will add 1/4-1/2 t cayenne to the marinade. As it is I sprinkled some on my serving and it made all the difference, adding that subtle warmth I expect from a curry dish. Otherwise this was good; the texture of the meat was nice and you can't beat the ease of prep. Thanks for posting, this will be a fun one to play with! I served this with couscous pilaf and steamed veggies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian June 02, 2008

A new favorite! I love this chicken recipe! I made it with boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Then I cut it into bite size pieces and added halved, black seedless grapes and served on whole wheat toasted bread. This recipe made a perfect curry chicken salad sandwich. Thank you for a great addition to my collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphney March 27, 2005

Mmmmm, very yummy chicken. I used breasts as I didn't have any thighs. The yoghurt made the chicken very tender but separated during cooking which gave the saucy a bit of a grainy appearance but it still tasted great! Thanks for a tasty and low-fat meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! February 07, 2003

I love this recipe. Unfortunately by the time I made it my husband was sick of chicken dishes so he couldn't thoroughly enjoy it =( Really yummy though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feathered Fury September 08, 2011

Family liked it a lot! Instead of yogurt I used sour cream and I also used a peach salsa. I think I should have added salt since my salsa was sweet. It was very nice. Thanks! Just updating- added salt, garlic and make it with sour cream and ordinary salsa so also added some cayenne pepper- marinated chicken breasts that I cubed for shish kabobs. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala March 21, 2010

They were tasty. Added salt to the marinade too. Think that next time I may cut up chicken breasts (not a fan of meat on the bone) and let them marinate then cook them on the stove in a skillet. Thanks for sharing the seasoning amounts they're a good jumping off point for future meals!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Amaze-Ing Me September 23, 2008

YUM! We've made this both with skinless/boneless and with whole leg quarters. Really lovely. You can adjust spiciness with both the salsa and the particular curry powder used. Since we are low carbing as well, we are matching this up with Frizzled Cabbage recipe 83524. Huge success!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deborahk December 23, 2007

Excellent! The whole family loved this flavourful and very easy dish. I used 6 smallish bone-in thighs, removed the skin and marinated them overnight. I may experiment with adding more salsa next time but only for the sake of experimenting. This recipe is fantastic as is. Thanks, Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo February 28, 2007

Barb, these were so yummy! We had them on a cozy Sunday night! The house smelled great while I cooked them, and they tasted just as good. These are such a good easy way to get a "curry" fix, without having to do all the work of making curry pastes, and spice mixtures! A couple of notes: if you double the recipe and the chicken is crowded in the pan (like I did), they will need to cook about 1/2 hour more. And, I added about 1 tbsp of sugar to the marinade because I like how it cuts the sort of sourness of the yogurt. I also added about 2 tsp of red pepper flakes (to the doubled recipe), cuz my salsa was only medium. SO, thank you again, this was lovely and I will be passing this on to my friends and family. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A la Carte October 09, 2006
Spicy Chicken Thighs