Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Chicken Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Chicken Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2012

      Delicious soup! It's magic - you just quickly put it together and it's done! Made rice in my rice cooker which is quick and the only changes I made was to substitute rotel chilies and tomatoes for the salsa and I added some garlic powder and ground cumin -- just minor stuff. I'll be eating this all weekend and since DH is gone, there is more for me! Made for ZWT-8-Mexico/US SW.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      I honestly don't think you could ask for an easier recipe! It goes together fast and it cooks fast. I used hot salsa, which I think added a nice kick to the soup. Very flavorful and it makes a lot! Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Our whole family loves this soup. So do our children's friends! Most of us like it better with some hot sauce, but it is a great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Quick, easy, delicious, and made with stuff I always have on hand - what more could you want? I left out the onion (don't care for it) and didn't use any garnish. I used brown rice and this hearty soup was on the table in minutes - thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Congrats on your 2010 Football pool win!!! I made this last night and it was SO easy to put together and the flavor was awesome. I don't usually like very spicy stuff but I really enjoyed this made with the tortilla chips. It was a big hit at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I can't think of one single thing wrong with this recipe! Tasty! Spicy! Warm! Chunky! Healthy! Bayhill, recipes like this give people like me a way to eat at home in a healthy, yet tasty way. V8 is a bit pricey here, so I used one large can of crushed tomatoes instead and left out one can of broth, which was a mistake since the rice soaked up a lot of the liquid. Used homemade salsa. I threw all the ingredients in the crockpot all day on low, then tossed in the rice just before serving...this is one heck of a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      OMG...I just realized that I hadn't rated this recipe yet. I used cooked chicken breasts instead of the pre-cooked chicken strips. This recipe was very easy to put together and had tons of flavor. Made for PAC Fall 2008. Thanks for another terrific recipe, Bayhill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      A most excellent soup. I used regular chicken breast and no cilantro simply because I did not have the pre-seasoned breast or cilantro, although I think the cilantro would give it that authentic Mexican edge. I added a little bit of salt and sprinkled some 4-cheese mexican blend on top. Very very good. A real keeper. Lots of rice in this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Very tasty and so easy to make! I didn't have packaged south western chicken as they don't sell it here but I added baked plain chicken breasts, added about a tsp of tex mex spice and only added about 1.5 cups rice. Next time I'll add less rice as I love lots of broth for my soups. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I make this soup at least once a week and my family loves it! The flavors are so good! I have passed it on to the other soccer mom's in my group.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Super easy, very fast and delicious. Used brown rice and homemade salsa. Didn't have the canned broth so used the cubes. Will definitely make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Aswome flavor. I made it a little differently. I put frozen chicken breasts and uncooked rice with all other ingredients in crock pot cooked on low 8 hours. If anyone does it this way, don't add the rice at the begining of the cook time. Maybe add it 2 hours before the end. Anyway this is great soup. Not overly spicy, but great array of flavors. I used regualr chicken breasts and added a T of taco seasoning. Congrats on your Football Tag streak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Wow this was really good. It smelled so good cooking- the kids couldn't wait to try it. I didn't add the green chilies as I don't like things too hot. We topped ours with cheddar cheese. This was a great, easy to make, hearty soup that I will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I used the chicken taco meat Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat instead of the pre-packed stuff and it was fabulous! I shredded the chicken and let everything come to a boil and then simmered it for about 15-20 minutes. I made my own spanish rice separately and put that in the bottom of the bowl, then the soup and then the garnishes - yu-um!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      This was great! And so simple to make! Hubby even gave it 5 stars and he's not a big soup fan! The only thing I did differently was to use dried cilantro, as I didn't have any fresh on hand; plus I cooked my rice last night which helped on the prep time. But this is a very yummy soup for a chilly night...thanks for posting such a great recipe! And congrats on winning the football pool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Chicken Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.3
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    50%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1009.2 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    southwestern chicken strips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites