15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow brown rice can be good! I got a little confused with the amount of rice but it's 2 cups of cooked brown rice, not 2 cups of brown rice then cook it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trish35 May 04, 2011

There are not enough stars for this recipe! So nutty and delicious! Made as directed using a gourmet aromatic whole grain brown rice. I also added addtional vegetable stock in place of water as it simmered. This is going into my Best of 2010 Cookbook. Thanks, Breezermom! Made for my fellow Unrulies Under the Influence teammate, ZWT6.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees June 27, 2010

This dish is quite good but we felt it could use a bit more flavor as it wasn't as spicy as we were expecting. It was prepared exactly as written. It could be that the fault lay in spices that weren't fresh enough. I'll be trying this again after I buy fresh spices. Made for Best of 2010 Cookbooks Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario February 11, 2011

Thanks for sharing such a fab recipe! It's almost Indian in its taste and super simple. I cooked the brown rice in a wonderful veggie broth (also used veggie broth for the water)--which gave great flavor. I ALSO upped the spices big time--used cumin the most since that's a flavor I love. I actually didn't use any more salt than listed; hubby salted his to his liking but really enjoyed this dish. Perfect--since I'm trying to find vegetarian recipes that we both enjoy. Thanks again--also to the reviewers for their helpful comments!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS December 09, 2010

I made this as a side dish for our meal tonight, and we all enjoyed the mild curry-like flavor. I used dried chickpeas and soaked them overnight before cooking them -- they turn out firmer than canned chickpeas, and the texture went really nice with the rice. I plan on making another batch this week to keep in the fridge -- 30 seconds or so in the microwave and I'll have a quick and tasty snack. I'm going to add more of the spices to mine, but since DH and DS don't like things too spicy, the amount in the recipe was perfect for them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester October 09, 2010

This was very tasty, but I found it to be a tad bit dry. Could be that I over cooked it though. A little ranch dressing and the problem was solved :) Made for ZWT6 Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B June 15, 2010

This is a nice combination of flavors, but as written, I would hardly consider this spicy. I made this as written and used at least 3x more of the listed amounts of cumin, turmeric, parsley and pepper. With the additional amounts, the flavor was superb. Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 14, 2010

I love this recipe and make it regularly with trader joe's instant brown rice. The spices give a fantastic flavor and it's super healthy. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbsbboomers March 28, 2015

This recipe is a keeper. I heated chick peas only today with this recipe's ingredients, sans the rice and extra water of course. I also used cilantro in place of marjoram for a different flavor. I heated all of the ingredients for 15 minutes, uncovered. The chick peas were soft, had a slight orange color because of the turmeric and were delicious. Three cheers for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 October 04, 2012

I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out delicious! Thank you breezermom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EErin February 21, 2012
Spicy Chick-Peas and Rice