Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Chick-Peas and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Chick-Peas and Rice

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2011

      Wow brown rice can be good! I got a little confused with the amount of rice but it's 2 cups of cooked brown rice, not 2 cups of brown rice then cook it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      There are not enough stars for this recipe! So nutty and delicious! Made as directed using a gourmet aromatic whole grain brown rice. I also added addtional vegetable stock in place of water as it simmered. This is going into my Best of 2010 Cookbook. Thanks, Breezermom! Made for my fellow Unrulies Under the Influence teammate, ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This dish is quite good but we felt it could use a bit more flavor as it wasn't as spicy as we were expecting. It was prepared exactly as written. It could be that the fault lay in spices that weren't fresh enough. I'll be trying this again after I buy fresh spices. Made for Best of 2010 Cookbooks Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      Thanks for sharing such a fab recipe! It's almost Indian in its taste and super simple. I cooked the brown rice in a wonderful veggie broth (also used veggie broth for the water)--which gave great flavor. I ALSO upped the spices big time--used cumin the most since that's a flavor I love. I actually didn't use any more salt than listed; hubby salted his to his liking but really enjoyed this dish. Perfect--since I'm trying to find vegetarian recipes that we both enjoy. Thanks again--also to the reviewers for their helpful comments!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      I made this as a side dish for our meal tonight, and we all enjoyed the mild curry-like flavor. I used dried chickpeas and soaked them overnight before cooking them -- they turn out firmer than canned chickpeas, and the texture went really nice with the rice. I plan on making another batch this week to keep in the fridge -- 30 seconds or so in the microwave and I'll have a quick and tasty snack. I'm going to add more of the spices to mine, but since DH and DS don't like things too spicy, the amount in the recipe was perfect for them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This was very tasty, but I found it to be a tad bit dry. Could be that I over cooked it though. A little ranch dressing and the problem was solved :) Made for ZWT6 Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This is a nice combination of flavors, but as written, I would hardly consider this spicy. I made this as written and used at least 3x more of the listed amounts of cumin, turmeric, parsley and pepper. With the additional amounts, the flavor was superb. Thanx for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      This recipe is a keeper. I heated chick peas only today with this recipe's ingredients, sans the rice and extra water of course. I also used cilantro in place of marjoram for a different flavor. I heated all of the ingredients for 15 minutes, uncovered. The chick peas were soft, had a slight orange color because of the turmeric and were delicious. Three cheers for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out delicious! Thank you breezermom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      Very nice dish. Made the following changes: Made 4 servings but use entire can of peas. Added a can of mushrooms and 8 ozs of 97% fat-free canned ham (diced)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      This is really a good dish! I used brown rice; that's my favorite. This dish is full of flavor and I like that I have all of the ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This recipe is so yummy! It has a very nice balance of flavours and goes great with almost everything. :)
      I used a grain mixture of brown and wild rice, barley, oat kernels and buckwheat, which made for a chewy and nutty salad. YUM!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this gem of a healthy recipe with us, breezermom!
      Made and reviewed for Photo Tag December 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

    • on June 22, 2010

      I'm guessing that by spicy it means containing lots of spices, as we didn't find this hot/spicy at all. The good news was DD could eat it just fine. :) Made just as directed & it was done in no time. A very good side dish that we happened to eat as a main dish for a light dinner. Thanks for sharing, breezermom! Made & enjoyed for ZWT-6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Chick-Peas and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.6
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    17%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 426.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites