16 Reviews

This should be named perfect chai! It has a great balance of flavors and a yummy texture. I would say you have to use a strong black tea for the right flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW August 21, 2012

I used 2 c water in the recipe but kept the same measurements for spices. I think I might still increase the cinnamon, ginger and fennel next time. I used 6 bags of tea instead of loose tea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC April 28, 2014

This is wonderful. I love chai but don't like the sugar. I made it up to the point of adding the milk and sugar, let it cool and put it in mason jars in the fridge. Then each morning I would just put half chai, half soy milk in a cup, heat it and then add stevia for the sweetener. Much better than the premade chai! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in California January 17, 2013

I used black tea after reading a previous review, and this was delish! Thanks Rita! I love chai!! **Made for ZWT* 2012**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva August 22, 2012

Now this is a lovely chai. Perfectly spiced, sweetened and a nice ratio of milk/cream. I really enjoyed this tasty drink. I must admit to drinking the whole pot myself....so good. Thank you Rita~ for sharing this recipe. It was quick and easy to make, I loved it and will be enjoying it often. Made exactly as written, used green tea, for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT8 - India.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 19, 2012

Very good. Next time, I think I'm going to use a bit more ginger and simmer the spices longer - it wasn't quite as spicy as I like it, but that didn't stop me from drinking it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 January 27, 2009

This was pretty good chai tea. I skipped the dried licorice root and am glad that I did as the star anise gave it more than enough licorice taste for my liking - in fact I will probably cut it down to one next time instead of the two posted. I used honey instead of sugar but kept everything else the same. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos April 04, 2008

Being a confirmed chai addict, this is my mainstay recipe now! Nice and spicy, just how I love my chai. The only thing I omit is the licorice root and I generally pump up the peppercorns a little. The prep is easy as well and adding the tea just towards the end makes for an awesome cup of chai. Thanks for posting, Rita! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid August 11, 2007

yum! Tastes like the chai I get from my 2 favorite indo/pak restaurants and I agree with another poster....it must have the fennel! I don't think this chai is too strong or too weak. Most coffee - cafes in the USA make it too strong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djunqx January 02, 2007

Perfect. It reminds me of the tea my best girlfriend, Aakshi, makes. In my opinion, Chai must have the fennel!!! So wonderful, thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaccaria February 22, 2006
Spicy Chai Tea