Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Carrot Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Carrot Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2012

      I like this recipe and I didn't even cook it! I had shredded about 7 large carrots with my food processor and need a recipe. I took all the other ingredients and mixed them together and poured it over the uncooked carrots. I did make a few changes to suit my tastes. 1) I used Chiptole Chile powder 2) I only used 1 Tbsp of oil 3) I added 1/3 cup of raisins. I can't wait to try the original version of this! Thanks Mrs.B!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Really good. I subbed fresh ginger and used 1/2 the cinnamon. Added a little cumin and extra lemon juice at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I liked this side, but my husband raved about it. It was easy and different. I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      I did like the sweet & spicy flavor of this salad. I cooked the carrots sliced and left them the tiniest bit crisp. I also reduced the cinnamon based on other reviews. Thank you for sharing your recipe Mrs B. !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      Very easy salad to make and a beautifully coloured dish for your table. Would be great as part of a mezze spread. These carrots have a unique flavour compared to most, almost floral in some ways. I just felt it was a touch unbalanced but nevertheless I would try it again, making a few more adjustments to give this a bit more punch. Maybe reverse the amounts of cinnamon and chili powder or cut down on the cinnamon and add more lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      These are so good. We both liked them very much. They are sweet and spicy at the same time. I did use a little less chili powder as it's not my favorite spice, but it was just enough, I will certainly be making this one again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      My family didn't care much for this recipe. I think that we just like the natural taste of carrots. We may have liked it better without the chili powder. I am not sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Wow! this was great. I really loved this and I don't usually like cooked carrots. We've made this twice in 2 days. LOL. This will be made often and I wouldn't change a thing, except doubling the recipe next time. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      We had so many flavors on our dinner plate...this dish is great! Simple and good!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      This was an awesome blend of flavours. I always find carrots so boring....not this time! We thoroughly enjoyed this dish! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Oh my, this was totally delicious! I reduced the oil considerably, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as written with a 16 ounce bag of baby carrots. Not sure what the soaking did for the carrots, made them moister perhaps? My guess is Toni's short cut would not affect the taste at all. After an hour I drained and reheated with sauce and we ended up eating it a bit warm. I served the 2 of us half the recipe and we both loved it so much that we finished the rest for seconds. Will be making this again. Thank you Caroline!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      I took a few liberties to make the preparation of this dish a bit quicker. First, a bag of baby carrots eliminated the need to do any peeling or cutting. I also added the dressing to the carrots while they were still a bit warm (without returning them to the stove) then let them sit an hour or so to soak up the dressing. Quite differnt from the more traditional cumin dressing - I really like the way the ginger and cinnamon played against the garlic and chili powder. I used Splenda in stead of sugar - but that too helped create the contrast that made this salad so flavorful. My carrots were paired with some leftovers of NurseDi's Morrocan Garlic Chicken and were the highlight of the meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      I altered this slightly because I wanted a hot meal. Using four small carrots, one courgette and a couple of slices of red capsicum, I prepared them the same except for the cooling period. I substituted fresh ginger instead of ground, sweet chilli sauce instead of chilli powder (had no chilli powder) and canola oil as I had no olive oil. When cooked, I just put everything in a bowl and feeling a little decadent, sprinkled a little grated cheese on the finished product. Not bad! The cinamon gives it a lovely aroma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Carrot Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.4
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    53%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 675.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites