Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Black-eyed Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Black-eyed Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2013

      One of my absolute favorites. Hearty - filling, and on a cold Alaska day, nothing reminds me more of the south. I don't alter the recipe - I do include a lot of veggies. Thank you for this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Made this on New Year's Day and it was a big hit. I fried up some bacon and then sauteed medium chunks of the vegies in a little of the bacon grease. Used ham instead of the sausages, a can of rotel and Emeril's Essence (found here on the site) for the cajun spices. Definately a keeper and one I will use again. Thank you for posting. Made for Turning Over a New Leaf...Diabetic Forum 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Made this today in the crockpot while I was out cleaning leaves...I let it cook for a full 10 hours. It smells SOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!! I did cut down on the spices just a bit since I have at least 1 kid that will be eating it....Maybe next time I'll add a few potatoes??? It needs something....but I am LOVING IT!!! Thanks for a great recipe! I'm always looking for new things to try!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Amazing soup! I have had black eyed peas in the cabinet for a long time and wanted to use them. I used Italian spicy sausage because that is what I had in the freezer. I did not plan ahead so I did not soak the beans over night. Instead I boiled the beans for 2 minutes, removed them from heat and let soak in the water for 1 hr, they were ready to go after that and worked just great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      this was very good and very easy to make. the recipe was great, the only problem with the soup was the awful brand of smoked sausage i used. dh and i loved this soup and will definitely make it on a regular basis. thank you for posting this amazing recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Wow, this is great! I don't like BEP's and have to force myself to eat them because I know they're good for me. Made a half batch using canned organic peas (it was all I had) on the stovetop and left out the salt because my Cajun seasoning was Tony Chachere's (very salty). It was perfect!

      This one is going into my favorite soups cookbook. Glad DH has a meeting tonight so I can have the leftovers--YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      This was a really delicious filling soup. Served with cornbread and made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Game. Next time, would leave out the salt as it was plenty salty with the broth and sausage and I didn't even add the full amount. Leftovers delicious for lunch today. Thanks for posting! Definitely recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I've made this several times now - using various kinds of sausage and combo's with ham. My husband and friends have enjoyed this each time I've made it. I've always gone heavy on the veggies - and slightly adjusted (up) the spices. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Fantastic! My whole family love this soup. My 10 yr old daughter wants me to pack it for her lunch tomorrow, high compliments. I used turkey kielbasa and omitted the cayenne pepper and sauce because there are children eating this soup. I added a chopped up fresh jalapeno pepper (removed seeds and membranes), no heat was added. So easy and healthy. I will definitely make this soup again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      I was skeptical that I'd like this, because I WANT to like black-eyed peas, but rarely do. HOWEVER, this recipe was great!! This is so delicious, I can hardly believe it. I cut down on the salt. Also, I cooled this in the 'fridge overnight, then removed the fat next day. This is truly a fantastic soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      My family loved this dish, especially DH who is a BEPea nut :) I used frozen BEPeas with snaps, and the celery, onion and pepper (I added 1/2 finely diced red pepper with the celery) gave a very nice flavor. The cajun spices, bay leaves, and andouille sausage only added to our enjoyment of this rib-sticking meal, served over brown rice. I added Tabasco to the pot, and that gave it a little bit of a bite ~ just right! Thanks SueL for another keeper, made for ZWT5, Bodacious Brickhouse Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Most excellent! I didn't start early enough, so I did this stove top. It cooked up really quickly with BEPs that had been soaking only for the afternoon. It was absolutely delicious. I skipped the cayenne as it was zippy w/the cajun seasoning I used. :) Made for ZWT5 Kitchen Witches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Love this recipe!! I've made this several times over, always with high-fives. The only thing I do differently is use low-sodium chicken stock...seems a little too salty otherwise (could just be the choice of sausage/kielbasa). Highly recommend...A+++++!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      What a wonderful and flavorful soup recipe. I made this exactly as written using smoked sausage and homemade cajun seasoning. This soup had a nice bite to it. I will be making this often. Thanks for sharing a great recipe. Made for ZWT4 African Spice Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This was great! I made it exactly as posted, and didn't need ot make any adjustments. I did use andouille sausage, which I think would make a big difference. I will defintiely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Everyone loved this! It was a big hit and very easy. I used 1-1/2 lb ground turkey with onions, sage, and paprika. Instead of the soup spices, I added paprika and mustard and turmeric. I omitted the garlic. I used mushroom broth. I used bell peppers rather than the carrots. This went well with Colourful Corn (Colorful Corn).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      DH is from the South and really gave this 10 stars. I enjoyed the flavors and even used Kittencal's Method for the Best Homemade Chicken Stock Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option) instead of the canned stuff. Super easy to make and great on a cold day. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      I made this on the stovetop also and served it with cracklin bread. I omitted the cayenne while cooking it since I have smaller children. We just added the cayenne to our bowls of soup. Preparing it this way made it an all around hit with the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      I chose to make this soup stovetop instead of in the crockpot. I brought the mixture to a full boil and then turned down to a low simmer for about an hour and a half. I chose to leave out the salt and used low sodium chicken stock and turkey keilbasa, and the flavor was plenty salty for our taste. The addition of the cajun spices and cayenne gave very nice flavor to this warming and hearty soup. Thank you SueL for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      I love this soup! Any leftovers freeze well and get taken to work for lunch. I use low-fat turkey kielbasa to cut the fat-still super flavorful. Half batches work well in my 1.5 qt crock-pot. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Black-eyed Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.1
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    38%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 34.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 1369.9 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cajun spices

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes