34 Reviews

This was really good - I added some red pepper flakes to increase the heat a little. Because I kept the crockpot on after adding the mangoes, they had time to stew a little, which made the bean mixture a little sweeter and really brought everything together. Next time, I'll add them about an hour before the cooking time is over.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likestocooklovestoeat March 10, 2010

This is a great vegetarian recipe. I followed the recipe, almost exactly. The only thing I did differently was to add two tablespoons of cumin, to make it a bit more spicy, and I added the mango right at the 1 hour mark with the rices. It was the perfect amount of spice to sweet. My three-year-old son ate three servings of this (large servings). Thanks you for a nutritious, delicious meal Dreamer! I must say, I have been enjoying all of your recipes this week! Made for team Tasty Testers for The Caribbean Islands round during ZWT9. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely August 02, 2013

I don't use my slow cooker often enough but this recipe gives me a great reason to use it more! After reading the review I used an extra large onion, quadrupled the cumin and doubled the rest of the spices. I didn't want to cook the rice separately so I used 1 cup of dry brown rice plus 2 extra cups of water from the start. I cooked it for about 3 hours on high heat. By that time the rice was finally getting cooked so I turned it down to low and added one of the mangoes. I cooed on low for another hour and added the second mango right before serving. I love spicy food and this was plenty spicy. I used jarred jalepeno slices that I chopped up instead of a fresh jalepeno. My husband also thought this was a great dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
querian June 24, 2012

This is great, thanks for the recipe! I used serranos, and on the advice of other reviewers I added a can of mild green chilies and a little crushed red pepper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB212 April 02, 2011

Great recipe. I kept the ingredients as written but, due to time, I amended to cook in my electronic pressure cooker. I would also like to try to cook it in the oven one time. I have to agree I found it is was a milder flavours than I was expecting but that was ok cause I was serving it as a side dish to a flavour-filled roasted pork tenderloin. If you want it kicked up abit, either increase the cumin or add 1/2 can of diced green chilies. The combination of the beans, with mango & (brown) rice was fabulous, thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 March 20, 2011

This is fantastic!!! I added a 1/2 cup of medium salsa to the beans while cooking and an additional mango right before serving. My girls absolutely loved it! Next time I make this I want to have it with some cheese quesadillas on the side. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!! Made for veg*n tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam August 10, 2008

Another EXCELLENT FLAVORFUL HEALTHY VEGAN recipe from Dreamer! I'm loving your recipes! I used a white onion, canned minced jalapenos, brown sugar Splenda, and frozen defrosted mangos. I added some red pepper flakes. This was a bit spicy but the flavor comes through. The spice mix was new for us...I think it might be Caribbean? It was a whole meal for us full of fiber and protein. Made for the Please Review game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed September 30, 2007

I had saved this recipe from the last Zaar World Tour and finally made it. I very much enjoyed all the nice flavors. Thanks Dreamer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 18, 2014

Wow! This was really enjoyed for dinner tonight. Loved that we could prep everything, then throw it in the slow cooker and go about our day, leaving only the mangos and rice to prepare later. We used an entire bell pepper. We probably added the allspice about 4 hours into cooking since we had to go get some. After 6 hours, the consistency was starting to get mushy, so we set the crockpot to warm, versus low until we were ready to serve. We would not cook more than 6 hours. This had great flavor. Loved the mango. Addition of red pepper flakes for a little extra kick might also be nice. We all agreed we'd have this again. Thanks! Made for ZWT9,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 04, 2013

This was really good! I made everything on the stovetop and it worked very well. I thought two mangos would be too much so i used one but of course I was wrong, the mangos really make it special. I will definitely make this dish again, thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle April 17, 2012
Spicy Black Beans and Rice With Mangoes (Crock Pot)