12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were awesome! My husband said he would only try one bite, but he ended up finishing off his 1st and went back for a second! I didn't mash my beans though, I thought the texture would be more like ground beef if I left them whole. We have made these a few times and we love them everytime!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DbKnadler November 29, 2007

This recipe is very forgiving. I replaced the eggs with flax to make it vegan, I used red pepper flake instead of jalapeño and I completely forgot to add the onion some how I still got a substance that wasn't too dry to hold a patty shape. I also pulverized the lentils but only gently pulsed the black beans to leave a bit of chunk. They came out quite delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pop P. February 01, 2015

I had leftovers from yesterday,I heated them up and made tacos.They were delicious! I added a tiny bit of salt but with the lettuce,salsa and cheese,they were great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Windella June 27, 2014

These are fantastic! I love that I can pronounce every ingredient--unlike the frozen veggie patties from the store. I have made two batches so far. I freeze them individually and microwave for a quick, healthy lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My3Monkeys February 26, 2013

I can't believe I forgot to review these!! I thought these were very good, much more economical than buying the morningstar farms black bean burgers, and just as tasty!! Thanks so much for posting this. Even my "meat and potatoes" DH liked these. This will be a regular in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heartnurse2006 August 21, 2010

These were okay. My husband liked them more than I did. They were just missing something that I can't put my finger on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audreys September 24, 2008

Wow! These were splendid. I did half a recipe and got 3 burgers. I did use dried beans and lentils, however when I went to mash them with the potato masher I couldn't so I broke out the wand/stick blender (a.k.a. immersion blender) which worked VERY well. These were quite spicy the jalapeno I used ended up providing around 2 1/2 Tbsp of jalapenos. I took the onion, garlic, and jalapeno and whirled them in the mini-food processor until they were as small as it could get them (much smaller than I could cut them). I had a little trouble keeping the patties together :-( but I don't care these were AMAZING! I think I might even serve them as a breakfast sausage alternative with eggs this weekend :-) I used whole wheat buns then put red onion, tomato and mayo on them. I think next time I would use cheddar cheese too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy March 07, 2008

These were absolutely delicious! We used the food processor to mash the beans then hand mixed the rest of the ingredients. I made the burgers a little too big but it didn't matter. They were great! We had a little cheese, ketchup, and spicy mustard with ours, but they would also be good with BBQ sauce. YUM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda February 04, 2008

These were great! Last night I made Black Beans (Cuban Black Beans) and had lots of leftovers, so I cooked some lentils for these burgers. My black beans were a little liquid-y, but I solved that by adding more breadcrumbs. They took some time to cook, but were absolutely delicious. I spread a combo of olive oil and roasted garlic on the roll and we thought these were great! Not spicy though, even with the jalapeno. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev August 11, 2007
Spicy Black Bean and Lentil Burgers