10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good fast meal. It's major value is in the short time it takes to prepare it. flavorful too. Serve with fat free potato chips and a veggie relish plate.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren February 15, 2002

Wow! This was so quick to make that I couldn't believe how delicious it turned out to be. My hubby said he had a couple guys in mind he wanted to invite next time to enjoy this. I sauteed some onion, mushrooms, and jalapenos in butter and put those on top along with some provolone cheese.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS June 17, 2008

Hubby really liked the slightly spicy sauce on this French Dip type sandwich. I think that this might replace my usual quick and easy "French Dip" that I have always prepared with deli meats. I used roasted garlic ciabatta rolls and loved the added flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. March 21, 2008

Love this recipe! Got it off a Cooking Light calendar YEARS ago, and couldn't remember where I'd put the recipe. Thank you for posting it here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer June 12, 2013

I had some thin eye of round steaks and wanted to use this sauce recipe to flavor them for sandwiches. Wow! I simmered the steaks in a large uncovered skillet for 30 minutes til all that was left was a thick glaze over my steaks. I then layered the steaks into sour dough bread and cheese and made panini sandwiches. I also used Miller Lite beer rather than a dark beer. :) Absolutely delish! Thanks Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick May 16, 2008

Yum yum! Like a quick and dirty version of Chicago Italian Beef. Super fast and a great weeknight meal. Served with roasted green beans. Thanks for posting Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucid501 April 01, 2008

I made a half-recipe of this that made 2 large sandwiches. Good dunking sauce ala French dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue September 23, 2007

Made these a couple weeks ago & just realized I never submitted a review (my bad!) DH LOVED these. Quick, easy & spicy. Next time (and there will be a next time) we will add some sauted onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri R August 18, 2006

I was really pleased with how quick this meal was to make and yet it was so full of flavor. I used Killian's Irish Red for the beer which is why the dip is reddish in the photos. The kids found it to be a bit too spicy so I'm going to cut the cayenne down to 1/8 tsp. next time but the adults liked it 'as is'. The flavors blended beautifully...garlic, beer, spices, beef...what's not to love?!?!?! A few of us put some sour cream on ours and we liked that a lot too. Thanks for sharing this tasty 15-minute meal, Derf! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) September 05, 2005
Spicy Bistro Steak Subs