11 Reviews

Good fast meal. It's major value is in the short time it takes to prepare it. flavorful too. Serve with fat free potato chips and a veggie relish plate.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren February 15, 2002

Wow! This was so quick to make that I couldn't believe how delicious it turned out to be. My hubby said he had a couple guys in mind he wanted to invite next time to enjoy this. I sauteed some onion, mushrooms, and jalapenos in butter and put those on top along with some provolone cheese.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS June 17, 2008

Hubby really liked the slightly spicy sauce on this French Dip type sandwich. I think that this might replace my usual quick and easy "French Dip" that I have always prepared with deli meats. I used roasted garlic ciabatta rolls and loved the added flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. March 21, 2008

Really tasty recipe!! I made this for dinner yesterday and they were a flavorful hit! I used 2lbs. thinly sliced, RARE deli roast beef, instead of 1lb. (1lb. leftover London broil and 1lb. seasoned roast beef), 5 fresh garlic cloves instead of 2 (roughly chopped...I LOVE GARLIC), and chose to use the chili sauce instead of ketchup. Once the rare roast beef started to cook and the juices blended with the sauce, the beef turned out so tender and made the sauce very flavorful. However, the next time I make this dish, I will use only 8oz. of beer instead of 12oz. Though my guest liked it (he likes beer...lol), when it was all done, I could taste the beer a little bit (and I don't like beer). As another reviewer suggested, I allowed the sauce to reduce a bit. While the sauce was reducing, I used tongs and placed the beef into a fine mesh handheld strainer held over the pan so that the juices would drain back into the pan. Then I placed the drained beef into a serving bowl and covered to keep warm. Once all the beef was out of the pan, I mashed up the softened garlic in the pan with the sauce and served the sauce on the side. Ooooo weeee, that dipping sauce was soooo guuuudt!! I served on toasted sub buns and topped with caramelized onions, sauteed red & green bell peppers and havarti cheese with a side of Oven Roasted Sweet Potato Wedges (http://www.food.com/recipe/oven-roasted-sweet-potato-wedges-107546). A huge hit and will be making again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Browntrees August 13, 2015

Love this recipe! Got it off a Cooking Light calendar YEARS ago, and couldn't remember where I'd put the recipe. Thank you for posting it here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer June 12, 2013

I had some thin eye of round steaks and wanted to use this sauce recipe to flavor them for sandwiches. Wow! I simmered the steaks in a large uncovered skillet for 30 minutes til all that was left was a thick glaze over my steaks. I then layered the steaks into sour dough bread and cheese and made panini sandwiches. I also used Miller Lite beer rather than a dark beer. :) Absolutely delish! Thanks Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick May 16, 2008

Yum yum! Like a quick and dirty version of Chicago Italian Beef. Super fast and a great weeknight meal. Served with roasted green beans. Thanks for posting Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucid501 April 01, 2008

I made a half-recipe of this that made 2 large sandwiches. Good dunking sauce ala French dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue September 23, 2007

Made these a couple weeks ago & just realized I never submitted a review (my bad!) DH LOVED these. Quick, easy & spicy. Next time (and there will be a next time) we will add some sauted onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri R August 18, 2006
Spicy Bistro Steak Subs