Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries"

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-59 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2008

      Mmm these were so yummy, i love yam fries and never realized how easy they were to make at home! Mine were nice and soft with a bit of crispness around the edges. I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I made these tonight and they were awesome. The only thing I did differently was put the potatoes in a ziploc bag and then add the seasonings and old and shake to cover. I used parchment paper, which made cleanup a breeze! They were not "crunchy crispy," but had a nice texture. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      I really enjoyed the flavor. It was different but good! The fries did not crisp up at all. They got really soggy, then I thought I would try to cook them longer but I burnt the edges (my fault not the recipe). I think next time I will just cook them on the stove as more of a scallop type potato. I really did love the flavor and will make again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Wonderful flavor combination Lori! DH made these for dinner this evening (OK, he cut them in rounds instead of strips) but the flavors were fantastic! Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      My kids devoured these. Very easy, healthy and tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      These were good but next time I will add a bit more of the spices. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      These were great, and I will definitely make them again. I followed another reviewer's advice and sprayed them with cooking spray and put the spices in a bag. The spices and it didn't look like enough, so I doubled it. Next time I won't do that- it was a bit too spicy. My mistake! Great potential here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I have made these several times and absolutely love these. Yum, yum yum! Haven't changed a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      We love these -

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      These had a very nice taste, but the texture was much more like potato wedges, than fries. I will probably make them again - knowing that they don't pack a fry-like crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      These were very good. I will probably double the salt in the future, and I only used 2 t of the oil. This is definitely a yummy/quick way to serve up one of my favorite veggies! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      These were really good. I liked the flavor the cumin added. Nice and spicy but not overly so. Be careful to grease the cookie sheet well if not using parchment paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      These "fries" were simple to prepare and had excellent flavor. Made exactly as directed. Even the Hubby and Grandson who I thought neither would care for these, loved them. A definate keeper!! Thanks for sharing and congrats on the football pool win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I loved these! I have made them a few times now and they are great! very healthy was to get your fries! Thank for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      I enjoyed these very much. My family was not as keen,but that is because they are die hard, glazed sweet potatoe fans. I think these are a nice alternative to regular french fries(aka English "chips"). I used a packet of taco seasoning measured to the same proportions as in the recipe.I think these would also be good with cajun seasonings, curry or some east indian seasonings as an alternative flavor.You are only limited in this recipe by your own ideas and preferences.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

    • on October 10, 2006

      This "fries" are amazing. Even my sweet-potato-hating fiance devoured them. They are especially tasty when dipped in ranch dressing, although that kinda negates the whole low-calorie thing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I am making these fries for the second time per request from family and my neighbors and changing the servings from 4 to 12 since these were such a huge hit last time! As someone who is a calorie-counter, it is so nice to eat fries!!! The cumin is what makes them so tasty! I am sure that I will be making these for a long time to come. Thanks so much Lauralie for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      Loved the spice combination here as it offered a delicious contrast to the natual sweetness of the tuber. I used a chipotle chili powder somine had a little extra kick which matched well with my spicy patty melt. Used just 1 tablespoon of oil to trim the fat just a little. I did have a wee bit of trouble with the baking time. Turned my fries every 5 minutes and at 15 minutes they were still a little bit hard. Cooked another 4 and they were done but still didn't have much browning or crispiness. At than point, I flipped on the broiler which browned the potatoes but still no crisp. Of course, THAT did not stop us from inhaling them as they were so delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries"

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.6
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    45%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites