Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries"

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2010

      Well the rating was from a 2 to 5 but from the diabetic side it won out. Overall enjoyed though I did have to add a little extra oil in the cooking process as I felt it was too dry. For dietary reasons I omitted the onion powder and for taste preferences cut back the cume to 1/2 teaspoon but oveall a good recipe which I will consider making again in the right circumstances (DH on night shift :lol: ). Thank you Lauralie41, made for Went to Market.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      These were good, but didn't really crisp up for me. I left out the chili powder, and added garlic, since my 2 yr old son was eating them too. I will make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      OMG! Outstanding! Made these with spices listed as well as a few others I had in my cabinet and they turned out great! Will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Very nice flavor. I enjoyed the different flavors and the cooking instructions were right on. Cooking them on tin foil really made a difference. I turned them every five minutes as suggested and they did not stick at all, a problem I have had with other sweet potato fries. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I was looking for a different, healthier alternative to french fries to serve with our burgers the other night and gave these a try. Very good! They definitely have a different taste, but we really liked them. I felt like there was just a little something missing but I couldn't put my finger on it. Maybe more salt? I don't know, but I'll definitely be making it again and possibly experimenting a little! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Very good. I used cayenne pepper instead of chili powder and cooked mine for 30 minutes. Made for Ausie Swap #37.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I enjoyed these "fries" however the rest of the family just thought they were okay. I'll make them again because sweet potatoes are so good for you. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I love love love these, I tried the frozen ones and they do not even come close to this, I also added in lots of cayenne pepper and I used seasoned salt and garlic powder, the flavor was so good, thank you for sharing Lori, I will make again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I just made sweet potato fries for the first time, and they came out great!!! Its very exciting. I followed the recipe exactly and they are so yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Definately five stars. I have always loved the combination of sweet potatoes and chili powder. The addition of cumin and onion powder was new and I loved it. I sliced mine really thin on a mandolin and left them in longer than 15 minutes but they still didn't get crispy. I never get mine crispy. But I liked them just the way they were. Made for Veg*n swap

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I used only 1 purple sweetie potato and kept the quantity of spices the same. The potato didn't really crisp up but was delicious none the less. Made for Jammin' Java Jivers ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I loved the spices on these! Not hot, but nicely savory and if someone wants to kick it up, adding 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper should do the trick. I cooked my potatoes just a little longer to give them as much crispiness as they can get (sweet potatoes don't really crisp up the same way other potatoes do), and also thought to keep them cut on the thinner side, like shoestring potatoes. These were enjoyed by all and definitely would make again. Made by a Saucy Senorita for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Quite enjoyable, but not very spicy by our standards (didn't need to reach for a beer). Ours had a soft center, which we enjoyed. So don't be afraid to offer these to kids or to people taking medication, the spiciness won't be an issue. Just be happy that sweet potatoes have a lower glycemic index than white potatoes, and have good cholesterol-fighting fiber. Served with Corona Extra with a wedge of lime. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lauralie! Made for ZWT5 Mexico/Tex-Mex/Southwest U.S. region as "Slice of Lime Babe" of Bodacious Brickhouse Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Really wonderful flavor. I even added a bit of cinnamon because I felt like it lol. :) Anyway, although I set the potatoes about an inch apart on the foil, and my potoates were quite thin, they didn't crisp up much at all. They were tender though and cooked in my oven in about 10 mins (5 on each side). I also peeled my potatoes. I had to cook these in batches because my potatoes were large and I was leaving so much space between each. I think I wanted chips or something. The texture was nice, but I really wanted something a lot crispier. I will make these again, though the next time I feel like softer potatoes. Thank you for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Yum! Easy and great. This is how I'll make my sweet potatoes from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Good but not crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      It is simple and tastes great! The spicy and sweet is very interesting combination! I used purple sweet potato and sliced it thin. I thought they will taste sweet but finally not so and just right! The thinner ones got crispier texture. I don't have onion power on hand and so just skipped it and added more salt and chilli power. THANKS FOR SHARING! I will make in again in party for snack! I guess it must be a crowd pleaser!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      This was awesome! Spicy immediately followed by sweet. I added a bit more spice than the recipe called for, plus some pepper. I'll definately be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This was great and easy. It had a nice flavor, but wasn't spicy. I love the contrast between sweet and spicy. I did peel the potatoes before baking them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Very tasty. They weren't crispy but, then again, I didn't expect them to be. I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the skin. I will definitely make this recipe again but with one change......I will peel the skin next time.We found it to be 'chewy'.....for lack of a better word. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries"

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.6
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    45%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes