Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries"

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2007

      i love these sweet potato fries-- i ate them all the time this summer! i'm the only one in my family who loves sweet potatoes, so i changed the recipe to fit one person: i used 1 large sweet potato, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp chili powder and 1/4 tsp onion powder. for a little less mess i combined the spices in a large ziplock baggie. after cutting the sweet potato into fries i sprayed them with olive-oil flavored cooking spray, placed them in the baggie and shook to coat. then i baked them in a 475 deg oven for 12 minutes on each side-- they turned out delicious every time! thank you thank you thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      First time I tried this I couldnt get the fries to get crispy. So instead of cutting the potatoes like fries I cut them like silver dollars and about 1/4 in thick, put them on a cookie sheet and flipped them once during cooking. Worked out much better. I also vary the spices from time to time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2014

      Made one potato for the two of us and added 1/8 t. cayenne. So good with our soft tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      One word. YUMMO!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Amazing!! So delicious!! I wish I had made more. I am going to experiment and try to decrease/omit the oil to make them a little healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      We loved these sweet potato fries!! The seasonings were subtle, but perfect. I peeled my sweet potatoes as I don't care for them with the peel left on. Also, after reading the reviews of the fries not being crispy, I decided to take the advice of a previous reviewer and dredged half of them in flour before baking them. Honestly, I couldn't tell much difference between the ones with flour and the ones without. I did have to cook them for about 25 minutes to get them to crisp up some. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!
      **Made for Australian/ New Zealand Recipe Swap #73**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Very good! We loved the seasoning on these. I used 1 huge sweet potato for both of us and sprayed instead of olive oil. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Great flavors. We really enjoyed this version of sweet potato fries! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Delicious! I was looking for a new way to have sweet potatoes and this is a real hit. I've made them at least half a dozen times already. I wouldn't change the recipe at all, except I always double it to make enough for me and my husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Noticed others stating these didn't crisp up....mine didn't either in the time stated. But I cut mine a bit thinner and left them in the oven after the timer went off. This helped crisp these up a bit. The seasoning on these were spot on, and I'll make them again. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I really liked the seasoning on this - the savory spicy complimented the sweet perfectly. However, I found them texture to be a bit mushy. I had to cook for longer at a higher heat to get them even a bit browned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      I adore sweet potatoes and this is my final review for ZWT#8~Mexico/Tex-Mex. My work here is now done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      These are wonderful! They were so good. My family gobbled them up in no time. I will make again. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT8 for the Mexico/Tex-Mex region.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Very tasty! We love sweet potatoes without sugar and nuts and marshmallows so had to try- a winner! Put the seasonings and oil into ziplock, dumped the "fries" in, rubbed paste on. Seasonings are perfect- the cumin ... Love it. Enjoyed with ham loaf that had been made earlier then nuked to warm up. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      Oh wow...these are just fantastic!!
      I cut mine thin, and they crisped up wonderfully around the edges while still being soft in the middle. Add the warmth from the spices and you have yourself one scrummy sweet potato dish, that is devilishly hard to resist.
      A gem of a recipe, thanks lauralie.
      Made for AUS/NZ RECIPE SWAP#64.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      These were very tasty. I also cut up some white potatoes and added those to the sweet potatoes. Everyone in our family enjoyed them! Some of the sweet potatoes were slice thinly and crispy and others were in wedges and softer. I think we like the crispy ones the best but both were delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Delicious and addictive...hint: to achieve a crispier more "fry"-like fry, put some flour in a plastic bag and toss to lightly coat after rubbing the fries with olive oil and spices. This keeps them from being too limp when done...to me, the resulting crunch really moved this up a notch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Simply Love it! I made it dozen of times and each time I got complements from my friends and family. I like to slice potatoes into thin round chips this way they get cooked faster and more crisp, but it is very tasty and much softer when I cut them in long wages. Thank you, this is one of my most favorite recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I liked the spices, but I had to add a bit more to get the flavor to come through. Flavor is wonderful, but for some reason mine turned out too soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I used frozen sweet potato fries, and added the seasoning. DH and DD loved them, and I thought they were a nice change from plain fries with salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries"

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.6
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    45%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites