60 Reviews

i love these sweet potato fries-- i ate them all the time this summer! i'm the only one in my family who loves sweet potatoes, so i changed the recipe to fit one person: i used 1 large sweet potato, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp chili powder and 1/4 tsp onion powder. for a little less mess i combined the spices in a large ziplock baggie. after cutting the sweet potato into fries i sprayed them with olive-oil flavored cooking spray, placed them in the baggie and shook to coat. then i baked them in a 475 deg oven for 12 minutes on each side-- they turned out delicious every time! thank you thank you thank you so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dulce_amore September 08, 2007

First time I tried this I couldnt get the fries to get crispy. So instead of cutting the potatoes like fries I cut them like silver dollars and about 1/4 in thick, put them on a cookie sheet and flipped them once during cooking. Worked out much better. I also vary the spices from time to time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blziz February 07, 2014

Made one potato for the two of us and added 1/8 t. cayenne. So good with our soft tacos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 02, 2014

One word. YUMMO!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baldbobby January 21, 2014

Amazing!! So delicious!! I wish I had made more. I am going to experiment and try to decrease/omit the oil to make them a little healthier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb March 02, 2013

We loved these sweet potato fries!! The seasonings were subtle, but perfect. I peeled my sweet potatoes as I don't care for them with the peel left on. Also, after reading the reviews of the fries not being crispy, I decided to take the advice of a previous reviewer and dredged half of them in flour before baking them. Honestly, I couldn't tell much difference between the ones with flour and the ones without. I did have to cook them for about 25 minutes to get them to crisp up some. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!
**Made for Australian/ New Zealand Recipe Swap #73**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill February 27, 2013

Very good! We loved the seasoning on these. I used 1 huge sweet potato for both of us and sprayed instead of olive oil. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty February 13, 2013

Great flavors. We really enjoyed this version of sweet potato fries! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 04, 2013

Delicious! I was looking for a new way to have sweet potatoes and this is a real hit. I've made them at least half a dozen times already. I wouldn't change the recipe at all, except I always double it to make enough for me and my husband.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idrinknyquil December 06, 2012

Noticed others stating these didn't crisp up....mine didn't either in the time stated. But I cut mine a bit thinner and left them in the oven after the timer went off. This helped crisp these up a bit. The seasoning on these were spot on, and I'll make them again. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 27, 2012
Spicy Baked Sweet Potato "fries"