27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for supper and my husband and I were very happy with the way this tasted. Spicy but did not burn our mouths. I also liked it because it was easy and I didn't have to spend all night in the kitchen. Thanks Nurse Di.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bella214 August 28, 2002

I made this for dinner last night and our household was full of smiles! I didn't use the onion or green pepper (my husband doesn't like). I used diced tomatoes with green chilis, extra lean meat, brown rice and fat free cheddar cheese. Added fresh jalapenos, extra hot sauce and tortillas. Thank you so much for this recipe. My husband won't let me forget this one!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamb September 09, 2002

NurseDi...your dish was perfectly spiced, and a great addition to our weekday meal menu! (minus the hot sauce that is) Thankyou!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*~Suzy~* August 12, 2002

Our family loves this recipe! It's simple and tasty. It makes an abundant amount for our family. My husband likes to take the leftovers with tortillas to lunch. Thanks for the post!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saracho December 08, 2009

Good easy dish. Simple to make and the possibilities are endless. I added black olives and used hot & Spicy V8 instead of tomato juice. I also added a can of black beans per previous reviewers suggestions. Tasty and not too spicy. Very filling for a quick weeknight meal. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 24, 2008

Made as written except we didn't have green peppers. We ate every bite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 February 08, 2011

We loved this dish! It had the perfect amount of heat in my opinion (and I followed the directions as stated). Served this as a side to carne asada for Cinco de Mayo. It was easy to prepare and everyone loved it. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny May 06, 2008

We enjoyed this, I did, however leave out the chili powder & the hot sauce as I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis & from experience I knew the combo would be way to spicy for my hubby. I used one yellow pepper as that is what I had on hand. We will have this again, it was very good!. Thanks nurse di

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammiCat March 26, 2008

This was good. That said, I did mess it up a bit. I doubled the meat but forgot to double the rest of the recipe! It was still very dominantly rice but the flavour balance was off. I can't get the good flavoured tomatoes here so I had to settle for normal stewed tomatoes instead. I didn't top it with cheese as we were using it as a sort of taco meat thing. I served it with sour cream, lettuce, shredded cheese and corn chips. I made mine into a layered taco salad. DS1 mixed all his stuff together and got a "salad-goop" as he called it. My fiance used his as a dip for his corn chips. And DS2 just ate the rice as is and then melted the cheese on top of his corn chips. lol It worked for all of us. This will be a regular feature in my house. Next time, I will probably triple the spices to make up for the plain tomatoes. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn May 25, 2007

Yummy, though a bit too spicy for us. Used a can of tomatoes that had chilies not jalapenos. With a generous helping of extra cheese on my serving it seemed to make it a bit more milder and tolerable for myself, but not the kids. I will make this again, but tweak it a bit "hotness" wise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikbern525 February 27, 2007
Spicy Baked Rice