68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My boyfriend *loved* this! I added a little Minced Garlic, a dash of Tabasco and a tiny bit of Whiskey to the mix when I made it. Also, it completely slipped my mind to brown the pork chops first but I found it wasn't necessary- the pork chops still got cooked through and tender! Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamAtomic July 15, 2010

This was delicious and so easy! Even my kids loved it. The only changes I made were minor. I didn't have any green pepper so I left it out. I used apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar. I also put some sliced apple on top since I love the flavor apple gives to pork. Since I missed the "cut-off" time for my crock pot, I made it in my dutch oven and baked it at 300 degrees for 3 hours. I did have to add a little water at one point, but these chops turned out so yummy and juicy. This is a keeper in our house! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angeline April 01, 2010

I don't know what it is, but this recipe just turned out horribly for us. I followed the recipe pretty closely (omitted green onions because I didn't have any, and added some chili peppers to spice it up), and set it on Low for 8 hours. Got home from work, was excited to try it out... and was so disappointed because the meat was tough and dry, and the sauce had absolutely no flavor. Sorry, this one just didn't do it for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kona K October 30, 2009

Thank you Missy! I only got three chops in a package so I reduced the recipe a little, then forgot to pick up the tomato sauce, so I put a little ragu in, I had both red and green peppers, also needed to use up a package of button mushrooms before they went bad, so I pulled the stems off and threw them in. Let me tell you, after smelling this cooking all day, at eight hours, I pulled them out and they were ultra tender, nuked the steamed rice in a bag. I cut the chops into bitesize pieces, and served it up over the rice, garnished with a sprig of rosemary. This tasted so much better than it smelled or looked, and the smells were fantastic and the presentation was beautiful. And cut in pieces made enough leftovers for another meal. This is a great tasting meal - would be great with a crusty french bread or mash potatoes - very tasty, thanks again! Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita October 11, 2009

This turned out great. My hubby said that it tasted a lot like swiss steak. The chops were tender and full of flavor. Served with mash potatoes and cauliflour. Thanks for the dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quick meal October 06, 2009

This turned out pretty good. I doubled the sauce per reviews. With doubling the sauce, I decreased the brown sugar from 6-8 T to 5T, 3t worcestershire and a good shake of salt. I did add the apple and I highly recommend it. If you are a saucy person, double the sauce. Pork Chops- I tend to dry out pork chops so I was a little worried. My chops were thick like the photo. I cooked on low for 6.5 hours but checked on them at after 4.5 hours. They came out very tender. I did brown the chops but I do not hink you need to do this. P.S. This was more sweet than spicy. If you want zing, you need to add it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz September 29, 2009

I used the rest of a jar of pizza sauce I had open instead of the tomato sauce. I used some red peppers too, but other than that I followed the recipe and served it over rice. It turned out to be a yummy dinner, but I didn't rate it highly because I will likely keep searching for a better recipe. I think pork chops are just not my favorite... all those bones and fat.... Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Drop July 20, 2009

The chops are very tender and the sauce is delicious. Since sauce in a crock pot is often very thin, it's great to put the pork chops on the plate and cut up a little and pour the sauce over the pork chops. This way, the sauce is throughout the chops and gives them wonderful flavor. I served it over rice as suggested. Loves the sweetness from the brown sugar, but I did not think these are spicy! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 03, 2009

This has become a staple in our house. You can definitley "fix it and forget it."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clovis Ann February 21, 2009

This is now how we fix chops at my house. They come out moist with a good flavor, and it's so easy! I'm not a big fan of pork chops - they always seem too dry if cooked other ways - but they're good this way. I served over rice with fried apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyoSal November 07, 2008
Spicy and Tender Crock Pot Pork Chops