68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This does, as Mellisa says, produce tebder chops. I made 5 chops. I liked the sound of the apples but instead of cooking them separately I peeled, cored and quartered 2 medioum apples and put them in with the chops-excellent. I mixed all the sauce ingredients before pouring over the chops. I was a bit short on the green pepper so I decided to add a bit more heat and added a small tin (apprx 2 oz) of sliced jalapeno peppers. Loved the end result.Served with mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli steamed carrots I froze the remaining 4 chops with some sauce and after freezing them individually I vaccum sealed them in bags, again individually. Thanks Mellisa for a great recipe that I will be enjoying several times over

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy November 07, 2003

I had 5 center-cut pork chops and made this exactly as posted. These are more sweet than spicy, with a barbecue sauce flavor. Next time, I might add some tabasco or cayenne to actually make it spicy! Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 18, 2012

I had to fend off the family and guard the crockpot to keep them from opening it up and trying to sneak a taste. The pork chops were tender and the juices from the pot were terrific poured over steamed rice. This is a definite keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wenstar November 16, 2003

I used very thick chops, and really liked the flavor of the sauce. I think next time I'll cut the chops into smaller pieces so the sauce penetrates a little better into the meat. The only change I made was using some red bell pepper and some chopped jalapeno in place of the green pepper, just because that's what I had. I'll leave more jalapeno seeds in next time to give it more of a 'kick'. Thanks for a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynine July 21, 2008

This was not for us.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JamminJulie January 24, 2015

Like Bergy, I added the apples (peeled, cored, chopped) to the pork chops while they cooked. I omitted the hot peppers, but did add a bit of chilli powder to the sauce - just to taste. WOW! We love it over rice or with mashed potatoes or wild rice and veggies (green beans, fresh cooked cabbage, carrots, broccoli, etc.). Even the small fries in the family asked for seconds! The receipt also works very well in the "Miracle Cooker" or other fast/pressure cooker systems. Mmmm, Mmmm good! Thanks, Missy. PS I've substituted cheaper cuts of pork and it works with equally great results - so, if you find a sale or are trying to save a few dollars with the price of meat these days...just avoid the thin cuts, as they tend to dry out and not be as juicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psychoactive November 12, 2014

Nice flavor easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. September 15, 2012

After reading the reviews i was quite confused. I double checked I put all the ingredients in but it just seems so tastless. I'v never really made pork chops in the crock pot so I thought I would give it a try. Im truly not impressed and feel like it was a waste of $10 of meat. I feel like there are many better recipies that I could have made the chops with. I tried adding apple butter but did not help much with the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Ellis October 09, 2011

The pork chops were outstanding. Very tender, great flavor. My 12 year old daughter loved them. The sauce worked very well on steamed rice. Leftovers were just as good. Simple prep. Highly recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefoot trader September 17, 2011

These were RIDICULOUS! so yummy and even better the next day. I had some homemade apple butter and I placed a few teaspoons on top while cooking. I highly reccommend this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman February 21, 2011
Spicy and Tender Crock Pot Pork Chops