Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy African Yam Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy African Yam Stew

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2012

      So good and such a wonderful comfort food. Loved all the ingredients and the delicious flavors. You really don't need to add anything except some delicious bread to soak up the liquid. Thank you so much for the great recipe -- we will definitely have this dish again! Made for the African Recipe Tag, March, 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This recipe is really yummy! All I did different was add a bit of flour to thicken it up a little and add carrots. This is a definite keeper for my family! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      I have a similar recipe, so I almost didn't bother with this one, but am I glad I did! This was terrific; great blend of flavors and textures. I used jarred jalepenos and subbed couscous for rice, since I had some leftover in the fridge. Also, I used chunky peanut butter. Yum! Thanks, Katie! (This was Yupper-duper good!)
      PS I made a double batch for a group of Lutheran pastors today. Used all the original ingredients, and everyone raved about it and/or requested the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Wonderful recipe. I agree it's a little closer to soup than stew, but it still tastes wonderful and is full of colourful, tasty veggies. I was a little unsure about adding the peanut butter, but it really does make the flavour. I will certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Perfect balance of sweet and spicy, the assortment of veggies is terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I just knew that we would love this stew!!! Easy to put together and full of flavour. I did have to make a couple of wee changes. Instead of the jalapeno...I used hot chili flakes. And for the garbanzos...I used some leftover lentils and rice that I had made. Thank you for sharing. Made for African Recipe Fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      My family really enjoyed this. It has a wonderful flavor that is surprisingly yummy! I used 1 jalapeno and it was just the right amount of heat for my family. Also, I used chunky peanut butter because that is what I had and it worked perfectly. I'm glad I chose to make this for the Zaar World Tour. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Surprisingly good. I made it with leftover Channa Dahl(similar to garbanzos) and rice. Agree that the peanut butter made the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      I decided to try this recipe because I had most of the ingredients already. What a wonderful surprise! Very tasty and easy to prepare. Perfect for a cold fall night. I used chicken stock instead of veggie, and red pepper flakes instead of jalepenos. I was debating not adding the peanut butter, but it absolutely made all the difference. Consistency was a little closer to soup than stew, so I might add less stock next time. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy African Yam Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.4
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    22%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 389.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites