Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy African Peanut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy African Peanut Soup

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2008

      Super yummy! We didn't have any fresh ginger or garlic, so we used powdered equivalents, and we omitted the yellow peppers, and substituted fresh cilantro for green onions. It was just spicy enough to have the right flavor, and the whole family loved it. We'll be repeating this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Great soup! I used less cayenne, and followed other reviewers and halved the oil and peanut butter to make this lower fat, and skipped the sugar and green onions (topped it with cilantro instead). The sweet potatoes were indeed done after 10 minutes. We like our soups chunky, so I did not puree it. Served 3 to 4 as an entree. This had great flavors that went well together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      I thought I may end up making some adjustments since I like things spicy, but found that the flavor was so perfect that I didn't want to change it at all. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This is now one of my favorite soups. I just started to get a cold, so my DH made this soup for me. It made me feel better right away. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      This is a terrific soup. I have a sore throat, and this was just the thing to soothe it. I love the spiciness of the cayenne combined with the buttery smoothness of the peanut butter. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Excellent recipe! I prepared it just as described minus the oil and concluded this is one of the best soups I've ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      my sister is a very picky eater, and she loves this soup. we grew up with pureed soups so the finer the better for us, although i use chuncky pb, so there are some peanuts in it. i had to replace the sweet potato for mother, with a reg one, it would be too sweet for her, with it. oh and i made it truely african with berberi, intead uf cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

    • on December 13, 2005

      I enjoyed this but it was too rich for my husband and too spicy for my children. However, the next day I mixed it with cooked rice, and it complemented it perfectly--like a curry soup. The only changes I made were using a hand blender and tomato sauce instead of juice. If I make this again, I'll leave it more chunky, maybe add chicken, reduce the cayenne, and definitely serve it over rice. But the yam-potato-peanut butter combo is not for everyone, so I wouldn't recommend this for less adventurous palates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      This soup was awesome. The mix of flavors was amazing. First you get the peanut butter, then you get the mixed vegetables, followed by the spice. Excellent soup. I didn't have peppers so I used 2tbs garlic & red chili paste and it worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      Different and Wonderful! I sent some left overs home with some friends and family and asked them to evaluate the taste. Every one told me it was an A+. I agree. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      What a great soup! Hearty, very tasty and filling, this was an ace lunch and I'll enjoy having this for the rest of the week. I did leave out the capsicum as I'm not a fan and halved the sugar but apart from that followed the recipe to the letter, and the other reviewers are quite right - this is a beautiful and unique soup. Thank you very much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      This tasted pretty good.. very interesting taste, although it was a bit difficult to get picky eaters to try it because of how it looks. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Great tasting soup ... my partner is from Ghana so it was nice to be able to surprise him by making him something from his home - Africa :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      Perfect soup and incredibly easy to make. I had no fresh chili peppers and dislike cayenne, so used two dried chili peppers during the simmering phase. I removed them before pureeing with my immersion blender, and the heat & flavor they added was excellent. I also simmered the vegetables for 30 minutes to make them easier to puree. This soup is one I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      Now I can say for the first time that I tried a recipe that I wanted to give a higher mark than 5 stars allowed. This was OUTSTANDING! I used to have a favorite soup but this peanut soup may have just supplanted it. I made this slightly lower in fat by reducing the oil and peanut butter by half and decided to use 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne. I forgot to buy the green onions and after tasting I thought the sugar was unnecessary too. BTW, I used chunky peanut butter and removed veggies with slotted spoon before pureeing so there were little bits of peanut left in the soup. Wow, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      WOW!!! Excellent dish. Lots of flavor with just the right amount of heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      This was so easy and soooo delicious! I substituted some of the vegetables with what I had on hand, and used paprika with a dash of cayenne instead of fresh chilies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      I LOVE this recipe on cold days! A local restaurant makes this soup and I just loved it, so I started looking for the recipe and this is it!! I omit the green onion and garnish with chopped peanuts, and always serve with warm foccia or chibatta bread. It makes a great dipping soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      OMG - I am SOOO happy to have found this recipe!! I made this today in hopes of duplicating a soup served periodically at a local restaurant near my work. Last time I went there and they were serving this soup I bought 3 quarts worth and brought it home to freeze! Now I can make it myself. :) Thank you Sackville Girl! It sounds like a lot of work - and honestly, without my Pampered Chef food chopper, I'm not sure I'd even want to attempt all the chopping by hand. But, if you're up for it, you WILL NOT be let down! I omitted the green onion and sprinkled with dry roasted peanuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy African Peanut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.5
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    55%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 356.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes