Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy African Peanut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy African Peanut Soup

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2002

      Delicious! I wasn't sure about the peanut flavor with soup, but it works surprisingly well. I altered a few things to what I had on hand (used less bell pepper, and honey roast peanut butter - omitting sugar.) I'm the only soup & vegie lover in my house, but I'm sure I'll finish off this pot of soup all by myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      I made this as a trial for work on Monday. It is so good I can't believe it. Easy, fast, tasty and beautiful to look at, just what I wanted for my dinner next week (and I'm so glad that we got to eat the trial run!) I used a reduced-fat PB, added a tablespoon of lemon juice, and garnished the soup with cilantro. Thanks Friedel for a great recipe-now I must try your other soup (Garlic, Chick-pea and Spinach) I have in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I made this recipe last night, and it is truly amazing. It upstaged everything else I served at dinner. I followed the recipe mostly to the letter, though I did saute the vegetables a bit longer, and also simmered them in the water a bit longer. I used a red bell pepper instead of yellow, because yellow are a lot more expensive, and I used a can of sweet potatoes so I wouldn't have to peel and cut a fresh potato. It all turned out wonderfully. This is my new favorite soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      This made a lovely dinner on a rainy night. I cooked in the slow cooker and also added 1T lemon and some coriander as Jan advised.Thanks for a nice dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      What a fun soup! I saw the ingredients and just had to see for myself how they all worked together. After putting it together and allowing it to simmer 30 minutes, I was hooked. I love the richness, the just-right peanut flavor, and the slight spice afterglow. I used my immersion blender and left it a little chunky. Thanks for sharing this outstanding recipe, Sackville Girl. I can't wait to have a dinner party now! One side note, I'm a quick and careless cook and I found the recipe hard to follow as I had to jump around in the list of ingredients. As a result I cooked the green onion with the soup and almost missed the garlic completely. (That would have been a shame!!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      Fabulous soup. I have made this soup several times and each time have had to pass your recipe on! Just plain YUMMY Ms. Belltree

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2003

      We LOVED this soup.....it was delicious and our guests were amazed at my cooking abilities. This recipe is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This soup is Great. Ever since I saw a TV program about the Soup Nazi's (New York City) Peanut soup being one of his best sellers, I've lusted after what I imagined it tastes like. This MUST be it! If this is not same recipe I would be surprised. I made mine quite spicy. I found Portuguese "hot paprika" to have a full earthy taste with just enough spice-heat so you could use lots. This seemed to add another dimension in the right direction, which I liked very much. 5 exclamation marks for this one !!!!! Lyman Toronto Canada

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Delicious. Different. I would make this again! I did make some changes; halved the cayenne (DD not keen on spicy), and used a red pepper. Still very flavorful w/o too much heat. Great for a quick winter meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      Wow. Just wow, This soup is outstanding! I did add 3/4 cup PB, only because I love it so much. I had a bowl of it tonight with a piece of naan. So easy and pretty quick to prepare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Really, really excellent soup!!! I doubled the recipe and used garnet yams instead of sweet potato and diced tomatoes instead of juice. I also added about two tablespoons of ground cumin and omitted the sugar. The yams made it plenty sweet and I prefer the savory side of peanut butter (I used all natural, and not the sweetened Skippy/Jif varieties). Instead of serving with green onions I chopped up some roasted peanuts and threw those on top. Eats well with rice. Vegan, lots of protein, peanut buttery..... just about perfect in my world! Could be spicier (Used two red jalapenos, and will add cayenne for more heat). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I'm really not a big fan of soup, but we decided to try something new and serve this alongside "African Style Broccoli" with "North African Peanut Butter Candy" for dessert. They all worked really well together; the soup spicy-sweet, the broccoli creamy-sour, with the sweet coconut dessert. I didn't absolutely love any of the recipes but it is a meal I'd make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      This is very different from any soup I have made previously, but I enjoy the flavor very much. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      This recipe was easy to follow and the results were very good. Eaten by the spoonful, the flavours were a lovely combination and the texture was pleasantly smooth; eaten by the bowlful, this soup was too rich and sweet for me. I won't make this recipe again - but that reflects my personal taste preferences, rather than any problems with the recipe. My dinner companions all enjoyed it, and I would recommend this recipe for anyone who like rich and creamy soups. I served this with hot sauce at the table, finding that others were satisfied with the heat while I preferred my portion to be a little spicier. Thanks Sackville!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      My grandmother gave me a very similar version of this delicious recipe. I used peanut oil to sautee the veggies, omitted the sugar, and added a teaspoon of ground cloves. I also used 4 cups of veg broth since that's what my recipe called for, but next time I'll try it with the tomato juice. This is an outstanding dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Very good soup! I made a few changes to use what I had and to serve two - 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 in piece of ginger, 1 serrano pepper, 3/4 of an onion, a big handful of shredded carrots, half a red bell pepper, the cream sweet potato not orange yam, 2 cups stock, 1.5 cup water, 1 blanched and pureed tomato and about 1/3 cup chunky PB. I pureed about 3/4th of the soup. I also used a tiny dash of aromatic spices - cardamom, cloves, cinnamon and simmered on low for about 15 -20 min. The taste was unique and very good. We ate it with garlic bread. Thanks Sackville!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Delicious! I cooked this last night for a few friends, and it was a hit! I have more pictures online at www.hiccupgirl.blogspot.com.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      it tastes quick great, I doubled the recipe so it made enough for my dinner party! I think that it takes more than 10 minute in prep time for sure, having to chop everything (unless you have a food processor and than of course it takes way less time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This was awesome! I used green instead of yellow pepper because that was all I had. We both loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      love this soup, this is the 2nd year that I have made it for Thanksgiving. It is the perfect color for the holiday and a wonderful suprise for the palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy African Peanut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.5
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    55%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 356.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes