Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy African Chicken Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy African Chicken Stew

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2013

      Tasty. I made this for the two of us and used one tiny chicken breast (1/3 #) so the dish would be less meat centric, but kept the other portions pretty much the same, and it worked well. I also used less salt and made it far less spicy in the pepper/red pepper/curry department (I make my own Madras Curry Powder, so it is really hot). The cilantro garnish really adds something to this, I wouldn't skip it. Really good flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Sorry but this wasn't really our taste. We didn't like it at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This was definitely different, but in a pleasant way. However, I was surprised that, with the generous amount of spices and the peanut butter, it was not as bursting with flavor as I had expected. Next time, I think I will punch it up a bit more. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Sounds GREAT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      I also got this recipe from another site, and couldn't remember where. Thanks for posting it on Recipezaar. Now I can put it in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      My family enjoyed this stew. It was simple to prepare. Made as directed, with the exception of the garbanzo beans, as no one in my house likes them. We really didn't taste the peanut butter in the stew, but it added a nice protein rich thickness. I served this on a bed of hot jasmine rice. Will more than likely make again at some point.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      I thought this was a very flavorful stew, as you mentioned. My young ones enjoyed it as well - the peanut butter adds a unique taste. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      I followed the directions exactly.This was very good - it didn't blow me away - but it was definitely worth trying. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy African Chicken Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (456 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 664.4
     
    Calories from Fat 338
    50%
    Total Fat 37.6 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 170.1 mg
    56%
    Sodium 790.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 47.7 g
    95%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    unsalted natural-style peanut butter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes