6 Reviews

This recipe makes for a very strongly spiced chai tea just like the commercially available ones. It is very yummy, but for me needs some milk to tone down the heat a bit. Definitely a keeper and something I will make again and again. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your recipe with us, Annacia! Made and reviewed for When it's hot, when it's not in the Diabetic Forum July 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 08, 2010

A very nice spiced chai! The peppercorns really came through, and loved the vanilla too! Thanks! Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 21, 2010

Just the way I like it - SPICY! I used fresh ginger, sliced thinly then mashed. I also bashed the cardamom & cinnamon. I scrunched up the cloves & peppercorns with my mortar & pestle & added the whole, split vanilla bean. :) I used my Kenyan black tea & didn't strain. The honey was perfect. I prefer my chai with a splash of 1/2 & 1/2. Absolutely delicious! Made for Veggie Swap 1/13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo January 29, 2013

A very pleasant, spicy chai recipe. I removed the tea bag but didn't strain it because I like my tea a little strong. And I thought it made for a wonderful chai. I was a bit skeptical of the pepper, but it gave a touch of heat that I've never seen in other chai recipes, not any that I've tried anyway. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Annacia. Made for "Please Review My Recipe" tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal December 13, 2011

This is a nice spicy chai. I used Lipton yellow Label tea bags which I think are stronger so I removed it before the end of simmering per preference. I also smashed the required amount of ginger a little with the other spices using pestle and mortar rather than grating it at all as I find it to make tea very strong when grated. I added halal vanilla paste which has vanilla bean flecks in it, after sweetening ours with honey. I then added a splash of homemade almond milk to each mug to keep it dairy free. I would make this chai again. Made for Veggie Swap 31 ~ February 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 12, 2011

Annacia, hands down my favorite tea on the site. I loved it. I did serve it hot and iced. I preferred the iced version, it allowed all the flavors to shine thru. The honey was perfect in this drink. Made exactly as written, wouldn't change a thing my friend. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely recipe. I have another batch sitting in the fridge waiting for tomorrow. Cheers :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato July 13, 2010
Spiced Vanilla Chai