Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Sugar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Sugar

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2010

      Wow, this combination is fantastic! I love ground nutmeg and I haven't had much experience using ground cloves but mmm the scent is wonderful and adding those 2 spices along with the cinnamon is just great! I did make one small change to the recipe, nothing major. As I was scooping the white sugar I thought these spices would be awesome with brown sugar so I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 3/4 cup of white sugar. I used this on my sago porridge this morning for breakfast. Wow! Loved it! Will definitely be using this recipe often. Thanks for sharing with us. Made for Sweet Traditions Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      What a wonderful blend. I chose this recipe to top our morning cereals...steel cut oats, grits, cream of rice, puffed rice and puffed wheat. (I only allow my kids to chose a sugary cereal the week of their birthday). However, I sprinkled it lightly on an almond bar batter (Almond Bars by NorthwestGal) before baking. It added such a nice flavor without being too sweet. Thanks for posting this recipe. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      I really enjoyed this on my toast--so much better than plain cinnamon sugar! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      I made Starry's Spiced Sugar #297272 this morning, to top Bea's Hawaiian Banana Bread (Bea's Banana Bread) with. This delicious stuff reminds me of when we were kids, and at my aunt's house, we would have toast with peanut butter, honey, and cinnamon sugar on it for breakfast. Mmmm... I think I'll have that tomorrow! Delicious! Made for Veggie Swap 25, for our VIP Chef, Starrynews!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      A great sugar mix to have in the cupboard..I used it for porridge and also sprinkled on some muffins I made the other day, gives a nice hint of something special.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      A delightful combination of sugar and spice! This is a lovely alternative to the standard cinnamon and sugar combo that my family has been using on our French toast forever. Thanks for sharing, Starrynews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      Wow! I sprinkled this on toast and it was a perfect combo of ingredients. I plan on trying it on a sliced banana in milk. Made for Veg n Swap tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      WOW! How can something so simple taste sooo Good! I sprinkled this on my well buttered toast today, and savored every bite! I have always been a fan of cinnamon toast....BUT...this gives it a complete other dimension. I call this true 'comfort food'. To me 'comfort food' is either something from your childhood which gave joy and serenity to you OR it is something that is so good you want to make the eating as slow as possible so you can truly savor or enjoy every single bite you have allowed yourself to have. The only downside to eating 'comfort food' is that it is rarely low calories! Oh well! We need to be good to ourselves once in a while! Made for PAC Spring 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      ~Tasty Dish~ and I enjoyed this spiced sugar mixture on toast today served with strawberries and plain yogurt for our daily 'elevenses'. I used whole spices: cinnamon stick, cloves and freshly grated nutmeg, grinding to a powder in a spice mill. Countless uses for this spice mix, too! Reviewed for Adopt a Veg Tag. Fyi:You'll notice in the pictures I took that the there are some larger pieces of the spices that didn't grind as well as the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Perfect combination! I couldn't find ground cloves but at the end of the whole cloves there were many smashed teeny pieces. Using it in my oatmeal right now and it's going on my christmas gifts list too.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      The uses for this yummy sugar mix are endless. Have already tried it in hot cocoa and oatmeal. Purchased some small jars and will be adding this to a gift basket. The ratio of spice to sugar is perfect. Have also made using Splenda for Baking in place of sugar and that also worked out very well. Thanks so much for such a yummy post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This has so much more flavour than my usual cinnamon sugar which has been just that- cinnamon and sugar. I love the addition of the nutmeg especially. This will brighten up my porridge so much this winter- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I made this to put on French toast with butter this morning and it was a hit! It really fancied up my normal French toast. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      I tried it with Splenda and used a little bit less of nutmeg cause it's not my favorite taste. It's really good. Thanks Starrynews :) Made for Holiday tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Just how I like it...a little bit of sugar with a whole lot of spice. Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Starry - I absolutely love this sugar blend. I have used it on toast, cinnamon toast, bagels, french toast and on top of my oatmeal. It has great flavors and I can see using it for many things - like topping muffins and coffee cakes when you don't want a heavy coating! Made for a tag in Potluck Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Starry, this is a wonderful quick and easy recipe for spiced sugar with REALLY GREAT TASTE! The combination of spices is just perfect. They blend so nicely and make for a very versatile mix I plan on using in so many baked things-like pies, muffins, scones, crisps, etc. :) You can sprinkle it on top or incorporate it into the batter and both would work just fine, Im sure. No more store-bought sugar mixes for me, this is the one to go to not only for holiday baking. Thanks so much for sharing this winner with us! I will post a pic as soon as I have made my first batch of sugar sprinkled things with this. Made and reviewed for Everyday is a Holiday Tag Game May 09 and as a thanks to my PAC mommy. Update: I have now used this sugar in some baking recipes with excellent results. I sprinkled some on top of smellyvegetarian's Whole Grain Blueberry-Ful Muffins and also subbed it for the sugar in this recipe Sumner's Favorite Healthy Rhubarb Scones. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I made Spiced Splenda and put a sample in my coffee. Yummm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      What a great twist to your taditional "cinnamon and sugar". I was sick yesterday and had this on a bagel with a little butter. It was so good, that's all I ate that day! I think I ate like 4 bagels! I feel much better today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      So good on nice crispy toast! Thanks for posting! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Sugar

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 820.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    68%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 213.4 g
    71%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 200.2 g
    801%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites