Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Roasted Chickpeas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Roasted Chickpeas

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2010

      I had made spiced roasted chickpeas before, but didn't save the recipe, which I loved. I thought this might have been it, but it most definitely is not. The spice mixture did next to nothing to flavor the beans, perhaps because much of it fell off during the roasting process which, after an hour and 20 minutes, hadn't crisped the beans. I was really disappointed with this recipe and I'll keep searching for the fabulous one I used before. I think the key is to use a bit more oil, so the spices stick to the beans and the beans faux fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      made these tonight with all ingredients the only thing i didnt do was cook the spices in the frypan i just added everything into a bowl with my drained chickpeas and popped them in the oven on a lined tray and let them babies cook at 180 for an hour, half way through i moved them about so they could get crunchy all over, after they cooked and cooled i munched into them, i couldnt really taste the spices so next time i might make this by just cooking the chickpeas then mix in the spices and oil - other then that the taste of the roasted chickpeas are great for me to keep coming back

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Hello Mischka, these are really HOT! ;) However, they are also a great ice breaker at any party. We had a cocktail party for some Drs and we served them ~ need I say they got a reaction, which is what one longs for. After the first taste they are really good! Some of the guests, who don't like spice, tried them and liked them. The great thing is that they are baked and not fried. Thank you for posting, Manami :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      These are a really quick, simple snack to make and very tasty. I used well drained and patted dry canned chickpeas. I cooked them at 160c in our fan-forced toaster oven for one hour. They were good with a grinding of salt over them to finish them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I'm not going to rate these as I only realised at the last minute that I was out almost out of 2 of the 4 spices so I used what I had but there wasn't nearly enough flavour so I aim to make these again soon and amend my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This was only my second time making chickpeas. I followed the recipe as written. I used canned chickpeas as that is all I had. Nice, different snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Using 2 x 400 grams of chickpeas I got 2 1/2 cup and scaled the recipe accordingly. The quantity fitted a 9 x 13 pan in a single layer perfectly. The frying of the spices made them into a paste and took a bit of mixing to coat the chickpeas evenly and some ended up wrapped in little blobs of spice. Baked at 170 C in a fan forced oven, checking after 45 minutes and were perfect after another 15 minutes, though there was some shrinkage. Once cooled they tasted quite nice but after 24 hours of letting the flavours develope and WOW absolutely delicious. Thank you Mischka for tasty and healthy treat (and if it helps my occassional heartburn a bonus - see Leggy Peggy's review). Made for Edition 5 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      These are really good. I like the spice blend. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of salt to mine. After an hour mine were still soft in the middle, so I continued to cook longer in 15 minute increments. Wouldn't you know, all of a sudden I scorched them! My fault. This is a good recipe, but watch closely near finishing time. Thank you for posting the recipe. These are good sprinkled on a salad like croutons!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      These are great. Watch the cooking time though as I just about burnt mine. For us I used a mexican chilli powder and smoky paprika. I also added some ground salt. Thanks Mischka!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      A nice snack with good flavors! Next time I will add a little hot sauce. Thanks! Made for Australian Recipe Swap 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Delicious, flavorful and easy! I increased the chili powder, added onion powder, cajun seasoning and garlic and omitted the coriander (I didn't have any on hand). Gret snack and chickpeas are good for you too! Yipee! I halved the batch in case no one else would eat them with me...BIG mistake, next time I will DOUBLE instead!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      An easy to make and tasty snack. I used 3 cups of chickpeas (which is two 15-ounce cans drained) and the amount of spices shown here. It was spicy enough for a most enjoyable treat. Heat lovers should double the chili or add cayenne. The best news is the medicinal properties of roasted chickpeas. When I was pregnant and living in Syria, I was told to eat roasted chickpeas to counteract heartburn. IT WORKS and not just when you're pregnant! It must be the chalky texture. So Zaarites spread the word about a chemical-free cure for heartburn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      These sounded so good...I really wanted them to be a new quick and healthy snack but I found them to be a little dry and bland. Maybe I didn't add enough oil or I cooked them too long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Pretty good. I used home cooked chickpeas and used some extra seasoning. They still were not as spicy as I was hoping for. I also cut way back on the oil due to my dietary constraints. I would make them again, though I would kick up the spices even more. They make a great snack for my commute home! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Thought these were rather bland considering the amount of spices. The chickpeas were well covered, but we were rather unimpressed, unfortunately. I feel I'd rather purchase them readymade, however, if ever craving strikes, I might make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Great, tasty, healthy snack. Used 2 15-oz cans of chickpeas and baked longer than an hour. Most, but not all, ended up crunchy and my chickpeas shrunk quite a bit. It's amazing how fast these disappeared! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      Very good, healthy snack! I made mine exactly the same as the recipe, but cut it in half. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Great recipe! I made my chickpeas from scratch, then since they were wet I put the spice mixture on them then and didn't use oil. I also used quite a bit of veggie salt on them. I had a few trays going and as a result (also of my silly oven) some of them over-cooked a little and some undercooked, but I just tossed the ones that were too cooked and put the uncooked ones back in until they were ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Mmmm, what a great healthy snack, just like the ones you pay mega bucks for in jars. These are just so easy to prepare and the spice mix is spot on. A great snack to serve with an ice cold beer...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Roasted Chickpeas

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.0
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    15%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 361.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites