19 Reviews

I had made spiced roasted chickpeas before, but didn't save the recipe, which I loved. I thought this might have been it, but it most definitely is not. The spice mixture did next to nothing to flavor the beans, perhaps because much of it fell off during the roasting process which, after an hour and 20 minutes, hadn't crisped the beans. I was really disappointed with this recipe and I'll keep searching for the fabulous one I used before. I think the key is to use a bit more oil, so the spices stick to the beans and the beans faux fry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalie137 October 17, 2010

made these tonight with all ingredients the only thing i didnt do was cook the spices in the frypan i just added everything into a bowl with my drained chickpeas and popped them in the oven on a lined tray and let them babies cook at 180 for an hour, half way through i moved them about so they could get crunchy all over, after they cooked and cooled i munched into them, i couldnt really taste the spices so next time i might make this by just cooking the chickpeas then mix in the spices and oil - other then that the taste of the roasted chickpeas are great for me to keep coming back

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m_paech July 03, 2010

Hello Mischka, these are really HOT! ;) However, they are also a great ice breaker at any party. We had a cocktail party for some Drs and we served them ~ need I say they got a reaction, which is what one longs for. After the first taste they are really good! Some of the guests, who don't like spice, tried them and liked them. The great thing is that they are baked and not fried. Thank you for posting, Manami :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami December 18, 2009

These are a really quick, simple snack to make and very tasty. I used well drained and patted dry canned chickpeas. I cooked them at 160c in our fan-forced toaster oven for one hour. They were good with a grinding of salt over them to finish them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS September 27, 2008

I'm not going to rate these as I only realised at the last minute that I was out almost out of 2 of the 4 spices so I used what I had but there wasn't nearly enough flavour so I aim to make these again soon and amend my review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** September 25, 2008

This was only my second time making chickpeas. I followed the recipe as written. I used canned chickpeas as that is all I had. Nice, different snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 11, 2008

Using 2 x 400 grams of chickpeas I got 2 1/2 cup and scaled the recipe accordingly. The quantity fitted a 9 x 13 pan in a single layer perfectly. The frying of the spices made them into a paste and took a bit of mixing to coat the chickpeas evenly and some ended up wrapped in little blobs of spice. Baked at 170 C in a fan forced oven, checking after 45 minutes and were perfect after another 15 minutes, though there was some shrinkage. Once cooled they tasted quite nice but after 24 hours of letting the flavours develope and WOW absolutely delicious. Thank you Mischka for tasty and healthy treat (and if it helps my occassional heartburn a bonus - see Leggy Peggy's review). Made for Edition 5 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 10, 2008

These are really good. I like the spice blend. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of salt to mine. After an hour mine were still soft in the middle, so I continued to cook longer in 15 minute increments. Wouldn't you know, all of a sudden I scorched them! My fault. This is a good recipe, but watch closely near finishing time. Thank you for posting the recipe. These are good sprinkled on a salad like croutons!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott January 03, 2008

These are great. Watch the cooking time though as I just about burnt mine. For us I used a mexican chilli powder and smoky paprika. I also added some ground salt. Thanks Mischka!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies October 23, 2007

A nice snack with good flavors! Next time I will add a little hot sauce. Thanks! Made for Australian Recipe Swap 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 18, 2007
Spiced Roasted Chickpeas