86 Reviews

Awesome recipe, I used half and half rather than milk (we were out) and these came out at the perfect consistency. My roommate's gonna love these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ultra_hyper_chibi_chan May 03, 2015

I should have read the reviews before trying these. Great taste, but too watery, which turned into too soft waffles. We put them in the toaster, which helped a lot, though the kids preferred the mushy ones. Will definitely try again, but with the 1 cup of milk most reviewers recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irateb April 26, 2015

Fantastic flavor, and texture. I didn't have any ground ginger, so I used pumkin spice.. turned out fabulous. Will be makung again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nickigreen_6919094 April 19, 2015

These are pretty good - they batter works really well in my waffle iron (good consistency, cooks up well). If I use this recipe again, I will cut down on the ginger. I think it's a bit overpowering...these taste as much like ginger waffles as pumpkin waffles. I like spice, but I just want it a little closer to pumpkin spice than this... still, pretty good recipe, and I think cutting back on ginger and maybe adding a dash more cinnamon would be the only adjustments needed, for my taste anyways. Oh, and I got 6 waffles rather than 8 from the 8-yield recipe. <br/>(Everyone is saying the batter was too thin/too much milk, but mine came out thicker than the waffle batter I usually use (pre-mixed - Krusteaz brand, usually). Not sure what I did differently than everyone else...I used the 1 2/3 cup milk called for.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alannapants December 09, 2014

Perfect start to Thanksgiving Day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G. November 27, 2014

These "waffles" we're just terrible. Super thin and limp, stuck to my waffle maker, and completely lacking in flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and they tasted like nothing. We couldn't even finish them, we threw them out. Will definitely be looking for another pumpkin waffle recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjdrennen1987 November 24, 2014

The kids and I loved the waffles. Very delicious. I doubled the recipe and I am so glad I did. We had them for dinner tonight but now we can have them for breakfast, too! Even though I doubled the recipe, I only used 2 1/2 cups of milk. I made the adjustment after reading some reviews. The flavor was very good, not too much spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StugroupieLovesCookies! October 13, 2014

the flavor was wonderful! They were a little soft, and that was with only 2 cups of milk on a double recipe...so next time I will add more flour or less milk. Made a sauce to pour over them with some pear jam, honey and ginger---delicious! My kids has seconds and everyone loved them! Keeping this one! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacob C. October 10, 2014

I should've just used my go-to waffle recipe (Betty Crocker's) and added the pumpkin and spices to the batter... These waffles stuck to my waffle maker (maybe due to only 4 tbs butter as opposed to the whole stick Betty calls for), the texture was indeed more like a pancake, and they were lacking in flavor. I think adding more spices and 1 tsp. vanilla would perk these babies up. Good concept just didn't work for me. Next time I'll just adapt Betty Crocker's recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prittekitee_7736795 August 03, 2014

Definitely need to reduce the milk to 1 cup. I started there thanks to another reviewer's comments and didn't need to add any more.<br/><br/>I generally substitute a bland oil for butter to reduce saturated fat and did so in this. I also use whole wheat pastry flour in place of all-purpose flour, which adds nutrients and fiber without any noticeable change in consistency.<br/><br/>I added 1 t. mace and a dash of cloves to increase the "pumpkin pie" resemblance.<br/><br/>with my changes and using 2% milk (could easily switch to nonfat), nutritiondata.com analysis gave me, for 1 waffle (1/8 of recipe):<br/><br/>240 calories<br/>84 calories from fat<br/>10 g total fat<br/>2 g saturated fat<br/>55 mg cholesterol<br/>432 mg sodium<br/>36 g total carbs<br/>6 g dietary fiber<br/>9 g sugar<br/>6 g protein

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb C. January 27, 2014
Spiced Pumpkin Waffles