92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

just came out of oven and everyone is trying to let it cool enough to not burn their mouths. Delish!! I cooked in a (I think it's called a 1/4 sheet pan). cooked in 30 minutes. I used lite butter and 1/2 c applesauce. other than that as recipe is written. I like this one better than the one I've been making. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 October 25, 2008

Fantastic! Great smell, taste, and texture. Perfect amount of spices. I did one regular sized loaf pan, plus 3 mini loaf pans. The larger one was done in 55 minutes. The mini loaves were done in 42 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy July 30, 2008

The BEST pumpkin bread I have EVER eaten. My boyfriend, who is an absolute pumpkin fan, LOVED it, and asked for it again a week later. THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saucysteph May 27, 2008

Excellent pumpkin bread! My husband loved this bread and ate almost a whole loaf by himself. Taking others reviewers advice, I cut back on the amount of sugar to 2 cups and replaced half of the oil with applesauce. Mine also only took 55 minutes to bake. Simply delicious! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive* February 13, 2008

Absolutely DIVINE!! This is the one recipe from zaar that everyone I know asks me for. I have made it like a billion times. I do not substitute a thing! I eat well all year and exercise regularly. I am aloud to splurge once in a while. Right? Plus, I only make this during the holidays. My best friend and I have so much fun cooking and baking together for our spouses. The first time we made this we accidentally used Pumpkin Pie filling? Oops. But we loved the way it turned out. The next time realizing my error I used pumpkin puree and have made it this way ever since. however, to date I cannot tell the difference. Maybe the filling made it a tad bit sweeter and added more calories! Anyway…thanks again. Happy New Year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loveleesmile January 07, 2008

I knew I would love this Bread just by looking at the recipe! I made it the day before x-mas eve to enjoy with family....They had a hard time waiting, but loved it once I sliced it and served with butter. Terrific flavors, loved the walnuts in it. *Keeper* for me Bev, Thanks! ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) December 30, 2007

This bread is absolutely delicious!! Very moist and tasty. :) I added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon and a 1/2 teaspoon of ginger. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdfletcher11 December 27, 2007

A nice moist bread that tastes great,halves easily and is a snap to put together. Thanks, Bev--looks like you have lots of other yummy recipes worth trying!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers December 18, 2007

This was very good but i left out the cloves because we dont like the taste...i made 6 mini loaves and gave them out and everyone loved the bread...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 298200 November 25, 2007

This is so good! Much better than my usual recipe! My eggs were a little smallish, so I used 4 eggs instead of three. Other than that, I followed exactly and left out the nuts. Next time, I might make the glaze as suggested by shortcakes2m. That is a really good idea! Bev, thank you for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose November 23, 2007
Spiced Pumpkin Bread