Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Poached Pears Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Poached Pears

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      Fantastic! I've only had poached pears once before, but this recipe has now made them one of my all time favorites. The kitchen smelled so good while these were cooking and the taste was wonderful. Thanks for a great keeper, Leslie. Made for ZWT8 - Australia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      We made this last night for my friend's birthday dessert. It was really good. Since one of my friends is gluten-free, desserts can be kind of tricky. This was elegant and hit the spot and was really good with vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      So delicious! I just wish I hadn't waited so long to try this recipe. The only change I made was to use ground all spice instead of whole. I served them chilled over vanilla bean ice cream. We can't wait to have these again. Thanks for this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Fantastic! I made these for a sweeter green salad and my husband said it was the best he's ever had. I used ground allspice and ground cinnamon instead and ended up letting the pears soak for about a day in the fridge. The coloring was beautiful and it had a nice strong spice taste. I served them chilled instead of warmed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      SO simple and easy to make, TRUE! Seemed like you fussed when you didn't AT ALL too! GREAT for entertaining, LOVE is low fat too! Who said you can't have your meal AND a low fat dessert for two?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      This was easy to make and the kitchen smelt so very good while it was simmering on the stove. I left off the whipped cream as hubby isn't allowed any. I like the colouring when it is sliced, just a hint of red then its white. Excellent dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Loved this recipe. Made on stove top with split pears. Did not have whole allspice so used star anise and vanilla bean, 3 whole cloves. I also used some leftover Cabernet wine. Removed pears when tender and boiled sauce way down. Served with vanilla ice cream but we have 4 pieces left and will try over our Malt o Meal in the morning

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      Great!! loved this dessert. Had three pears wife ate two. A company dessert. I also did on stove top because the oven was in use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Excellent! A Comforting Sweet, and Spicy Dessert!I added cardamom to the wine mixture.Garnished with some coffee ice cream. I poached stove top not in the oven.Came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Poached Pears

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    89%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 26.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.8 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 74.2 g
    296%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites