18 Reviews

Well I want to give this a 5 star! The pecans were gobbled down with gusto. I could not enjoy them as i have a slight allergy to anise but I go along with the majority - they exclaimed 5 star all the way. So thanks, I would have loved to enjoy them but the headache would not be worth it.. I didn't see the Chinese 5 spice beore I chose to review it. Bev my guests thank you profusely and have said "Play it again Bergy"!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy November 06, 2002

Very good, nice combination of spices. Fairly easy to make, but keep an eye on it when it's baking, it goes from toasted to burned very quickly.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnB January 12, 2003

Excellent flavor. Yummy! will make this often. Easy to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejnei November 21, 2002

These nuts are wonderful! I have a freezer full of pecans just waiting to be used in something besides muffins and pies. These things are definately addicting! The spice combination and the pecans worked well together. I made extra and put them in the freezer for the holidays. We absolutely loved these snacklettes! Thanks for sharing Bev!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie November 12, 2002

Excellent combination of spices. As noted before, watch them carefully. Mine were done long before the 10 minutes specified.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ December 14, 2003

To die for! The spices just popped out at you! I agree with everyone else that this were done way before 10 minutes...mine were done in 7. So watch your pecans! Nothing worse than burnt pecans! I will make this recipe again and will use a Christmas gifts! Thanks Bev for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_geek December 26, 2003

Yum. These are easy to make and delicious! I made these as Christmas presents for my co-workers. Everyone agreed they taste wonderful. The next day my house still smelled great from the spices - great recipe Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland December 13, 2003

Wonderful protocol for any mix of spices you want to try. I made this with cinnamon, nutmeg, a pinch of ginger and a pinch of Indian "chilly" powder, and incorporated it into a warm goat chease salad. They were in danger of being eaten before the salad was prepped. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soozaler March 11, 2012

I tried this one because of the great reviews ... must say the cumin added a peculiar flavor with a strong bitter after taste. Not a fan so I will not make again. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnmommy02 January 01, 2011

My Mother made these a couple of Christmas' ago, got recipe out of Bon Appetit. They were addictive! I'm so glad I found the recipe as we couldn't locate. She used Pecans, cashews and almond. I'm making them as gifts for co-workers. Also great sprinkled on top of Brie/Cranberry Pepper Jelly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hummingbird garden December 22, 2009
Spiced Pecans