Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Pear Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Pear Butter

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2010

      I had never made pear or apple butter before and this saved me when my brother showed up on my doorstep with 40lbs of fresh pears!!! It was delicious! A bit heavy on the sweet so next time I will use maybe 1/2 the sugar or no sugar, as I tend to use over-ripe fruit just for the natural sweet! It helped a ton to have access to a gas burner for this recipe! If your kitchen doesn't have gas think about your gas BBQ, worked wonders for us!! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

    • on September 24, 2008

      GREAT recipe. Didn't have quite enough pears so I used 6 apples. Also I added 1/4 tsp of orange peel. I only used 1.5 cups sugar. I coulod have cooked it down a little longer to make it thinner but the flavor is incredible

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I changed the proportions a little because I was using Keiffer pears. I used 12.5 pounds, coarsely chopped, and a huge kettle, just trimming out cores, stems, and blossom ends. I used the chinois sieve and also made drinks from the extra liquid I drained off. I used 6 cinn. stix, 4 1/2 cu. apple juice, 6 minced slices of gingerroot, 12 whole cloves and 5 1/2 cu. sugar. I put pulp thru a wire strainer also. No gritty things ! It took 35 minutes longer for each step. An hour to thicken and it is heavenly in 7 pints. Use wide mouth so you can get every last bit. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      This was GREAT! Super easy. Although, I had to stir it more than "frequently" as it splattered so much while cooking if I didn't. Might try it with a bit less sugar next time, but still this recipe just rocks! And the house smells FABULOUS --- just like fall ought to! I am lucky to have a neighbor a house away with a huge, productive pear tree ... and she cannot begin to use them all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      I made this without coring or peeling like Frau Frau suggested. I also made 2/3 of the recipe. After cooling it was rather runny so I boiled it all up again for another 20 mins. Result - 1 pint of delicious pear butter. Rather sweet...perhaps some lemon juice might be a good addition next time? We all love it though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      This is Wonderful!!! I made two batches of it. The first one just like the recipe reads, and it is delicious. The second batch, I left 1/3 of the pears chopped and pureed the rest. I combined them just before canning them. That way the butter had fruit chunks in it. It was great both ways. This is definately my favorite canning recipe. I couldn\'t believe how wonderful my kitchen smelled with the fresh herbs simmering away. I even saved the juice stock, strained it, and added a little sugar. Made a wonderful spiced pear drink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Very yummy! I've made plain pear butter (with orange juice, peel, and nutmeg) and this spiced kind. The flavor is delicious! Much more interesting and elegant. It will make good gifts. I got a bit over 9 half-pints. I didn't peel and core my pears, I just removed the stem and blossom end, cooked, and put through a sieve. I think this gave me more pulp than if you peel and core them. I also used apple cider instead of the apple juice. My end product is a medium brown color. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      This is a nice change from apple butter. I made 1/3 of the recipe, getting 1 cup of pear butter, so I think the full recipe will yield 1 1/2 pints. I caught my husband snacking on it when it was still cooling on the kitchen table, so I don't think it will last long. Thank you for the recipe, 1Steve

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Pear Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (4074 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 851.6
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    77%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 221.8 g
    73%
    Dietary Fiber 17.0 g
    68%
    Sugars 189.6 g
    758%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    allspice

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites